Vanity got the best of me :-)

in #funny6 years ago

Well now, it's been a year or so

FitnessEightman-2037255_1280.jpg
photo credit: pixabay.com

since my hip surgery

FitnessNewIMG_20170429_1905344.jpg
About to have my hip replacement at a hospital in Athens last year. I can't
even straighten my left leg. photo credit: @twiceuponatime

In addition, I had been quite inactive

for several years before that due to the hip condition.
Still, before taking the drastic step of a hip replacement,
and after several years of hoping the pain would go away, LOL,
I gave stem cell therapy a try.
But I found it gave only a little,
and only temporary, relief.

FitnessNew2IMG_20160909_1343011.jpg
Undergoing stem cell therapy in Vancouver. photo credit: @twiceupontime

So, as you could well imagine,

it has been a very long time since I have had
any real exercise at all!

And it shows!

FitNessTenman-641691_1280.jpg
photo credit: pixabay.com

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

That's all fine and dandy, @onceuponatime,

But from whence do you propose to get the motivation
to come back to fitness from such a deplorable state?

After all, it ain't easy!

FitnessOneexercising-2831679_1280.png

FitnessSeventeenboy-2029661_1280.png

FitnessSevenweightlifter-312074_1280.png

FitnessTwostreet-2897229_1280.png
photo credits: pixabay.com

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Well, being of a rather devious character,

(sometimes I do come under the nefarious influence
of my demented alter-ego, @twiceuponatime)

I could easily pretend that my motivation
is due to my involvement in cryptos
(bitcoin, steem, eos, bitshares and such).

That is,

I could plausibly claim to be getting in shape
for the coming wars between
centralization and decentralization!

FitnessThirteensilhouette-3340838_1280.png

FitnessEighteenair-force-academy-100379_1280.jpg
photo credits: pixabay.com

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

But @twiceuponatime mocked me mercilessly:

"Who's going to believe that, you fool?"

"Certainly not her:"

FitnessNinetwine-2983129_1280.jpg
photo credit: pixabay.com

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

"Furthermore," @twiceuponatime hissed:

"everyone knows crypto is for nerds,
and that you spend 12, 14, 18 or more
hours a day behind a computer screen!"

FitessFourburnout-2166265_1280.jpg

Nerd2nerd-3218300_1280.png

Nerd1nerd-3218307_1280.png
photo credits: pixabay.com

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

So how did I overcome @twiceuponatime's bullying?

To come up with the motivation to get back in shape?

I do wish it was something noble

that I could say was the key

FitnessThreeoccupation-1426385_1280.jpg

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Unfortunately,

it was just VANITY that got the best of me :-)

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

After all, who wants

to look down and, for the rest of his life,
see only his stomach, never his shoes?

Stomach2IMG_20180424_123624.jpg
"so that's the real reason for your 'Don't forget to look up' post, you hypocrite!"
said @twiceuponatime

Don't forget to look up!

https://steemit.com/funny/@onceuponatime/don-t-forget-to-look-up

Gym7IMG_20180524_154015.jpg
photo credit: @twiceuponatime

Gym8IMG_20180525_145713.jpg
photo credit: @twiceuponatime

Gym5IMG_20180524_102412.jpg
photo credit: @twiceuponatime

Gym3IMG_20180524_102341.jpg
photo credit: @twiceuponatime

Gym4IMG_20180524_102351.jpg
photo credit: @twiceuponatime

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Let's Get Healthy!!!

FitnessTwentyTwoheart-2658206_1280.png

FitnessTwentyFourappetite-1239265_1280.jpg

FitnessElevenweight-loss-3231081_1280.jpg
photo credits: pixabay.com

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Gym2IMG_20180524_102303.jpg

Gym6IMG_20180524_102510.jpg

Gym9IMG_20180525_145838.jpg

Gym10IMG_20180525_145945.jpg

Gym11IMG_20180525_145942.jpg
photo credits: @twiceuponatime

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

WE CAN DO IT!

motivation-2863446_1280.png

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

ouzo and out,
@onceuponatime

Sort:  

It's a good a reason as any!

You don't think that some reasons are better than others? For instance, I could have used a better reason than "The dog ate my homework", with my teacher, back in the day. It would have saved me a lot of grief :-)

Lol, some are definitely better than others. The dog eating the homework gets points for its classic timelessness!

I think that I might have gotten a little better at "excuses" since my school days :-)

Ha! Do we ever get better at them? I thought I did, but I'm pretty sure I'm the only one who thinks so, which means the only one I got better at making excuses for-- is me ;)

But dude, who cares? Why do we care about this shit at all? lol! You look amazing to me.

Which brings me to the last thing I need to say- it was quite magical, once upon a time like, to find that you followed me yesterday- but while you and I have music in common (we've had some pearl jam back and forths over the past 18 months lol) I am not my brother, who wrote that amazing song. I write novels, and I screw around with blogging and photography, that's what I do. I think it's really cool (magical) that you followed me, but I don't care if you never vote on my posts. I'm serious about that. I don't care. I am just me. I've learned lessons from the whales that have been here since the beginning-- make another account. lol. Much easier to find the real people, the down to earth, not trying to get something from you people- when you're not a big fish.

Sorry for hijacking your comment stream me boom! I'll blame the sweet, sweet beer, XO!

Bloody beer, it's at the root of everything :0)

You can hijack my dreams streams anytime :0D

It is! Though I generally choose to believe it's the root of good things (unless of course I've made a fool of myself, then of course EVIL)

LOL! If I knew how to do the cross out thing (HOW do you do the cross out thing, and WHY don't I know how by now?) I would have a much more fun response then Streams are the new Dreams! ;)

Hehe, the cross out thing is those little marks, tilde? Two of them on either side. Like so

cross through

SmartSelect_20180526-080943_Chrome.jpg

Cool eh!

I feel like something is starting to burn inside me (I hope it is not an acid reflux). I feel like it is time to start being healthy!
Starting to work hard... from tomorrow... Or maybe the day after tomorrow... I'm almost there!!

And when you get hungry I bet you open your mouth wide and wait for a roast chicken to fly into it :-)

"so that's the real reason for your 'Don't forget to look up' post, you hypocrite!"

This line was a killer!

Everything is in our head...
We decide whether we'll be happy or unhappy, active or inactive...
And the fact that you decided to start these activities especially after the hip problem, indicates a man with strength (mental and physical) and also a man who's will for LIFE is greater than any physical problem.

This is an example for all of us. Motivation at its finest.
Have a great day @onceuponatime

Please tell @twiceuponatime that a mind is a terrible thing to waste :-)
(He won't listen to me!)

I will if ever I meet him!

If you start hanging out around the seedier sides of town you are bound to run into him soon enough :-)

Well sounds good to me :-) Looking forward to such a meetup!!

Congratulations for starting work out. I am going to start too, though I never been a sports person.
Keep up the great work @onceuponatime! ☺️

"Soon" doesn't count! Tell me the date that you are going to start.

I know!!! On 05.06.2018, because I am away until 04.06.2018.
I will be back with an update then to show you that I am determined!!!

I really like the photo that you hold the t-shirt! However, the slogan: "DONT DREAM, WORK HARD", I would say:
Work hard and keep on dreaming! 😉

Yes, I agree. Except that most people only dream and forget about doing the hard work :-)

I'm... getting back at it after a loooong winter!

You have the advantage that you can practice your craft (sing) while you work out :-)

one of the hardest things I encountered is when I wanted to start working out after 4 months of junk eating and just being lazy... I did it though. Funny thing is, I enjoyed working out and at one point (around Christmas) I lost the desire for it... I'm happy to say: I LOVE working out once more! It makes me feel good, look good and it's simply a nicer and healthier life... Stay strong my friend :)

Thanks for your inspiration!

Let's Get Healthy!!! It is an encouragement that has been left out of action for me for many years. I have to start(before will be too late) and your attitude is a good example. Thanks!

Wow! A good example! I usually get called a "bad influence" :-)

Sometimes even a bad influence can be useful...

It was only a matter of time as being healthy and autonomous has always been priorities in your life, unless something more important showed up inadvertently!

Good to see you jump in those shoes and back on "tracks"... ;)

Namaste :)

And are you losing your baby fat too? :-)

Lately, I have been missing the Greek olive oil and purposefully add up a whole bunch in my hummus... I gain a bit of fat after loosing quite a bit!?. I guess I am keeping a fairly healthy balance that way? ;)

Namaste :)

I could easily pretend that my motivation
is due to my involvement in cryptos

Thanks for today’s technology and crypto! Without it you wouldn’t have new hip and motivation. Don’t let @twiceuponatime beat you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72