Isle of Games - My Visit To An Amazing Board Game Store

in #game7 years ago (edited)

Front Pic.jpg

Board games are things that have always peaked my interest, yet I have barely played any of them. For sure I have played the common classics like Monopoly or Risk, but the board games of today have become something like art.

The sheer number and intricate details of these things nowadays is mind-boggling. It can take what seems like hours just to set up and understand the instructions!

But this is what intrigues me about the new generation of board games - the depth. Unfortunately, I lack people to play these types of games with. And also time. I have no one to blame for this as it is up to me to make time if I wish, but I am focused on success goals right now and so board games lose out.

I have always been one to enjoy games with strategy and depth. Back in the day of big box pc games, there was nothing better to me than opening up a thick manual and reading every bit of it.

I figure it is time to check out my local gaming store, Isle of Games in Tucson, AZ.

https://www.facebook.com/isleofgames

As I enter the store I am greeted by a smorgasbord of games. A feast for the eyes. I mean just look at this!


Inside1.jpg

Inside2.jpg
OMG! Look how many there are!

inside3.jpg

Galleria.jpg
This game is called "The Gallerist', a game in which you try to make the most money by selling art in your gallery.

used.jpg
Used games too! (They take trade-ins for credit)

used2.jpg
More used games

aoe3.jpg
I didn't know they made a board game version of AoE3?!

rrt.jpg
Or of Railroad Tycoon, one of my favorite PC games series!

startrekfleetcaptains.jpg
startrekfleetcaptains2.jpg
This caught my eye as well. Any Star Trek fans here - leave a comment.

vintage1.jpg
Avalon Hills Gladiator from 1981! That's the year I was born.

vintage3.jpg
Fellowship of the Ring from 1983! I am a sucker for old nerd stuff like this.

They even have about half the store available as a playing area AND they have a huge selection of games you can play for free!


f2p.jpg
All these can be played by customers while the store is open. Also, they often have gaming nights and those can go well into the night.

game tables.jpg

f2p1.jpg
f2p2.jpg
Just pick and play, but you have to bring your own players.

Let's see what gems we can find on these shelves.


gotgame.jpg
The Game of Game of Thrones or is it Game of Thrones The Game? Let me know in a comment.

tmnt2.jpg
tmnt.jpg
TMNT! A huge thing for me growing up.

1775-1.jpg
1775.jpg
This revolutionary war game looks interesting, I love strategic army games.

rebellion.jpg
Star Wars Rebellion game anyone?

batlgame.jpg
batlmodel.jpg
This game comes in a huge box and has really cool plastic game pieces by the dozens! This is just a small sampling.

xtronaut.jpg
xtronaut3.jpg
This game looks really cool to me. You have to launch your random space mission while dealing with funding and politics as well as any nasty roadblocks the other players direct at you. Missions include landing on a comet, landing a rover on Mars, or even visiting Europa! Looks like it would really scratch the space geek in me.

On the other side of the store there is a consignment case of hundreds of model and figures for sale, some are painted so well.


model1.jpg

model2.jpg

model3.jpg

model4.jpg

model5.jpg

I found the perfect game for the Wife and I to play! Food Truck Champion. She loves The Great Food Truck Race (even if season 7 sucked hard).


ftc1.jpg
ftc2.jpg
ftc3.jpg
ftc4.jpg
The object of the game is to collect ingredients and complete the recipe cards. You then get tokens that you can use to upgrade your food truck, for example, make it so you can hold more ingredients or hire more workers. A pretty neat little game.

After battling each other in the food truck industry for nearly an hour, one of us came out as the victor. That would be me, of course.

And to the victor go the spoils! A half-pound Reese's peanut butter cup :D

reeses.jpg

(Don't worry, I let her have a bite)

Sort:  

Oh bro! I'd love to check this place out! That Imperial Shuttle and Millennium Falcon are just beautiful. I was a big fan of the Warhammer 40,000 series growing up so these stores hold some serious nostalgic charm. Maybe when we hook up in the future, a visit there could be organised! Sounds good?

Heck yeah, you can come and visit anytime. :D

When the electricity is out. Board games pass the time with a lot of fun and laughter.

I remember in my early school days, one of the homework projects was "try to design your own board game". It sounded simple at first.

After getting our overlay to stick on the existing board we bought at the thrift store for $1... we soon realized what fun and excitement was involved in creating your own board game.

(that's probably why there are so many board games out there)

I love board games. They are not only fun and a great time, in a crunch they could keep the human race from becoming savages when the power is out for extended periods.

Thank you @getonthetrain for sharing the board game idea... We really should (and because of you), hear more about them.

Thanks again
@intelliguy

keep the human race from becoming savages
(except if that game is Monopoly!)
monopoly-game-monopoly-funny.jpg

Wow, I would get lost in that store for hours. I like strategy games, too. Back in the day me and my friends would have Risk games ongoing for what felt like weeks. But in the end.. nothing beats a classic game of Chess!

I've had a couple monster games of Axis & Allies back in the day. Oh and there is a reason why chess has survived to this day - its excellent.

Just found your blog from the @steemmatt reply you made.

Holy game store, that is one massive collection.

Somebody must really-really love their board games to open and collect such an extensive and impressive selection.

Thanks for sharing your peanut butter cup...err I mean your intriguing post :)

It's run by a couple guys I think, but yeah what an amazing thing. They actually get all those games on the play shelf by the board game creators sending them demos for them to try out so they can explain/recommend games to their customers.

After they play, or even if they don't find time to play, the demos end up on this shelf. They are running out of room they have so much overflow there.

That's a problem to have, haha! :D

Awesome post :)

Whaaat? I need that Age of Empires game! That's so cool, I would never thought there was so many board games in life lol I'd take hours in the store although I don't play it that much, so I can imagine someone who loves bg.

I had no idea that there were this many to choose from, and there is so much more that isn't even here. Plus more being created every day.

I could certainly stay in there for hours as well just looking at them all.

Wao, this is amazing. I could see myself loving games already. Pls which country has that store

Arizona state in America

Ok.
Thank you

I came here to tell you about risk but you already know it. This game is my favorite btw

I also remembering playing a little known game about the stock market, it was very old and it belongs to my uncle, but the game was about 4 different stocks. And each player could buy sell increase and decrease the price of any stock. The player with the most money at the end was obviously the winner.

Now if I remember correctly there were also cards involved but I am not sure. Still it was a great game, perhaps do know it? Since it’s is an old game one of the 4 companies was General Electric, What I mean is there weren’t new technological companies hahahh but still the game was pretty fun

That sounds pretty cool but I have never heard or seen this game before.

I google it, it seems the game is Spanish I didn’t remember that. La Bolsa means the stock market
EA3B5E08-A26D-426E-8142-B62B727B0932.jpeg

The game is really nice although I don’t know if there is an English version, but there must be

If there is an English version I can't find one in my searches

Have you played Imperial Assault? Great Star Wars table-top RPG.

I have not, but I think I saw it on the shelf for in-store playing - any good then?

It is a great game for sure! The original release had a wonderful campaign. 1 Imperial, 4 Rebels. Hoth was a great expansion too. The campaigns takes a while, but makes it great for weekly game night with friends. The Skirmish mode of play is great for one night games. 1v1 or 2v2.

I'llbe in Tucson in February and will have to check this place out!

DUDE! how a mortal did find the HEAVEN? This looks beautifull! I wish i was there! that have to be a really good time of your life. Dang!

hahahaha you don't need to say it, YOU SHOWED ME! XD i never seen something like this, there is everything a fan can want and more! i loved it xD good post bro <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42