The Divine Move (Game of Go series) #4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #game7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steeamians !

Today is a day where I review my Go game, here is one that I played today. I wanted to improve myself and gain at least the rank 9kyu in order to be a simple digit kyu player. I hope you'll enjoy this game !


Just know that this game is simply amazing ! If you like strategy game like chess, it's even a better game, simpler but deeper.
I made a post with the basic rules, you can find it here.

So I really encourage you to check out the game and here are more links that could help :
A site where you can easily play.
An amazing Youtube channel
Some playlists for beginner (FR)
A playlist for beginner (EN)


Now, back to the game !


This game I'm black and I played against a 9kyu player. Let me tell you right away, this game was awful, I feel like I was behind the whole game. Anyway, I started with a Chinese opening and then I approached his bottom left corner.

He pincered me with H3, I jumped out and enclosed him in the corner. Then he played O17 but I didn't respond to him, I wanted to play the shape point on C2 !

I did that but it was pointless, I just reinforce his corner and weakened my wall. Look at the result for me. After that fail, I decided to approach his upper left corner, trying to build a horizontal wall and by so, create a big area for me on the left.

That plan fail too as he played C10 in the middle of what I was trying to build. Then, I saw his weak group in the bottom so I attacked it and built some point with N3.

Here is why this game was awful, this is my third mistake as I let him cut myself by playing F4. He is now perfectly alive everywhere and I have a weak group that I'm trying to save with F8.

We did some trade in the upper left corner and by doing so, I expected to attack his left group with my brand new strength !

Once again, my plan failed and he lived without any problem. At this point, I was ready to surrender but as I wanted to post this game, I would have been too short so I kept fighting.

Now comes a great moment for me as he tried to reduce my bottom left corner. Thing went pretty good for me and I ended up with a huge corner. I was starting to believe in the game again.

After that, to save his group, he tried to kill mine but I managed to get enough space to live. During this whole sequence, I totally lost my upper right corner but I just didn't find time to save it.

After that, there is not much left except the center so I tried to get a good part of it. I saw that as my only hope to defeat him, if I manage to get a big center, I may win (that's what I was saying to myself).

After that, we played a lot of end game move, I wasn't happy with what I get in the middle and I thought that I'll lose this game. Then, I saw something and J3 is the beginning of what I saw. I was thinking, that's it ! It's my comeback ! The only problem is that my plan is a trap and if my opponent read carefully, he'll not fall in.

He didn't saw it, with that mistake, I take back to life my three stones, kill a lot of white stone and also kill the white group near L2. That's a win !


After that game, I looked how bad would I lose if my plan didn't work. Actually, is was closer than I expected as my opponent would only wins by 1,5 point !


 
I hope you enjoyed this little game review, tell me in the comment what do you think about this content.
Here is my profile page on OGS, add me as a friend and we'll do a game !
Check out another of my Go review here.

See you tomorrow !

Sort:  

Enjoyed reading it, every time I hear about go I am both intimidated and enticed to play, really enjoyed watching the deep mind game, last year?? Just like your post I didn't really understand everything but it was fascinating.

Yeah ! You'll learn some of the game mechanics by watching my game :D And if you want to learn more check out the link I gave :)

I never heard or viewed this game. complete new.

New game?

No it's an old Chinese game, you can find in this post my introduction to this game :)

looks like a cool game ,can i find it online?

You can play at OGS :)

oh cool ,thanks

Yep and I linked my profile page on OGS so if you want to send me a friend request, feel free.

aww will do thats :))

nice game..this is first time i see

And I encourage you to try a game or two, this is the best game I know :D
You can also find in this post a link to my introduction to the game :)

Hey :)
If you want you can contact me on OGS and we can play some games. I'm also 9k so I think it might be interesting :)
My account name is Belamačka.
Nice review and I hope to play with you :)

I love the strategy I'm learning on a new game YOU introduced me to!

Ahah great and feel free to add me on OGS so we could play a game :)

Good morning , I really love this game and I did try to play it few times before , I get how the game outlook work bla bla but I don't really know all the board pieces and also I just play with instinct not with proper tutorial on it , however my lack of knowledge about it doesn't mean I hate it or I'm not willing to learn about it , I think this game is even better than chess involving lots of strategic moves and thinking.

I was a fan of chess but when I discover Go, I prefer it right away ! Keep watching my game, you'll learn a thing or two but the best way to level up is to plays, feel free to add me as a friend on OGS :)

I watched the anime Hikaru no go hehehehe and fell in love with the anime in turn which made me fall in love with go. And sure I will make an account , u can give me the details?

I was already into Go before watching Hikaru no Go but what an anime ! :D You can find at the end of my post a link to my profile page on OGS and here is a link to create an account : https://online-go.com

Nice work @jarendesta you just brought novel into steemit and for long time, this is the kind of ideas and inventions need in this platform. Your game requires maximum attention as the only problem is that ones plan is a trap and if his opponent read carefully, he'll not fall in. Good work there, please keep it up.

Thanks ! I will ! :D

Congratulations @jarendesta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43