Weird & Funny Excuses For Not Filling Out Tax Returns

in #funny6 years ago

Here in the UK, self-assessment tax returns have to be completed and filed by the 31 January every year. If the deadline is missed a penalty fine is levied. Every year; and this has become something of a tradition now, Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC) department release the weirdest and funny excuses people have made for not returning their forms on time.

My Wife Is Seeing Aliens!!??


A gentleman who really should re-examine his marital status made the following bizarre excuse:-

"I couldn’t file my return on time as my wife has been seeing aliens and won’t let me enter the house."

Another gentleman who should maybe seek help wrote:-

"My ex-wife left my tax return upstairs, but I suffer from vertigo and can’t go upstairs to retrieve it."

The life of an actor must be very hectic:-

"I’ve been far too busy touring the country with my one-man play."

Maybe this person should change careers:-

"My business doesn’t really do anything."

And finally the old favourite:-

"I spilt coffee on it!"


OK, I'm Paying My Tax But.....


Even those who do submit their tax returns on time still try it on with a variety of dubious expenses claims such as:-

  • Vet fees for a rabbit.

  • £4.50 for sausage and chips meal expenses for 250 days.

  • A three-piece suite for my partner to sit on when I’m doing my accounts.

  • Birthday drinks at a Glasgow nightclub.

  • Hotel room service – for candles and prosecco.

I suppose they live by the old saying that if you don't ask you don't get.

Enjoy the rest of your day and thank you for reading.

Images

Header GIF - www.giphy.com

Sources

www.moneywise.co.uk


I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me.

Here are a selection of my recent posts:-

My @treetuesday entry

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome - when simply taking a shower is a major task

Watching the news is bad for you



Mindfulness E-Book - 0.100 SBD

I have collated a series of posts I did on Mindfulness into an ebook which can be downloaded here for the low, low price of 0.100 SBD

Until next time - take care of yourselves.

GardenBadge

Sort:  

Tax time can be so taxing. I really wish that the IRS put out a list like this. Laughter is good medicine and could help relieve the stress. As the tax expert in my family I found this refreshing. Thanks.

Hello, @firststeps and thank you for your comment. I'm glad you enjoyed the post. I always get a chuckle from reading what some people try to get away with.

Congratulation

Today one year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

Really very nice post Brother. I really crushed on your post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27