The Future Teller (Invent A Future Memory Contest by @anibas)

in #futurememory6 years ago (edited)

Ever since I was a kid, I remember I was fond of ladybirds (or ladybugs). I can't seem to recall who told me that, but it is said that when you catch a ladybird, you must make a wish and then let it fly away. The ladybird will take your wish on its wings and make it real... (at least we got something to hope for).

       

Ever since, whenever I see one I try to get it walk on my hand. @trumpman may call me autistic (it seems to be his favorite word for anyone's almost obsessive behaviors that make no sense 😜), but I can sit and watch them as they go up and down my hands; it feels so relaxing (and I could not care less about what other people say about me when I do so).

       

Yesterday I was going to @trumpman's house and on his parked car I saw one! Right there, she was walking carefree and light on the silver car cover. 

I wasted no time! I reached for my camera and then I reached... for her!

Up and down she went with her short little legs moving fast against my skin cells, 

going around my fingers, 

then off to explore my palm; 

perhaps try to read my future on it... 

My future?! 

Oh! Wait! 

Yes, this time I was lucky enough to find a ladybird that was... a future teller. 

She knew how to read those lines adorning my hand and as she was following them she took me on a trip to see my life some years later...

And there I am, on a cool summer night, sitting on a balcony and gazing at the sky. Stars all around! Hundreds and thousands and millions of them! Silver dust on a pitch black canvas. A light breeze is blowing and makes my backbone hair stand, my back shivers. I can smell jasmine from the garden below, that huge jasmine plant that has crawled all the way up from the garden to the first floor, where I am sitting now (Greek summer nights should always smell like jasmine). The walls behind me give off the heat they'd been storing all day.

So many contradictions. In the air that surrounds me there's heat and cold, up in the skies light and darkness.

I stand up from my chair. I make it to the railing and steer my weight on it, it is warm! I can feel the heat penetrating my skin, my back is still cold from that breeze, no it's a pleasant feeling. Weird those summer nights, aren't they? And as I am standing there I hear light footsteps approaching behind me. Then there is the clinging sound of glasses being placed on the wooden table; the one with the white tablecloth, the bowl with the shells and pebbles from the different beaches I've been to, the lit candles with the trembling at the breeze light. And the footsteps come closer, I can feel the warmth of another body and a hand passes round my waist. A sweet kiss behind my right ear and I gently lean my head to the left, inhaling that intoxicating jasmine scent once more. 

And as my right hand goes towards his cheek, not his left one that is now pressed on my right cheek; the other! A soft touch and then that hand slides behind his neck to show some affection there and then crawl upwards to the back of his head. It gets tangled there to feel the soft touch of his hair.

And we stay there, without saying a word, but I think that I can hear something. Second after second the sound is getting louder, more coherent, I can make out music. It's an accordion. A street musician, a wanderer of the night town or just some romantic Romeo heading to play his cantata under the balcony of his sweet Juliette? It doesn't matter. 

The melody is all too familiar; beloved and intimate from years long gone. It is a song to accompany the jasmine flower that fell off the tree and travels on the summer night breeze. Where too? To the land of our dreams, our hopes. 

And just like that I fly on that jasmine flower, hypnotized by its sweet aroma and my man's tender embrace and I travel to a whole new universe... that of love!



*Original story and images (non-edited) with Nikon D3400 and Kubot S600 by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

This post was an entry to @anibas' contest that is due on 31st of May (you still have time if you want to have a go).

For more information on the contest, visit this link:

INVENT A FUTURE MEMORY - Steemit Contest, 50 SBD in Prizes


PS: Apologies for the so late entry @anibas, but I was waiting for Mama Inspiration to come over :)

As for,

The most important of all:
Have fun with it! 

I sure did! 😉


Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


Sort:  

May that jasmine scented, warm, starry, sensual future come true :)

@abigail-dantes It's not a wish, but a memory, so it already happened! :)
It simply happened in the future.

This sounds like the script of one of those movies full of twists @anibas !

Thanks Abi!!! I hope so too!!

And I haven't forgotten! I am looking forward to your music choices next month ;)

You will see on Friday 😏

🎶🎵😘

μπραβο ρε συ Ruthie...να σε χαιρεται ο @trumpman...θα σταθω στο μουσικο κομματι που επελεξες...ταιριαξε απολυτα...
..με εκανες να ταξιδεψω στο παρελθον...και οταν ταξιδευω στο παρελθον μελαγχολω...και οταν μελαγχολω μου αρεσει το cello,γιατι κρυβει μεγαλη δυναμη..

Αααχ! Τι ωραιο και δυναμικο κομματι ηταν και με το τσελο.
Ευχαριστω! Ευχαριστω για τα καλα λογια! :D
φανταζομαι θα σε ευχαριστει κι o trumpman :P

Kαλο ξημερωμα! :)

Future built with so many details, full of images, touches, smells, all senses included, desires and wishes, thoughts and emotions, it must happen. I wish you to be in such a moment soon. Beautiful story ruth-girl.

Thank you! I tried to "dip myself" into the moment, that's why it is so detailed...

The wise people say that , when we do it like that, it will happen. It would be great if this lovely challenge brings such a precious moment into your life as you picture it, although it seems you have many of them already, many lady bugs. :)

If the wise people say so, then I'll keep doing this!

Yes, I won't be greedy or whiny, I've met a lot of ladybugs so far; enough to consider myself among the lucky ones :)

Where can I find those ladybugs? I would like to make a wish :p

Seems like these ladybugs love you; no wonder they keep coming to you.

PS: Nice nail cutex :)

Don't you have them in Nigeria? I 'll see if I can catch one for you ;)

I don't know if they love me, but I am sure after them :P

Thanks! 💅

Maybe we have them, but I don't think I've seen any.

I 'll see if I can catch one for you ;)

Aww! That's cool. I'd be waiting for a picture of my own ladybug. Except you wanna mail it to me :D

Why mail it? I will just give it your address and it will fly to you :P

Lol, omg! You got me there Ruthie :D

Little beetle - big dreams)))
👍

Oh well! Dreams fit everywhere, no matter the size ;)

very good that melody and very nice nails and photos hehe. regards

Thanks! They've started chipping off, but that ladybug actually steals the show :P

I dont see this as autistic at all.. its nice you read meanings and get lessons from what an ordinary person would call normal. i'd call this exceptional

Oh! Thank you!

You really did make Wishes

I hope it come as you want it

When I was a kid, I made wishes...

Thank you! I hope so too :P

Hopefully it will make your wishes come true.
The creature actually looks beautiful with the orange color spores with black dots.

Thanks! I hope so :)

It is! I love those bugs! 🐞

A lot of expressive force in your words. They trap you and stimulate the imagination.

That was my goal all along :)

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56