About That Reality Filter in the Living RoomsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago

 When the mainstream news rolls out a new topic, I always ask myself; "why do they want me to think this?" It seems like a logical approach to any propaganda, so I'm always surprised when people take mainstream news stories any other way. Swimming in a sea of information, but with whale-sized pharmaceutical companies and oil industries curating all of the news stories favoring corporate agendas, why would anybody think otherwise? Shouldn't there be some concern? 

Should we immediately kill our TVs? 

When I asked this question to my TV-viewing friends, most of them would say "Shhh!" at me because I'd interrupted some announcement or a breaking story, and the rest of the people I asked didn't even hear my question, no matter how I worded it, nodding absently towards their TV sets as if I didn't exist at all. 


 

Reality Filter

Few will look away from their TVs, even after I have pointed out how news organizations and all of the other hard-working social engineers keep their viewers in a bubble of disinformation, and how this reality filter had been depriving the viewers of a more holistic view of the real world, depriving them of knowledge. I suggested that real people share real information, and that conversely, the mainstream TV's version of reality is often misleading, to say the least. If they'd heard what I said, they might have listened, but since I wasn't on the TV saying it, my words had no authority in their world.

Turn it off?

 "Kill your TV!" sounds pretty violent, maybe a gentler approach would work, so I decided-- during a commercial break--  to suggest turning the TV off for a few minutes, but apparently a television is like an aquarium full of exotic fish: if you turn it off, the fish will die. The TV stays on.  

keeping updated with the live feed

TV History 

The original TV, even before black-and-white television, was a fire. Everybody stared at it, and it was great. Somebody might tell a story while they all gazed into the ever-changing coals, and the whole family could gather around and enjoy it for hours.

 hottest trending stories

Later, following the inevitable invention of popcorn, roofs, and walls, viewers found ways to bring the fire indoors. The stone hearth became the coffee table, coffee was soon invented, and the only thing missing was the remote control unit. (This is a rough history, some of the chronology of things may be a bit off here.)

  

  some say bricks led to the invention of 'the rectangle'

The Blue Glow

The modern TV is like a fireplace without the warmth, and it wants to capture our attention with it's subtle flicker, while always sucking vital oxygen from the room. I've never seen it turned off at some people's places, as the blue glow of submission bathes their rooms in constant propaganda, posing as the authority over all knowledge in that house. 

Driving through neighborhoods at night, every structure emits the vital blue light, and it's clear that the beings who are sitting in those houses are only there for a few hours in the evenings. It's apparent, therefore, that the structures were built just to house the television, and the humans are only there to gaze up at it silently for as long as they can, then in the morning they'll drive away again to go wherever it is that they live.


household reality filters
 

Pull The Plug?

The modern version of news-flavored propaganda is now spewed from a very large television set-- an entire wall is usually devoted to it, and there are often two or three of them on in other rooms, blaring nonsense throughout the living quarters.  
One day when I was leaving a friend's house, I offered to pull the plug on the sinister mind-control device, but the look on their face told me not to even play. I think they growled at me, and I got out before it got physical-- I didn't like the idea of losing a friend when I was only trying to help out, so I had to pretend that I was just kidding.

I soon learned that people will not entertain the idea of killing their expensive TVs. Eventually, I learned that they are not amused about the idea of unplugging it as an alternative. And ultimately I learned that they won't even turn it off for a second. 


--------------

images by Pixabay

follow me @therealpaul

Sort:  

It would be an interesting experiment to poll all the Steemit users to find out how many of us have given it up.
(I've been "off the tv drip" since 2004 and never been happier. LoL)

I bet there are a lot of ex-users here!

I'd guess more ex-users than users, too.

I have a full day ahead, and hopefully I'll still post later on, but I thought I would get something on my page, and you have my friend, have many great posts and ideas to choose from!

Thank you! I really appreciate your input and am glad you enjoy it.
Thanks for the resteem! Here, I was talking about 'fake news' before it was cool!

Haha! It's great finding out we're not alone in our observations. I watched the movie They Live a couple of years ago when I began to notice that certain movies appeared to be what my husband now refers to as "Notice on the people". If they made the movie now there would be A.I. in place of aliens. I completely freaked out a very close friend of mine recently. He recommended the show WestWorld (Anthony Hopkins, very intriguing) and after the first few episodes I told him to read Genesis and see if he found any correlations between Lord God and Dr. Robert Ford. We both grew up in strong 'Christian' homes, and while he quit church he did not quit the doctrine. Fear of hell unfortunately continues to hang on him like chains. Needless to say I think he stopped watching the show.

They Live is awesome. I want to make a meme of the 'lady' in the grocery store, who says into her wrist communicator; "I've got one that can SEE." It would be my go-to image whenever somebody on the internet had their sunglasses on.
I've never seen West world, not even the old Yul Brynner version, but the title comes up in conspiracy circles now and then

That would be an awesome meme. I haven't seen the old version of West World either, but I recommend the new one. If you don't have cable -(I don't, I only recently caved and got a flat screen, basically so we could watch Home Alone and The Polar Express on something larger than our computer monitors, haha!) there's a great site on the net that so far has not caused any virus issues and I've been using it for three months- http://www.watchepisodes3.com/home/series It offers a variety of links to watch episodes, I generally go with likeafool or lolzor. And if I can recommend one more show it would be Da Vinci's Demons. "Some say time is a river, what they don't know is that the river is a circle" that scene sticks with me.

Great post upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you! I appreciate that.

I quit watching TV on a general basis in the seventies.
I question the reality that you say they are filtering.
What reality?
More like they chose which fiction to feed us.

O man, I had presumed that it had SOME reality in it, but yea they got me with the "All natural ingredients" bit! I fell for it again.

The TV is obsolete, everybody has portable reality filters now.

I admit I have one of those too, and I still call it my "phone". I'm old.

Great post. As usual, love your writing and insight, and sense of humor throughout it all. I had a friend that had his aquarium set up IN his old television. The evening newsblaah with Oskie the Oscar.

Thank you for the compliment, I'm glad you like it!
I might be tempted to trust the news if it came from an Oscar.

Now that American Idol is over, what good is the TV anyway?
(humor for a Friday).

Haven't needed one since they cancelled 'The Tick'.

Yep! People can only see what they can see, and many don't want to see anything that would require them to question their present perception. TV fits right into and continues to support that game. TVs were on all over the airport, blaring with a constant stream of indoctrination. They were in every hallway, seating area, and even curbside. The story runs deep.

They are always placed up high on the wall like deities too, demanding worship.

I hate televisions. No input, no programmability. Maybe for movies but otherwise computer :D

I keep one around for movies, dust it off occasionally and everything. I wasn't suited for regularly scheduled programming.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63123.52
ETH 3121.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88