You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Censorship escelating

in #gab6 years ago

Well said. I couldn't agree more. I had never heard of Gab before but then again I was never one to ever use the abysmal platform of Twitter. Was a sole Fakebook user but have since quit for the far better alternative that is Steemit. I think that these events and assaults on free speech are doing just what you say, drawing attention to the platforms and messages we are trying to convey. There are certainly lots of people who have their head in the sand and want to stay that way but there are also countless others, like me, that have never heard of Gab but are now intrigued and will check it out to see what's going on over there. When people do that they then learn more about topics or ideas that are considered taboo in the mainstream. It's then a cascading effect. I was actually just chatting this weekend with a woman about the increased censorship of Fakebook and all the bullshit involved with it and she agreed with me. I then started to tell her about Steemit and the freedom we have here from censorship (flagging exists, I mentioned but it doesn't prevent you from seeing anything, just not getting rewards) and she said she would look into it. We had about a 15-20 minute conversation about this whole situation and it was great to see that more people are realizing how ridiculous this censorship is. She also noted how there is so much hate on platforms like Fakebook and Twitter but I informed her that a lot of it is due to bots; one of the YouTube'rs I follow showed some evidence of a company that uses bots to argue on peoples posts to stir up hate and negative thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64010.25
ETH 3401.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62