Zelda Breath of the wild review and thoughts

in #game7 years ago (edited)

Hello. This is my review on zelda breath of the wild. Zelda Breath of the wild is a open world rpg available on the nintendo wii u or the Nintendo Switch. I owned and beat this game on the Wii U.
I will start off by saying, I am a huge Zelda fan. My first Zelda game was ocarina of time on the nintendo 64. Zelda has come a long way since then. This be the first Zelda open world game ever made. Was I so excited. Here are my thoughts after playing it for more than 30 hours and beating the game.

Please stop here if you don't want to hear spoilers. Contains spoilers!!!

You start off the game with the main hero as always Link. He wakes up after a long slumber with no memory who he is and what to do.
Your main quest, playing our hero Link, is to recover your memories and save the Princess Zelda. Zelda is holding down the evil Ganon from taking over the world of Hyrule.

As you start the game you quickly learn you need to kill enemies in order to obtain items and weapons. Unlike other zelda games, your weapons break. Which can be a fun and hard factor in any game. But this, I just find annoying. The weapons break too easy and the monsters have no level scale except for the locations on the map. The monsters start out easy and easy to obtain weapons but just 4 hits and your out of a weapon with no way of recovering or fixing it. In fact the only weapon that recovers is Link's legendary Master sword. Which is easily obtainable and not the best weapon in the game. I think for a legendary sword that recovers it be the best.....

The map is very large and its fun to fly around but I found myself getting bored because there is nothing really to do exept find shrines, seeds, and easter eggs. First time in any zelda game I didn't want to go find them seeds. They are tiny, over 100 of them and just a pain to retrieve for little reward. The reward was increasing your bag space. The problem with that is that you have mostly unlimited supply for your food but not your weapons and shields? I only needed to hold about 4 at a time. I didnt care about extra bag space and it didnt make since to me that you already had a huge food storge and huge wallet to begin with. But for some reason you had to increase the size of your weapons and shield space???

All zelda games always had dungeons. They are known for nice long dungeon crawls and puzzles. They got the puzzles down but in my eyes the shines and beasts were not dungeons. The most time I spent in a shrine was 10 minutes. The beasts only took about 10 minutes each too. It didnt feel like a dungeon to me and was too easy . No mini bosses, no keys, barely monsters to kill. It wasnt what I was expecting.

Talking about bosses, the bosses are very easy. I never died once. But the dang regular monsters in the open world hit you twice and its game over. You dont even need to kill the mini bosses on the open world map. You dont get anything special but maybe cooking supplies and a weapon. Theres no point you can litterlly avoid monsters and bosses in the open world. Only monster hard to avoid is the guardians. And they are just plain annoying with their instant lazer kills.

The end boss, Ganon was a push over if you save all the beasts and have the master sword. I didn't die once. The ending to me was a dissapointment, I even unlocked all the memories for the best ending. I was looking for more but it to me was such a simple game that was missing so much. Not to mention Link can't roll. Why is that important? Cause he has always been able to and easier to avoid monsters.

There are barely any side quests and they are not worth doing. You may get some money or a weapon but I see no real point in doing side quests.

The horses are useless. I found myself using the gilder for everything. The map is mainly huge mountain ranges and gaps that a horse simply can't get to.

Overall review- this game is good for first time zelda player, enjoy running around killing things for little reward.

It did not meet my standards for Zelda games and I was dissapointed. I even bought all the amibos just to rid everything. Yes, I sold my wii u and the game and the zelda amibos after this major dissapointment. But hey If you need a game for a child, this is a good one but it may frustrate them with the 2 hit kills from monsters.

I rate this a 4 out of 10.

Let me know what you think or if I missed anything. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @linauniverse12! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @linauniverse12! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48