Discipline is What Will Drive You Toward Your Goals

in #gallerani6 years ago

I love this podcaster who is relatively new on the scene - his name is Jocko Willink.

He is new to the scene of social media and putting his voice out to the masses, but he is no noobie to discipline, hard work and leading people.

He is a retired Navy Seal and he is a hard dude. It's hard to explain him any other way than to just say that he is a serious muthaf*ucka.

He can joke around and be funny, but he knows how to make you feel lazy and like you can be doing WAY more to achieve your dreams in life.

Anyways, I was listening to a talk he gave about Discipline = Freedom (an idea that he strongly lives by and proclaims)

Discipline through freedom is simpler than you think but it's also harder than you think.

Discipline is hard work. That's why it's called discipline. You can't have discipline without being willing to eat some shit.

Today I woke up earlier than I normally do and I hit the gym. I've been trying and trying to get to the gym earlier for months but I've been struggling with getting the motivation to get there before eating my first meal.

Thus, listening to Jocko made it happen just a smidge earlier today. I went to the gym about 5 hours ahead of my normal schedule.

Let me tell you, I walked out of that gym feeling like a million f'ing dollars and you can bet your ass that I'm going to that gym even earlier tomorrow.

I'm about to head off to bed so I can wake up earlier, so I'll leave you with this:

Discipline sucks shit at first. It feels terrible and you come up with all sorts of excuses why you don't have to be disciplined today.

But on the other side of that discipline lies the ultimate freedom. The freedom to do what you want, be what you want and live how you want.

Deploy some discipline in your normal routines and you'll find out just how powerful it is.

Get after it.

Sort:  

Very nice article 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93