How To Create Awesome Posts, Like Mine!

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

 When I get ready to do a SteemIt post, it starts with the idea.  The ideas usually come to me easily after several hours of racking my brain. 


 Once I have selected a topic I want to write about, I jot down a few notes. 

Diagram the entire idea 


 Once my idea is totally lined out and I begin to get ready to turn it into an awesome post.  Next, I begin to consider others reading the article, is it interesting?  Does it meet the needs of my audience?  Is it timely?  When I have gone through my list of questions, I feel confident. I begin to question everything I have done up until now. 


 So, I scrap the entire idea I had, and I open the Submit a Story page, and I just begin to type.  Some times in the middle of this well-planned random process, I get stuck, so I search for art and download several pictures relevant to the article I like that have nothing to do with what I am writing about.   


 Once I feel I have typed enough and added the desired pictures, I carefully double check everything recklessly hit "Post".   After which I go to my blog tab and read the story, usually noticing several formatting and spelling issues.


Once I have polished the story a bit, I convince myself it is the best story on SteemIt today.  I visualize this: 



 I find something else healthy to do  drink while I wait for the Steem to roll in. 


 Even with all this excellent planning throwing things together my account is slowly going up! 


 Stay tuned for addition tips on how to be an excellent SteemIt Blogger! 


https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatsup/mood-cycle-of-a-steemit-post-by-whatsup

Full disclosure:  I've posted this before and drained the reward pool of .89 cents.


I had some pretty good votes also!  :)

@whatsup

Sort:  

The best posts are the ones you just write. When too much thought goes into it I find it is just not the same. If that makes any sense lol.

Actually thought can create even more amazing posts.

I guess you use Awesome Miner (lol)

@whatsup I upvoted you just to try to bribe the way you did the strike through text... did it work?

strikeout8.png

lol - from the editor screen.

Oh maybe I should use that feature... I'm always in markdown mode... wow an epiphany has just bloomed, thanks!

Lol your process sounds a lot like mine.

Full disclosure: I've posted this before and drained the reward pool of .89 cents.

🤣🤣👌🤣🤣

Reward Pool Rape! 😡

lol, okay, this was just a cleaver clever post.

I am jealous of Kermit.

I think he have had too much...

What’s sad is that this post. As of this comment, is worth $39.53, more than 15 times my entire account is worth yet it is about nothing.

Like a Sinefeld of Steemit. A post about nothing. I look at topics like this and aspire to be a good blogger and produce good content and contribute to the platform. Hoping to one day ascend the ranks and aquire adequate SP, but then I see how dolphins and whales post complete jibberish and nonsense yet reap massive rewards.

This post would pay my water bill for the month. Yet it has no sustinence. No value. No contribution to the platform other than reaping the rewards from being a high rank user.

The system is askew in favor of those with power. Not unlike major governments. Those with the power maintain the power using the influence of their power.

I have yet to make a blog entry because I’m still feeling out the platform and as a new user I’m completely shocked. Those that complain the most are often the most rewarded. Claiming that the system is flawed and the reward pool is raped. Yada yada blah blah blah. Mostly these comments come from accounts valued at 10k or above. I, as a minnow to the platform, am highly skeptical because of these comments. Should I pour 10 hours into a post that will fail miserably when a post about nothing garners 30+ dollars? It’s frightening.

I mean no disrespect @whatsup. I’m sure you have devoted a lot of time to the platform to get where you are, I respect that, but when a post about nothing gets more rewards than exceptional content that gets ignored I see a flawed system.

While I appreciate your point of view, exceptional blogs filled with great talent really don't hold a lot of value.

I am sorry you are disappointed, many would argue that the smile or laugh my post provided does have value. I fully get I am not everybody's cup of tea.

I am sure with the super, duper, Shakespearish value of your excellent blog, the whole internet will come flocking.

When you do decide to post, I think you should booster it to the top of trending for all to see! I know I can't wait to consume it in all of it's glory.

LOL, social media is not about quality it is about engagement. The current state of the site is not where we are heading. I am sure someone will start the "BloggiestBlog" site ever, for those of you with such great talent.

For now, know we do have many aspiring Authors and other artists you can read and engage with.

LOL, Thanks for the smile. I appreciate your honesty and spunk. Welcome to Steem! We are just so lucky you've arrived. I bet you will bring all your followers with you? Surely you must have a huge audience?

If I remember correctly Sienfield did pretty well?

Heck, let me know when you post that 10-hour quality content post, about Oranges and Tadpoles or whatever, and I will boost it. That's a promise. :) I really will.

This is what I was talking about in my post. I'm so impressed with how you handle conflict, or squash conflict before it starts! The laughs definitely provide value @whatsup. Probably 50% of why I always read your stuff is because of the laughs.

Also, it's relatable which makes people feel understood. Isn't that all we really want? I ALWAYS recklessly hit the post button haha

I actually find it extremely bizarre how two successive posts managed to spell 'Seinfeld' incorrectly!
PS Please don't edit your comments now guys as you will render me even more irrelevant than I am already ;-)
PPS @whatsup , we all know this is a double bluff post right ? or triple ?......hmmmm my heads gone and its not even lunchtime :-(

Haha, first I am a terrible speller, so I just followed the genius commenter. I figured he MUST know.

However, I am not upset about his comment, he is brand new to the site and the complainers have already tainted this poor minnow.

I also went through a "mad" stage, but not that early. :) In anycase if he makes a great post, I am on record on the blockchain saying I will buy him a boost. How big? Depends if he is as awesome as he says.

Frankly, I hope he will settle down, relax and stay, if not... I'm sure he'll hit the big time soon. :)

A mentor style program would be nice here. I was lucky, and soon after I joined was given a 500sp delegation and a huge upvote for a couple of months after I ripped into a group of whales and told them that the only way to improve engagement was to simply READ some newbies articles and offer encouragement.
Six months later, it's getting more and more difficult to actually find posts that interest me per se, from both minnows and whales alike.
Interesting times here....are there any other kind on Steem ? :-)

there is a mentor style program headed by @dreemsteem called the Welcome Wagon

There are many people and communities on Discord who have potential mentors. I agree that everyone should try to find a mentor.

@pathtosuccess that's pretty cool! Thanks for letting us know! Wish I'd seen this comment 6 months ago haha but still, I think that's pretty awesome that someone took that initiative

Thanks!!!! We are always looking for people to mentor! We try to find those special Steemians that have initiative and drive... But just need a little bit of hand-holding :)

Thank you @shadowspub for the comment!!!!

Please, Don’t get me wrong, I meant no disrespect towards you or your content. I may be new but I immediately followed you based on the quality of your work. I was simply making a generalized observation that just so happened to kinda pick on your post. My apologies for that.

No problem. Stick around have some fun.

:) I'm a bit funny and a bit snarky, I certainly am not a talented writer, but I must say some things that people can relate to. For the record I did spend 2 years building this account without any whale support. I've built my audience and try to give back to the community and I absolutely do still want to grow my account as well.

Steem is an investment for me and something I am interested in growing, not just short term.

Make sure you engage with positive people who have found ways to be successful in a difficult economy. The complainers burn out the endusers and themselves. They rarely become popular. Come say "hi" on Steemspeak, but I don't recommend coming in there taking swings at people.

https://discord.gg/btjgfj

Thank you! I’m typically not a cynical person, I certainly didn’t mean to take any shots at you personally.

I think a lot of people can relate to @whatsup's "How To" method and how she spins it into a funny story. I'd add that you'd have better standing for your comments if you'd been posting articles here. You might do very well and wouldn't feel upset that someone else is doing well also. Channel that energy into your writing instead! Show us your talent and skills and you will find a following.

:) If it works, it works!
I do think of a topic and just begin typing. When ready I search for typos but don't edit the post too much because it will loose it originality!
Then I do check back each 5 minutes if it was worth it and making sure that again I did not end up on the trending page :)
Cheers,
Peter

If you threw 200 SBD to bots you could even jump on trending page, hehe.

Hahaha you make me smile SO much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43