Game-changing Gadgets: Ep. 1 - The Waterpik

in #gadget7 years ago (edited)

Game-changing Gadgets: Ep. 1 - The Waterpik

Gadgets are handy little things designed with the intent of making our lives easier. While the majority of all gadgets made are either very gimmicky or downright useless, exceptions do exist.. Every now and then I come across a gadget so brilliant and intuitive it makes me wonder how on earth I’ve ever managed to get by without it.. In this series I will shine light on the most game changing gadgets in my repertoar. Without further ado, let me introduce:

The Waterpik:



I picked this up back in July after “randomly” coming across it on google. I had experienced something called tonsil stones, and my search history for dental conditions apparently qualified for a Waterpik ad. The Waterpik is a miniature pressure washer designed for oral hygiene. It cleans your teeth by shooting concentrated blasts of water onto them and the results are amazing! You know that pleasant feeling you have in your mouth right after the catch-up routine at the dental office? That feeling of detail, ruggedness and actual shapes inside your mouth.. A feeling of crisp cleanness.. This usually never last for more than a week as plaque and other nastiness quickly forms.. unless you've got a Waterpik! 2 minutes a day will make your dentist unemployed. I kid you not! And to get this out of the way: no, I’ve never received a dime from the bros over at the Waterpik factory.. I simply find this product to be so effective, I’d have a hard time not advertising it out of sheer enthusiasm.

The Waterpik comes with six different looking “tips”, each one with its own purpose. I’ve managed to get by with just the classic jet and the tongue cleaner, but I can definitely see the use for the more exotic tips with brushes. Particularly handy for people with dental braces etc. The fact that dental braces are not packed and shipped with this brilliant device is outrageous, as this is probably the best match the universe has ever come up with..

The device is fit with a knob used to adjust the intensity of the water blasts. It starts out as a rather pathetic squirt at level 1 and goes all the way up to level 10; at which point you might as well be gurgling under the Niagara falls. The pressure is insane, and you're likely to experience a bleeding gum. Not recommended, unless you've been eating superglue.. (Also not recommended!!). I tend to alternate between 8 and 10, depending on the task at hand. A good idea is to start slow and work your way up, as gum sensitivity is highly subjective. The Waterpik also has a button on it's handle used to temporarily stop the water from flowing. Very handy for reducing the water splashing, or with high intensity setting where hitting certain areas inside your mouth might actually sting.

Official Waterpik commercial

Nothing is entirely without flaws, but this device comes pretty darn close. The only criticism I've got towards this product is the price, and how it tends to splash water everywhere until you figure out how to use it properly. At 59.99$ this is not a cheap product, but I'm sure it's worth it when you factor in the reduced expenses at future dental appointments.

That's it for the first episode of Game-changing Gadgets. I hope you've enjoyed the read, and that you'll appreciate the Waterpik as much as I do if you decide to pick one up! Feel free to hit that follow button, and if you got any precious gadgets or gizmos yourself I would love to hear about them in the comment section below :-)

Sort:  

I like it as well but I find it annoying that there is a constant stream of water coming out of my mouth and the water is gone so quickly from the tank. I suppose I should expect this considering what the product is but I personally wasn’t struck by it. Glad you enjoy it though!

Yeah, the constant stream of water is unpractical, but at the same time unavoidable considering the mechanisms at work here :p Have you tried one of the smaller tips with a lower intensity setting?

No I have since lost this machine and haven’t used it in a while LOL...I remember the lower settings seemed almost too low and always had it on the highest setting or near that.

Can this be shared between people? I mean with four of us in the house using it the $59.99 price tag doesn't seem too bad. And we'd have the brightest smiles on the block :D

I'm guessing the kids would make quite a mess using it though.

It's ships with 2x regular tips. I don't know if you can buy the tips separately, but sharing the device would be no problem. The tips are easy to swap out with each other. You'll certainly find yourself sporting that Colgate smile ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68