The worst valentines day gift: A tradition

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

In 2016 I decided to start a new tradition on or around valentines day with my wife. Since I really hate the idea of valentines day in general, as I don't like being told when to be romantic. I think it is a lame excuse for gifts and its sad that most women only get romance on that day and are promptly ignored the rest of the year. So in the spirit of bucking traditions, we decided to find each other the worst, cheesy, hideous, disgusting, stupid valentines day themed gift we could find

2016 The Gold Standard


Winner: Me

gift.jpg

What the heck is that you may ask... well reader... it is... A hairy heartshaped box full of beef jerky. Whats more romantic than that? Why was this made? Who thought of this horrible idea, who then AGREED and then proceeded to make it???

Runner up: My wife

These pillows are definitely tacky, and why are those tags so huge? The world may never know... but she didn't stand a chance against my hairy jerky box. We found it would forever be the standard of bad gifts.

divider.png

2017 Accidental amazing gift


Self proclaimed winner: My wife

These gifts were meant to be tacky, but are legit probably two of my favorite pieces of clothing. Rainbow cat pants! Need I say more? The "I love you" silk boxers definitely are up there on the cheese scale, but they are so comfy. I still wear both of these, and everyone else thought they were awesome... so I don't think thats a win for her.

The Real Winner: Me

A stupid pug that sings "I like big hugs and I cannot lie" to the popular "Baby Got Back" by Sir Mixalot. She was immediately annoyed by it, the kids loved it, and it was hidden from sight within a few days... sounds like a winner to me!

divider.png

2018 The comeback kid


My gift to her

27989780_1996558677333871_1778416085_o.jpg

I went for ultimate tacky this year, with poop emoji stuffy that says you're so stinkin cute, and a box of chocolate that made me chuckle because of steemit bots.

Her gift to me

27999160_1996558657333873_784430103_o.jpg

Wow.... just wow... I am genuinely still cracking up at these stupid things... gold boxers that say trophy guy. I hate them so much lol. I can just imagine some jerk buying them for himself with a spray tan, drenched in bad cologne. Plus she gave me a little gift that I am pretty sure she got for herself saying "you+me=glitter" ... I have no idea what that means... but whatever... I think she won this year. FINALLY.

What do you think? WHO WON?

Tell me in comments

What was your favorite bad gift overall?

monsterfooter.jpg

Check out the bad Valentines day gift contest I am holding!

https://steemit.com/funny/@saywha/worst-valentines-gift-contest-5-steem

Sort:  

Pretty sure she won with those boxers. Unless you like to paint yourself gold and go to the park and pretend to be a robot. Then you're probably both winners.

Also, a cool cat heart you say?

She won this year. Hands down. No contest.

First year you definitely won, hairy beef Jerky hands down. Year two you win cause those cat pants are way rad! Year three... I have to give it to wifey... Those golden boxers are almost unwearable :D

Fun tradition!

are you in steemit.chat yet? if you join, ping me @saywha and ill add you to our chat group :D

Nah dude. Your wife firmly kicked your ass this year! That's a knockout!!

I find this so cute, really! I'll do that with my couple haha~ Great post! Also thank you for your upvote on my illustration, following and upvoting you~ ♥

You guys are awesome about giving gifts. So creative! How did you find all of those?

I think usually target and walmart

hahahaha! Rainbow kittens got me! :D but seriously golden trophy boxers, everything lives on this planet :/ :D

I like your tradition! :)
In Serbia it is always a battle between "romantics" and drunkards... Cause on the Valentine's day it is also a Saint Trifun's(Tryphon's?) day - protector of vineyards and wine. :)

Hahahahaha.. Nice post

Same here! I don't like birthdays, christmas day, valentines day etc. When someone expects a gift of some sort or party it feels meaningless to me. A surprise gift or party is a special day.

Hahahah hilarious! I like the you plus me = glitter cuz I don’t really get it 😛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56758.93
ETH 3033.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30