Interview: Doctor Love

in #gailblog7 years ago (edited)

Hello again! I am sorry if I had been gone for quite few days. I had problems with my internet connection. Well, even until now because apparently I was not able to pay for the internet connection. I just hope I could save enough to pay for the monthly payment through steemit. (Teehee!)

I also write here and plan to sell some of my stuff (maybe to a pawnshop) so I could buy tickets for me to visit my boyfriend. See? All for the glory of love! But it is really very expensive. 😅

Anyway, I had been asking my boyfriend a lot of times if I could interview him and told him that I will be relaying it to you through my blog. And because he has always been eager to please me, he set aside a time to answer my few questions. Oh I really love you Kenneth!

To know a little about the person I interviewed, here is a brief(er) about him (and I). Kenneth James, or let us call him "Kenneth", is currently a third year med student of Silliman University which is situated in the heart of Dumaguete City. He is also a registered nurse who also graduated on the same situation where he is studying. He plays sports and some musical instruments (ans other things that I am not good at).

FB_IMG_1506613986451.jpg

He is currently the Captain on their swimming team too (according to him haha).
FB_IMG_1506613951321.jpg

We had been friends over social media and I've got to know him because of Tinder. Yes! Tinder has its magic too by swiping le-le-left and ri-ri-right (and it is not just for having fuck buddies). To add, we are both consenting adults already. Haha! He was just very hesitant to be in relationship with me at first because he's really busy with his studies. I pursued him and told him I want him to be my boyfriend by calling him baby every time we talk on the phone. Haha! I did not know that my charms would work on him that he does not want to miss a single thing about me anymore. Hahaha!

Kenneth and I first met in Cebu City when I attended a convention at Shangri-La Mactan, Cebu sponsored by European Union and KAS last January 11, 1017. I was not really expecting he would visit me because they are currently having their bi-monthlies at that time. I just got so hungry that evening because I only ate few. Apparently, I am not fond of meat that have not under go from fire. He then asked me whether or not if I am hungry because he will be calling a delivery service to send me dinner. I was very glad. I did not know that he is the one who will be sending my dinner.

FB_IMG_1506613946224.jpg

It was almost 12 in the evening when he called and asked what my room number is because the deliver boy is around. I was like... 'Uhm. Wait.. Give me a sec, I wil just meet the personnel at the lobby".

While waiting at the lobby, I saw a guy holding a bag of dinner from a fastfood chain that was heading towards me. He was in all white uniform except for his jacket, bag, and shoes. It was not someone else but my boyfriend! I really covered my entire face because it was turning red out of embarassment. I should have worn something nicer first. I should have put some make up on-- but he was right in front of me. And poof! It became coco crunch! I was not expecting that right after class he would visit me. I was not also expecting that he sacrificed his time just to see me. Travelling from Dumaguete to Cebu was no joke especially when you have a tight schedule.

Now, in line with the interview, this is how it went.

Me: Why did you chose medicine? (I know you could have chosen something else that would not require you years to finish your education)
Kenneth: I chose medicine because that is the future I see with myself.

I was also reminded of him telling me how he wanted to help his community by being a doctor someday.

Me: Do you really think that Medicine is for you?
Kenneth: Yes, medicine chose me because if not, I wouldn't be here. Medicine chose me so I can help more people.

Me: How hard is being on the medical field? What did are the things that sacrificed for your chosen passion?
Kenneth: It cannot be measured. My passion in Medicine and be a doctor is what drives me, pushes me, and lifts me up whenever I fall. I already compromised most of my habits and desires. I trained myself to focus rather than be distracted with what I really loved to do. And yeah, I am still willing to compromise it, for me to be the man I wanna be.

Me: How do you see yourself five years from now?
Kenneth: I see myself standing at the operating table, anxious yet confident, that I can save my patient with God's guidance. And then go home and have fun being with my family, my wife and kids, whom I love and who loves me too.

Me:Is it worth the struggle and hardships?
Kenneth: Oh yes. No matter how high the wall is God will lift you up to cross that wall. It is not easy, yet it is very satisfying once you achieve your goals.

Me: What is success for you?
Success is not just an outcome, it is a fulfillment, the feeling of happy whether goal met or not, as long as you are satisfied with what you have done and what you have achieved, that is success.

Me: Do you consider yourself successful?
Kenneth: I am on the right path, and that is the path of success. This is what I want, this will become a success.

Me: Meanwhile, what is happiness for you?
Kenneth: Happiness is what you feel along the way to your success.

Me: If you could change.I lack so much but I am not sad about it. This is just me, not perfect and I do not have everything. With this I can manage myself to do such things in order to achieve success.

Me: For you, what is success?
Kenneth: My ladder of success is my everyday life, all that has happened to me from alpha to omega. Just remember this "Be BRAVE, take COURAGE, have FAITH".

Me: If you were given a chance to talk to your 12 year old self, what can you say to him?
Kenneth: Hey 12 year old me, it is okay to fall down and cry, just don't forget to rise up and hold God's hand.

The struggles that med students are going through everyday are really hard. I am not one of them but I am in relationship with one just like this man. They face everyday with endless exams, small group discussions, and interaction with patients. I know he could have been an engineer just like his father but he took the long road because he wanted to help more. A lot of people also discouraged him because they do not think he is fit with that career in the future. But anyway, who are we to decide one's future right? It is up to them to lead themselves on the path they wish to take and all we need to do is support them with the decisions they made.

It is note-worthy that some people regard the medical field as a thankless job because the interaction towards its client is not that much compared to other careers. Let us thank the people who are in our healthcare services for they too sacrificed a lot take good care of us and our loved ones.

Kudos to our modern day heroes.

FB_IMG_1506613936698.jpg
Oh! This is us by the way. The last time we met was last April when my family and I decided to have a vacation in Negros Oriental last summer. And I really hope to see him next month on their sembreak.

gailbelga.jpg

Sort:  

hello my freind.

hello. how do you do?

fine, and you?

im doing good :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gailbelga to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

nice LDR my daughter also had a LDR when she left for the US to work now they are married and expecting their first baby

I wish the same thing to happen to me too. Thank you for the inspiration. :)

Ang galing naman! Hanga ako sa love story. Follow na kita. More writings pls!

Thank you so much ma'am. I hope you get inspired more as we build each other up.

Yes for sure. Aabangan kita.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69