Personal Log 12252050 (Contest Entry)

in #futurechronicles7 years ago (edited)

December 25, 2050

space2.jpg
Google Images

Well, I made it to another Christmas. This is my third one here in the work rover. The fuel ran out last year, and I am just aimlessly drifting through space now. It could be worse. I could be dead like everybody else that was on the station. I still have nightmares about the day the space station exploded.

It was 782 day ago to be exact. The first thing I do when I wake up every day is scratch the daily marking on the inner hull wall. It is very important not to lose track of the date I suppose, although sometimes I can't remember why. At this point I have little hope of ever being rescued.

I'm sure that the biosphere on the moon that served as the stations nearest support facility thinks I was blown up with the rest of the station's inhabitants. After all, When I went out on the shuttle that fateful morning, it was to readjust that remote thruster that kept malfunctioning. The work detail was not scheduled. They had no way to know I was not on the station when it blew up.

I had quite a scare last night. The oxygen generator malfunctioned and went offline. The alarm woke me from a deep sleep. I was able to get the backup online easily enough, and did not lose O2 in the shuttle. I am having a problem integrating it with the hydrogen generator though. I won't be able to produce water if I can't figure it out. I do have my water reserve still ,about seventeen gallons. I've placed myself on emergency water rations until I figure out how to calibrate the backup oxygen generator to interface with the hydrogen generator. Now that I am on the backup, it is only a matter of time. If that one malfunctions there will be nothing I can do to save myself. The thought of suffocating out here in the middle of space is frightening.

I have no way of knowing where I am. When the explosion destroyed the station, the blast force threw me quite a distance and messed up my gyro's and my navigational and directional sensors. The power cells are holding up pretty well though so far. I run only minimum cabin lighting, and other life support equipment , everything else is shut down to conserve power. Most of the solid food is gone too. I am down to just the protein and carbohydrate gel now. It tastes pretty bad, but it is keeping me alive, and there is plenty of it.

I have been maintaining the daily log, so that if I don't survive until someone finds me, there will be a record of my time and experience here. I still transmit it out daily, but I doubt there is anyone or anything in range to receive it..I am so alone. Sometimes I find myself thinking that it would have been better if I had died in the explosion. At times, I will go up into the cockpit and sit in the pilots seat. There I can look out the big windshield into the endless expanse of vastness that is the universe. Doing so alleviates the overpowering feeling of the solitary confinement I find myself existing in. But, at the same time it makes me realize just how absolutely alone I really am. Well, I suppose if I can keep from going mad, I will just live until I die. Until tomorrow ,Personal log 12252050 terminated.

THANKS For Reading @Timmo3663
Please UpVote, ReSteem, Comment and Follow

steemon.png

Sort:  

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Fiction Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-fiction-curation-12

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I love the detail here, i would swear you had built a space ship and lived on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48