Benefits of Scare TacticssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

I imagine there was a time when you have found yourself caught in the dark. I also imagine there was a moment you weren’t sure if you were alone…

Ghost stories seep into our subconscious, not because of the story-line but rather the fear triggered by our senses of sight, smell, sound and touch. These emotive senses are triggered by what we associate with danger… or the paranormal. Our sense of sound is the most heightened. The slight creaking from a wooden floor; the fingers of a branch scratching against the glass pane; the subtle whistle of the wind pushing through unseen crevices; the sudden thud on the ceiling or roof.

the-boogeyman.jpg
Source

As your hairs stand on end, your blood pressure rises and your heart competes in its own triathlon. Becoming this frighten once in a while could actually be beneficial to your health. Could scare tactic be as beneficial as your weekly dose of broccoli? Being the adrenaline junkie that I am, I decided to investigate. There are three main hormones released when one gets frighten: Epinephrine, nor epinephrine and cortisol. Each play a part in awakening the body and heightening the senses.

Epinephrine or adrenaline that is released into your body increases your strength and stamina when under stress. Which really becomes useful if the boogeyman were to pay a visit. It also dilates your pupils so that you can take in as much information as possible of what is around you, which also increases your chances of out smarting a zombie with your resourcefulness. In other words, in this state your senses are heightened, you are stronger and calm, cool and collected. In other words, taking a quick nap in Elm Street will help you prepare for the unexpected.

elm street.jpg
Source

Nor epinephrine, the second hormone produced, keeps you alert and focused instead of panicking in stressful situation. It gives you clarity of thought. I can imagine this will give you a Matrix moment or two if you ever need to dodge silver bullets. This hormone is also used in many antidepressants for its effectiveness. I suspect this is the ‘rush’ adrenaline is associated with, the feeling of invulnerability in the face of danger.

Last but not least, the hormone cortisol. This is an understated hormone that is crucial when going into survival mode. It balances fluid and functions of your body which helps when enter a stressful situation. However, long-term effects are not as flattering. Over a long period it’s known to suppress your immune system, spike your blood pressure, damping your sex drive and in severe cases lead to a heart attack. In other words, scare tactics are not for the faint of heart.

Scare tactics are healthy, but not as healthy as broccoli or spinach. It’s more like a rare indulgence such as dark chocolate or a glass of red wine… to be enjoyed in moderation. Now it makes sense why Halloween only occurs once a year. Scaring is caring, but also please remember to scare with care.

Zombie-1.jpg
Source

Sort:  

I love being scared! ... sometimes... when we would have sleepovers, all the girls would watch horror movies together, lost some sleep over those.. but I couldn't keep myself from doing it the next time either . Great images btw !!!

Thanks! Yeah, I am a bit of an adrenaline junkie myself. However, my addiction is more to do with things like sky-diving. When it came to horror movies I preferred watching the anxiety build on the faces of those watching. I found it quite amusing.

I don't know that I could bring myself to skydive, although I do love theme parks and thrill rides! I rode what was supposedly the tallest swing (in the US or the world I don't remember), it was the kind that pulled you up, then you pulled the ripcord, one of my best experiences, but also one of the most terrifying...

We have the same type of swing here. I loved it! Used to be my first stop every time a friend came for a visit.

I keep trying to get my hubby to go on a smaller version of it, but he's terrified of heights lol, so far my efforts have been futile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55