STEEMIT - BITTER LESSONS OF A LIFETIME! - 1

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Yes, I did cash out some SBD yesterday. Small but thrilling experience it was – my first cash out. I use this opportunity to post a huge gratitude to @fifebanks who ‘carried’ me to STEEMIT where I write, learn and earn - and I have been learning and earning slowly but steadily. And a shout out to @colinbrazendale who has been teaching me Steemit winning strategies, @surpassinggoogle who has motivated me in no small measure, @tojukaka and @temitopebanks my Steemit lecturers and my friend @thefairlady

You see, a full grown man like me should not step out to the arena to dance with children without first mastering the music. If he does, he’ll be lifting the left leg when others are lifting the right, and he’ll make a good fool of himself! I joined Steemit and started running without learning how to crawl. Haven heard that one gets paid simply by upvoting, resteeming and commenting, I started following, upvoting, resteeming and commenting on every post that popped up! ‘Click and earn’ became my song and I was clicking away at everything that appeared on my screen! There’s ‘free’ money to be made, man!

I went berserk with clicking frenzy when I noticed that my reputation was rising! Emboldened, encouraged and energized, I increased my pace with the assiduity of a lion and the speed of a cheetah! There’s ‘free’ money to be made! I was bulldozing any and every post that dared to appear. And I was having fun. For two full days I went without sleep – following anyone in sight, upvoting every one, resteeming them all. How could I sleep when there’s money to be made!

Then it happened! The message popped up - ‘You have exhausted your bandwidth. You need to Power Up’ bla bla bla’! Whaaaat! Little did I know that as I was losing sleep to gain reputation, get upvotes and gain SBD, I was losing bandwidth very fast. I couldn’t do anything anymore. My blog had frozen! Slowly, the scales fell off my eyes as I learned that I had freely donated my voting power to everyone – deserving and undeserving! I had become powerless and my site motionless.

And so for the past 7 days I’ve been only able to watch other moderate, more sensible, dancers enjoy the arena in their slow but steady rhythmic dance while I, crippled by overzealous dance steps, have now been turned into a silent, bewildered spectator…

So my advice to newbies:

1. DON'T DEPLETE YOUR BANDWIDTH – it’s your Steemit blood!

2. SPEND YOUR STEEM POWER WISELY – it’s your Steemit muscle!

3. RESTEEM WITH MODERATE SPEED! – or the system will think you’re spamming!

4. TRULY READ POSTS AND WATCH VIDEOS! – there’s a lot to learn from most of them!

Be wise – don’t repeat my mistake!

And be nice - upvote me so I can Power Up!

Thank you!

Sort:  

Great post @sungbojus. Many people can learn from it. Steem on!

Wow! Thanks for the 100% upvote!!!

hahahahahahahahahahahaha😆😆😆

This is indeed a painful experience because this has happened to me too. I wish a good Samaritan could just delegate some SP to me to continue steeming (now wisely).
Newbies should really learn from this experience.

This post is poetic. Thanks for sharing it.

Precisely. It's a hard way to learn. But as they say, there's reward in every bitter experience.

I enjoyed reading your writeup, and wish I could upvote it, but have just learnt from you how not to deplete my bandwidth! He!He!

Hey! Not so na! You upvote deserving posts. Remember you earn much more from upvoting than commenting and resteeming. Keeping your upvote to yourself is like having money and not investing it - it will not yield you any profit... So now that I've shown you how to earn more SBD, wouldn't you rather upvote me?

Ok, I'll upvote you, but this is all so...not clear.

You will make a good student😆

Or not, it would seem...

Lol @anamarie you don't have to give, you give to have.

Gbam! Thanks for the enlightenment.

I think your experience has taught me in life that, whatrver i want to do, i should calm down, learn the ropes, follow the examples of those who were there before me, and never hurry because i think i know it. Even in following Christ the saviour.
Experience is a very good teacher if well applied! Thanks for sharing Sunny.

Pretty true! Thank you.

Wow...thank u for d insight. I will work not to fall into this trap. Thank u again for advising us.

Great lessons @sungbojus I guess we have to realize this is a long term journey and not a dash. More grace to your elbow sir

Great lessons @sungbojus I guess we have to realize this is a long term journey and not a dash. More grace to your elbow sir

Thank you @sungbojus for including me in your article, it is my honor and privilege .you'ree such a good and kind person . keep it up ! Lets keep in touch :) I know you will be famous someday ,you have what it takes to be one ! :) keep on steeming

Thank you for your generous remarks, @thefairlady.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66