Tree Tuesday - Clinging On

in #treetuesday7 years ago

I am always amazed how trees can grow in seemingly impossible situations.

This gnarled old tree appears to be growing out from almost bare rock on the face of an abandoned limestone quarry near my home.

This one is in the same quarry and seems to be only just clinging on. I would imagine that a heavy storm would bring it down.

A big thank you to @old-guy-photos for hosting this weekly contest.

Images

All images are by the author


I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me.

Here are a selection of my recent posts:-

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome - when simply taking a shower is a major task

Watching the news is bad for you

I seem to be receiving a lot of 'Advance Fee' scams recently




Mindfulness E-Book - 0.100 SBD

I have collated a series of posts I did on Mindfulness into an ebook which can be downloaded here for the low, low price of 0.100 SBD

Until next time - take care of yourselves.

GardenBadge

Sort:  

Such is the power of life!

Life can be very tenacious. I marvel at how life has spread to even the most inhospitable (to us anyway) places - the deep sea volcanic vents for instance. Thanks for the comment.

Those trees remind me of many of us, twisted and turned and hanging on in adverse circumstances, and not caring about it at all, just doing the job of growing!!!

You're right - there is a good lesson for us all here. As well as what we see growing above ground, there is also a huge amount of the tree growing underground with its root system; its foundation. We are the same - if we put down strong foundations and have depth to our characters, we can withstand a lot. Thank you for your comment.

That tree must have put up a lot just to stay alive , and just like so many of us, a true miracle of the nature.

I think the quarry closed over a hundred years ago so I would imagine the tree to be quite an age. It must have gone through many storms and has done well to survive. Thank you for your comment.

Amazing. Look how they cling on. Such resilience; such determination. There's so much one can learn from them. If only we'd open our eyes and see.

It is amazing, isn't it? I don't know how they survive sometimes. Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31