Han Shot Second? [Has George Lucas Gone To The Dark Side?]

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my first and probably only Star Wars post in an attempt to get out of my #punchline comfort zone. Hope you enjoy it.


src

You can't miss @hanshotfirst on Steemit, but I never looked into what his name meant until tonight. I knew there was something behind it, but I had no clue how deep it was. Who knew that it's the leading cause of replica light saber fights at Comic-Con events in the last than 20 years than anything else...

Several YouTube videos on the subject later, self-education on the revised scene, and down the rabbit hole of other Star Wars clips I went. There are so many theories and debates. It's a whole other world I'd like to get into... once I get the whole get the finding a stable girlfriend thing handled first.

I won't get into it, but check out this light saber battle in the remake. The colors are completely different. You can't fool me, George!!


src

This really makes me regret selling my sealed Star Wars Lego sets and some rare vintage figures. I also sold a bunch of Star Wars Lego Storm Troopers and a ton of their blaster guns last week. To make matters worse, I had a bag of Legos in my hand with Greedo in it just last week and put it back on the thrift store shelf. Now I'm sad.

What made me happy though was remembering that my night freecycling efforts scored me this brand new light saber a few weeks ago on the way home from buying a baseball bat for my double header that weekend (went 4 for 8 with a double with it, thanks for asking). It was just sticking out of the bag and sealed new, so no shame! I haven't decided if I should sell it or use it to prank people on the subway at night yet.

Speaking of thrifting, here's one of my favorite thrift store finds from last year. I bought the entire table for $109 and made that money back after selling 3 pieces. Steem for Star Wars toys? Glad you asked!

IMG_0061.JPG

While the second revised scene has Greedo shooting at Han Solo first, I've learned that diehard fans know that George Lucas discredited himself for the change.

I've also noticed that there's a big debate about Darth Vader's eyebrows. Did the Death Star open up a threading shop? #starwarseyebrowgoals. I just can't trust George anymore.


src

Riveting stuff!

Anyway, the main point of this post was to demonstrate how ridiculous the cover-up of Hans shooting at Greedo first is. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Here's the original vs the edited version.

Original:


src

Revised Trash (I'm not biased):


src

I didn't realize that futuristic laser guns bounced off of wood and mud walls. Seems like a great prank in the making if I could get my hands on one.

To convey my frustration, I thought I'd take over for George Lucas and direct the revised scenes we should expect in future Star Wars movies. Here are the options:

#1 "Righting the wrongs."


src

#2 "Digging the hole deeper."


src

#3 "Making a mountain out of a molehill."


src

#4 "Appealing to the dumbed down masses for ratings?"


src

#5 "Adding fuel to the fire."


src

#6 "Anti-Violence Movement Undertones."


src

#7 "Steemit Flagging War."


-Do I really need a source for this?

And that's a wrap.

As for me, I say just put the damn scene back to what it was the first time.

What's your vote?

What's your spin on the original debate?

All in all, I trust Han more than anyone on the subject...

src

I'll find you again, Greedo. I promise.


src

Wow, where did my night go? May the force be with you.

Hit me with your best shot,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Ahhh you got me! I love this post!

Those toys you bought are awesome! I recently wrote an entire post about that Star Destroyer alone.

If you are bored and want to read about the origin of my name, here is the full story.

https://steemit.com/life/@hanshotfirst/what-is-in-a-name-for-me-there-is-quite-a-bit

Thank you. I hope I'm an example that it's never too late to begin to immerse oneself in Star Wars.

Read it!

I think one of the best gun duels was the 3-way gun duel at the end of the movie "The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.

Is that Clint Eastwood? What a stud?

Yep. That is a young Clint Eastwood.

George Lucas is stupid. Han shot first.

Solo shot first and I would have shot first, too. Solo had intuition. Stay alive somehow. I love editing videos just like George Lucas. I've been making videos since 1996. In Back In The Future, they travel through time and changed things.

Maybe, George traveled in time, got Anakin into lava which deleted his eye brows later on in ROTJ. As an editor, I change thins too. It is his baby, his story. I am ok with the changes. I know they can be controversial and I love the debate. I'm Oatmeal.

so funny shooting. I didn't know the funny tricks.

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45