That's what you get!!!

in #funny5 years ago

image

So... I went to the boss today with the intent to ask for a small raise. My workload has increased significantly since we have new products and a few colleagues left because of budget cuts .

I started talking about these things, mentioning the fact that we had a pay cut a few years back and her promise that we will get a raise if things get better or if someone leaves the company. I also mentioned that it didn't have to be a large amount. Just "a little something" to sugar-coat our current condition.

She didn't say anything. Just gave me a smirking smile and said "Ok, I 'll see what I can do".

I had an appointment with a client and I left the office for about an hour. When I returned, I saw this on my desk!

I opened the box and... I couldn't believe my eyes. At that exact moment, the phone rang. It was my boss. "I hope you like your raise. I believe I sugar-coated you enough". Then she hung up.

This is me, holding my precious "sugar-coated" raise. She was generous enough to have two slices in the box, just for me...

image

Now, everyone else around me in the office got the message.
"Don't ask for anything"
"If you do, DO NOT mention sugar, food, water, drink, anything edible... Might turn around and bite you"!

And because weekend is coming bonus a song!!! Lol

Have a beautiful weekend

Sort:  

So the moral of the story is sugar is great?

xaxaxa!!! :P no it is not great!!

lol ok. they taste great. but i hope you get the right type of sugar coating next time!

You reminded me of what happened to me many years ago

I got a job as bookkeeper (logistis), but was told my salary will be small until I prove myself.

The books were six months behind, so I worked evenings and weekends to bring them upto date (I did it as I hate not being on time). The other bookkeepers, two girls, burst into tears and told my boss they are unhappy because I have made them look bad - so he wanted to fire me.

I just looked at him as if he has gone mad and asked, "You are firing me because I did my job, and keeping them because they cannot do their job?"

He had just opened a new factory, so he moved me there and made me the manager (but I also had to do the books). We only had about 35 employees, but it was very tiring work. A year later I asked for 2 things:

  • A raise
    and
  • an assistant,

as we now had about 180 employees (I had introduced them to a German friend of mine in HongKong and the first order was over a million US dollars).

He told me he could not raise my salary and "You can never say you have too much work."

I replied, "Maybe, but I can say bye-bye." and I never returned, not for getting balance of salary or to work off my notice. I knew he would now have to employ 3 persons.

I've been thinking and I admit I prefer the humour of your boss - as long as she does give you a raise soon. (My boss is now listed as being one of the wealthiest people in Australia, worth over a billion Australian Dollars) but he is not a happy person. His family are all shit people like him.

because of the crisis there are no jobs ... if there were bye bye I would say!!!

Den symfono.

Einai logos...alla, ean i douleia megalonei kai sou dinei perissotera na kaneis, tha eheis dynamosei kai esi kai tote tha vries poli kaliteri douleia.

Polloi pathainoun afto pou kanei i kyria. Den thelei na plirosi perissotera, alla, otan erthei i mera kai fygeis, tote den tha distasi na plirosi arketa perissotera. Nomizo eina kati psyhologiko...alla den ksero akrivos ti tous kanei kai skeftonte etsi. Ego potes den eiha tetoia provlima, epeidi pistevo oti gia na mou dosei to kalitero pou mporei o ypallilos, prepei kai ego na tou doso tin kaliteri antamoivi pou mporo - kai na deikso oti eho proseksi poso kala kanei tin douleia tou.

Tha deis argotero sto vivlio, o Robert milaei gia to oti oi etairies ehoun stamatisei na zitan to "exellence (υπεροχή)" apo tous ypallilous tous, kai gia afto oute ginete i douleia sosta kai oute oi ypalliloi einai efharistimenoi me tin etairia.

Oi megales etairies den dinoun simasia stin anaggi pou ehoun oi pio poloi na einai uperifanoi gia to proion pou ftiahnoun

Oi mikres etairies, pou o idioktitis doulevei plai kai me tous ergazomenous, kai prospathei na ftiahnei to kalitero proion pou mporei, oi ypalliloi thysiazonte gia na ton voithisoun na to petihi.

Sometimes you got to take what you can get. And that doesn't look too bad!

Posted using Partiko Android

yes this is the other side!!! :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Despite the raise issues with your boss you got to admit that she has a sense of humor and this sweet looks good Nikos.Hehehe

Hahaha... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48