My Consignment Booth and Furniture Projects

in #furniture8 years ago

Hey Steemers! I started my first blog yesterday on Steemit and it was a little blurp about me. You can check it out from a link I'm pasting at the end of this post.

I want to share with you all some of my work I have created for my consignment booth over the last few months. I plan in the future of Steemit to share my before and after projects and include how I acquire the items that I makeover. As you will notice in the pictures I’m all about the grays! I also have been exploring with more blue tones and yellows. I am absolutely in love with using grays and yellows together right now, it's seriously a magical combination.

An Overview of My Booth Space
 photo IMG_20160401_110706790_HDR_zpsyxw5vtvh.jpg
I have always wanted to get into flipping furniture and giving it some flare but I just didn't need all that furniture for myself. In February while I was on maternity leave I decided to take the plunge while I had some extra time and started up my own little booth. Since then I have enjoyed using this as a great creative outlet while also bringing home a little extra cash.

My First Project a Teal and Gray Desk
 photo IMG_20160203_182510539_zpsvbmfiofl.jpg
I found this nice wood desk at my local goodwill for $15 and the chair for $4. I gave it a fresh coat of paint and a little love and was able to sell it within a week of putting it in my space! I love the color combination of teal and gray, it just feels good.

Patterned File Cabinet
 photo IMG_20160321_065224120_zpswhh1lg0z.jpg
Isn't she cute?? I came across this technique using lace fabric as a stencil for my furniture design and now I'm obsessed. You will notice that I use the pattern quite often as it has been a hot seller in my booth.

Before and After Chairs
 photo 513d773a-78e5-4e49-a924-5575b488c2f4_zpsvwxsq19d.jpg
I found these beauties at a hole in the wall thrift store at $15 for the pair. I gave them some new paint and recovered the seats.

Garage Sale Night Stand
 photo IMG_20160801_144627038 1_zpsvs6glxxt.jpg
This pretty little nightstand made of solid wood came from a garage sale for a whooping $10. Once again I gave it a new paint job and added some bedazzle with crystal pulls. I then paired it with the previous chairs. I think these would be super cute in an entrance way or maybe a small nook.

Gray and Yellow Nightstand
 photo IMG_20160718_215723959 2_zps0bjz0mmp.jpg
Here is the gray and yellow combination I mentioned. I fell in love with this piece. My living room is yellow and gray so this was a hard piece to sell as it would have fit in perfectly. I found the nightstand at an auction I like to attend and purchased it for......$5! BOOM! No kidding, I spent maybe an hour fixing this one up and sold it within a couple days of it being in my booth.

Painted Upholstery Chair
 photo IMG_20160801_144430407 1_zps9dwtunc4.jpg
I found this technique on pinterest and just had to try it out on my $2.5 ugly stained upholstered rocker. This one also came from my little auction house. I think it turned out super cute but the technique needs some work. I'm excited to find some other upholstered items I can play with. The fabric came out pretty thick and feels more like an outdoor fabric rather than something you would find indoors. I think I didn't thin out my paint enough before application. Oh well, you live and learn.

Sweet Little Blue and Gray Nightstand
 photo IMG_20160801_144504446 1_zpszuyeh2dv.jpg
This is another goodwill find for $5. The top is made of plywood covered in vinyl and was missing large chunks of vinyl around the edges. Believe it or not I used Bondo to fix the many imperfections. I've found that Bondo is a miracle in furniture restoration, it's much easier to use than normal wood filler. Once again in this project I used my favorite fabric stencil to restore this adorable retro table. The decorative pieces on top were also painted to give them a more updated look.

Thanks for visiting and I hope you continue to follow me. Please leave comments of things you liked or think I could improve upon in my posts.

Here is the link to my first blog where you can get to know me better!
https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@alleykaym/this-is-me-the-mommy-wife-nurse-and-aspiring-entrepreneur

Sort:  

wellcome

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.5 and reading ease of 85%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65775.18
ETH 2600.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68