Short-term prosperity vs. Long-term slavery

in #future5 years ago

It is nearly impossible these days not to check the crypto-markets obsessively, willing the coin of your choosing to go green, double-digit green. We hope and pray things are going to go our way. Earlier, I came across a title saying fiat money will disappear in ten years, the kind of opinion we want to see. If cryptos will rule the world, we’ll be just fine…
And yet, I find the perspective scary. We’re pushing for a future of which we have no idea, a future which might come back to bite us in the ass… if not us, at least the next generation… our children. On some level, I am aware change is scary and our history is full of examples when people shook their heads and said the steam engine will ruin the world and who needs automobiles anyway… what’s wrong with horses?
So, it might be the case I don’t understand progress and my worries are completely unfounded…

Whether we like it or not, at present, many of our expectations are tied to the Libra project. Many analysts saw a connection between the recent bull market and the announcement of the Libra project. Also, the current downtrend was linked to the Congress hearing of a Facebook exec. Mainstream media is full of negative opinions on Libra, officials around the world present this project as ‘extremely dangerous’ - even though Libra does not aim to be a true decentralized currency.
The opposition is, of course, not unexpected and if you look at the very big names behind this project you realize it’s not a bunch of amateurs with a crazy plan. The project has every chance to succeed, not without bringing along a lot of strict regulations the rest of the cryptosphere might not like… We hope that, if a project like Libra gets accepted, cryptos will go mainstream and we will all benefit from that, which might or might not be the case…


source

In my view, Libra becoming a thing is a nightmare scenario, as inevitably your finances will be directly tied to your social media activity. This goes beyond Zuckerberg knowing exactly what you do with your money and following your every move. (Google already knows I went to the store earlier and the card company knows how much I spent…)
What if, in the not very distant future, they’ll come up with a system to limit your financial transaction based on your social media activity? They already do this in China and it’s got nothing to do with them being communists… It’s just about control.
For instance, this morning I read an article on what to do if your phone number is blocked on WhatsApp. I had no idea they could do that, but from what I read the same rules as on FB apply - you can get banned for being racist or even confrontational… whatever…
I don’t think I’m particularly paranoid to imagine a future when along with a posting ban, they could slap you with financial restrictions… If you’ve been found guilty of violating community rules, you might not be allowed to make certain purchases for the duration of your punishment… People in China have been left unable to buy travel tickets on account of their poor social credit system. I highly recommend this article about the situation in China, where I found the following quote:

“…citizens are now pressured to spend more and more time on the “hottest app” in China—“Study the Great Nation”—a bible of sorts highlighting the teachings and goings-on of president Xi Jinping. Individual participation rates are recorded, and those who don’t spend enough time on the mobile app everyday are punished by employers and chastised by school teachers.”

Sure, for people in the Western world there might be other ideas they could be forced to study and embrace, but the punishment would be the same. Your social score goes down, your financial transactions are restricted. This could not happen when you have cash in your pocket, but the moment your money are tied to a crypto-wallet, you follow the rules or else...


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Earlier, I came across a title saying fiat money will disappear in ten years, the kind of opinion we want to see.

Ain't it strange that we're all rooting for the end of Fiat Money at the same time we're all hoping Bitcoin goes up against the $ and €, so that we can have more Fiat Money?

If we really believe Bitcoin will replace $ and €, shouldn't we all be rooting for BTC to fall against the $, so we can get lots and lots of them? Sometimes I wonder if we're all crazy.

About Facebook, I don't even care. One day they asked me to send a proof of my identity or else I wouldn't be able to login again.

What did I do? I never logged in again. Mwuahahhahahahhahhha! 😁 😂 😂

Yeah, but in a world where payments would be made through your FB wallet, you would have no choice but log in... and play nice! Hope we don't live to see the day...

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed @trincowski

That's very strange that we want our current monetary system to collapse. That would mean death to millions, probably several new wars and long recovery. No monetary system ever collapsed without those brutal events being part of that collapse.

One day they asked me to send a proof of my identity or else I wouldn't be able to login again.
What did I do? I never logged in again

That's the way to go :) Why did they asked about your ID? I didn't know facebook does it to its users.

Cheers
Piotr

When I joined Facebook, which was right at the beginning, when most people were still using MySpace, Facebook advised me not to give my real name. Suddenly, they expect people to use their real names and everyone who doesn't follow those rules gets asked for an identity confirmation.

It's like they did a 180º turn. I'm done with them.

Dear @trincowski

Thank you for being so responsive.

I also wanted to make some suggestion.

My impression is, that the hardest part of attracting attention on STEEMIT is the fact, that our audience have very little chance to actually find our publications. Lack of solid notification system is an obvious issue. And regardless how hard I would try - there is very little chance I would find out about your new interesting publications (my feed is just flooded with to many posts).

Please allow me to share some suggestion with you. If you would ever publish content related to blockchain, crypto, artificial intelligence, psychology etc. then perhaps you could simply send me memo with link to that post.

This way not only I would have a chance to read your publication, drop a comment but I will also upvote it right away with almost 20k SP voting power (I also have almost 10k PAL tokens, which may give you some extra benefits is you're using PALnet.io)

Please let me know what do you think. This surely should sound like a interesting offer :))

ps. I know you don't like receiving memos (you told me that a while ago and I respect that since then). I hope you would change your mind one day as this is really so far the most efficient way of communicating with our followers and notyfing them about our new publications.

Cheers, Piotr

Thanks for the suggestion. I don't have a problem following up on publications here. But then again, I am not following countless people... I think all of that will improve in time. Have you checked SteemPeak? You can create lists, selectively ignore content (for instance, hide every Actifit post) and so on.

I really believe the 5 tag limit is hindering Steem more than its helping. How can I tag my posts properly if I can't use more than 5 tags?

I'll try to remember but I usually post photos from my travels. It's very rare that I write about those topics you refer to.

You wrote this on steemit, also linked to your social activity:)

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Dear @ladyrebecca

Would you really believe that FIAT money can disappear in only 10 years? I can hardly imagine that it could happen without another world size conflict. All debts (in fiat) are a major problem and the reason why FIAT will exist as long as debts and mortgages do.

Anyway I may be wrong, but I think we will all die sooner than FIAT currencies will be replaced.

ps.
Would you perhaps consider using "enter" from time to time? To separate blocks of texts? It would make it much easier to read.

Yours
Piotr

Shit, it's a dystopia in China already... Wonder what else Black Mirror gets right about the future...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83