The Divine Move (Game of Go series) #18

in #game7 years ago

Hello Steeamians !

Today is a day where I review my Go game, here is one that I played today.
My main objective when I started playing Go was to be a single digit kyu player, in other word, become 9 kyu. After nearly two years of playing, I managed to do it but I’m not stopping there, now I look above at the 5 kyu rank which is pretty symbolic too. Wish me good luck !
I hope you'll enjoy this game !



Just know that this game is simply amazing ! If you like strategy game like chess, it's even a better game, simpler but deeper.
I made a post with the basic rules, you can find it here.

So I really encourage you to check out the game and here are more links that could help :
A site where you can easily play.
An amazing Youtube channel
Some playlists for beginner (FR)
A playlist for beginner (EN)
A post about Go vocabulary



Now, back to the game !

I played this game as black against an 8 kyu opponent. I started with my favorite opening and he made a San-Rei-Sei.

Capture 1.PNG

After a kinda strange exchange in my bottom corner and an H4 pincer for him, I decided to approach his upper corner because I didn’t really know what to do.

Capture 2.PNG

In response to my approach, he added another stone D2 in order to be sure to have his corner. After that, we did a strange exchange in the upper corner, I was feeling confident at that time but I shouldn’t have been.

Capture 3.PNG

I shouldn’t because I was weaker than I thought and he cut me with R10. I had to give up something and I decided to let him connect both of his group. I thought that I could attack his group near P7 with that decision.

Capture 4.PNG

However, my plan didn’t work out as great as I expected because it was me who was under attack. He even cut part of my group. I had to run to the center in order to make my group alive.

Capture 5.PNG

After 20 or so moves, I managed to live but at a huge cost. He didn’t have any weakness while I still had some pretty much everywhere. You can see that nearly all the bottom side is white territory.

Capture 6.PNG

We fought a little in the upper side and I misread a sequence so he captured my stones near F17. It was a smaller mistake than the one at the beginning of the game but still I gave up some points again.

Capture 7.PNG

I was pretty desperate at that moment so I tried to invade and live in his corner, I managed to do so in exchange of two stones.

Capture 8.PNG

After that, I played a tricky move C12 which threatened a ladder for his three stones at E12. He didn’t see it and I could capture them.

Capture 9.PNG

At that moment, I thought the game was lost so I played abusive moves over and over. Here is a little reduction that I made on his left side.

Capture 10.PNG

After that reduction, we only played endgame moves until, after reading for quite a long time, I found a tricky sequence which allowed me to capture his entire group at Q13. I first had to reduce his number of liberties and T18 is the beginning.

Capture 11.PNG

With P13, I reduced his amount of liberties again.

Capture 12.PNG

T13 is the Tesuji which allows me to gain one extra liberty, you can see that now he can’t play T12 because it’s self-atari. It’s now a capture race between that group and his big white at Q14.

Capture 13.PNG

I managed to win that capture race and by so the game ! I looked at the score if I didn’t do that and I would lose by 40 points, that’s a huge loss. Anyway, I was happy with this win even if I don’t think I really deserve it.

Capture 14.PNG

 

 
I hope you enjoyed this little game review, tell me in the comment what do you think about this content.
Here is my profile page on OGS, add me as a friend and we'll do a game !
Check out another of my Go review here

See you tomorrow !

Sort:  

Beautiful game, trains the mind ;)

Wow, that looks super complex. I'd get lost pretty soon :o great post, really enjoyed reading!

this game is kinda hard one to keep up
still will try to go

Is look like a complicated one , i will read this post more than once to be sure i understand and i will buy the game :D

I play a lot board games :D

You don't have to buy that game in order to play it ! You can play online with the link I gave :D

Thank you , i will try it online first, after i buy it :)))
I like to have it in full size :)), i have a colection of them :D

I'm curious now about your collection :p And which game is your favorite ?

hey @jarendesta,
let's hope for the best!

You are a professional in this game
You are always the winner
You are king of ogs (;

Nice game you had once again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99