Some of My 2 Cents on Being a Creative

in #gallerani6 years ago

This idea of being a full-time content creator is really appealing to nearly everyone I've ever talked to. When you talk about the lifestyle, people perk their ears up and some even come out of the woodwork to ask you a zillion questions about how they too can find themselves in this "amazing" and "free" profession.

Well, I wish it was that easy.

I wish it was as easy as just talking about the things you love, but it's not.

Being a content creator or a "creative" as I prefer to call it, is very hard. To be successful you have to know yourself well.

You have to motivate yourself. Nobody is going to hold your hand and tell you what to do. Nobody is going to tell you how to find your passion and then take that passion and turn it into amazingly entertaining content.

Nobody is going to then tell you later on how to monetize your content so that you can actually earn a paycheck and quit your job.

Nobody is here to help you. That's my first lesson to aspiring content creators.

My second lesson is this: if you want to be a content creator, you have to be willing to take a lot of shade from others. What I mean by that is that you will get talked down to, berated and downright disrespected.

It's an inevitability. It will happen, prepare yourself for it. People will try to drag you down. You just look them right in the eye and tell them to shove it and take their negativity elsewhere. Those type of people are anchors in life. They're anchors that are trying to keep you in line.

They're anchors that are trying to keep you from leaving the dock and sailing your ship into the horizon and enjoying life. They're trying to keep you from your dreams, whether they consciously know it or not.

Lesson number 3 is a simple one: be consistent. No matter what happens, stick to the schedule that you know is right.

You know if posting 6 times a day is right and you know if posting 1 time a day is right. You know how many words to write and you know how many pictures to take. Don't get lazy and don't give up. Stick to your daily quota.

For some odd reason I have a lot of stuff that I like to write about and thus, I'm able to ship out words like nobody's business. I used to tell myself that I had to write 2000 words a day - that's how I started.

After several months of doing this, I began to notice that I wrote WAY MORE than 2000 words a day. As in, I was writing 5 or 6,000 words +.

That's when I realized lesson number 4: listen to your gut and don't be afraid to adjust your approach. If you find something that works, press on it like a gas pedal in a drag race.


Are you an aspiring creator? What have you chosen to be creative at? Writing? Painting? Flying Kites?

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @gallerani! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That's when I realized lesson number 4: listen to your gut and don't be afraid to adjust your approach. If you find something that works, press on it like a gas pedal in a drag race.

Great lines @gallerani!

I built with mt husband a cabin made with plastic and glass bottles and now I write here to tell about my experience of expat in Panama :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I am using steemit as a means of self reflection and a writing improvement tool (my writing sucks lol, so why not try and offer some compelling content while writing?) I hope to match your commitment, i have lesson three copy and pasted on my phone as a daily reminder, thanks for the read and steem on.

Excellent, I would like to paint a lot

@gallerani purchased a 69.53% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Wow, how did you get so popular on steemit? You are really doing great i see.

Thank you!!! I've been on here for a while and I always make sure to post consistently and multiple times a week!

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46