The Divine Move (Game of Go series) #14

in #game7 years ago

Hello Steeamians !

Today is a day where I review my Go game, here is one that I played today. I wanted to improve myself and gain at least the rank 9kyu in order to be a simple digit kyu player. I hope you'll enjoy this game !



Just know that this game is simply amazing ! If you like strategy game like chess, it's even a better game, simpler but deeper.
I made a post with the basic rules, you can find it here.

So I really encourage you to check out the game and here are more links that could help :
A site where you can easily play.
An amazing Youtube channel
Some playlists for beginner (FR)
A playlist for beginner (EN)
A post about Go vocabulary



Now, back to the game !

I played this game as black against a 9 kyu Japanes opponent. As you know my favorite opening is the Chinese so that’s what I do when I get the chance to do so. White, on his side simply played two hoshi which is ok, nothing special.

Capture 1.PNG

After my approach move C14, he made a pincer with C10. Maybe I should have simply take the corner but I wanted to fight so I played a more aggressive move !

Capture 2.PNG

I ended up with the corner afterall. He protected his cut with D15 and kinda captured my first placed stone in that sequence. There is still some aji, some possibilities but I considered it as dead.
Anyway, there was a weak stone at F16 for him and I decided to take advantage of it by cutting at F15.

Capture 3.PNG

Here is how the situation looked after some moves. He decided to make a jump, leaving a cutting point behind. I took it immediately !

Capture 4.PNG

Of course he protected his cut but then, ignored my O17 move. You may see that his group is nearly enclosed and if so, it will have to live on the upper side. Anyway, there is some free stuff for me, if I don’t kill it I would at least have enclosed it for free.

Capture 5.PNG

I enclosed him with N15, I think there are better moves to do so but I couldn’t find them. Since he was locked inside, he tried to live, starting with G18. I pushed inside with my next move which was G17.

Capture 6.PNG

Then, after some reductions of vital space, I denied his second eyes with N18. His group was then dead, his only hope was to kill one of the surrounding groups. And that’s the rest of the game is about, either he succeed and win the game, or he failed and I win.

Capture 7.PNG

I said earlier that I wasn’t happy about my N15 move, it’s because it leaves a lot of cuts. He took one of it, the best I think, and attacked my group near J15 while making my two stones at M13 pretty weak.

Capture 8.PNG

After a hard fight, I captured his cutting stones so there wasn’t any problem there anymore. However, my problems weren’t over yet, there was still one group to attack for him !

Capture 9.PNG

Fortunately for me, I had enough space to live in the upper left corner so at that point all the surrounding groups were alive and by so, his group is now dead. He resigned after that.

Capture 10.PNG

I agree that this game isn’t that interesting because it’s basically a big fight during all the game. However, I showed it to you because it’s with this one that I finally managed to gain the 9 kyu rank !
I’m very happy about that, when I started playing Go that was my main objective, become a single digit kyu player !

Final.PNG

 

 
I hope you enjoyed this little game review, tell me in the comment what do you think about this content.
Here is my profile page on OGS, add me as a friend and we'll do a game !
Check out another of my Go review here

See you tomorrow !

Sort:  

Thanks for telling about those moves :D

Congrats on the rank mate!
Well done on a good win too and it definitely would require some learning to properly understand how to best play the game, you explained the moves well though.

Thank you mate :D

very different one indeed!!!!

Thanks for sharing

Is that sodaku?

Its very difficult game...sir

Wowww😍😍 it's nice game 😍😍

It is kind of hard to keep track of it .
It is kind of hard game to go out with.

The game needs a genius
Sure you are a genius

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51