3 Things A Day...My Secret Productivity Hack!

in #funny6 years ago (edited)


I've really been enjoying reading Tom Peters' 'The Excellence Dividend'. I'm only a few chapters in, but I can tell this is going to be one of my favorite books in recent memory.

This popped up early in the book and it made me think of a productivity hack that I've been following for years...I'll share the quote and then go over why I think following this can change your life!

productivity

Simple right? You'd be blown away at how writing things down actually gets you to follow through.

And following through is the key!

All the personal development books in the world can't help you if you don't put the information into action. And that's what this productivity hack helps you accomplish because it's...

- Measuarable
- Achievable
- Builds great habits

Here's what I've been doing for years and I hope it helps you as much as it's helped me...

First, I realize that I'm not going to make a million bucks in 24 hours or less. I'm not going to lose 100 lbs in a day or less. And I'm not going to build a thriving business in 1440 minutes...

But what if I write down 3 simple goals that I can work towards today, and reach them?

What does that do for me in a week?

In a month?

Or even in a year?

Here's an example of what I mean...

productivity

This is a snapshot of a typical day I had a few weeks ago.

1. So I started my day going for a walk. Hey look, I'm not the picture of health my any stretch of the imagination but I do know that my journey to get healthier begins with...A walk.

Maybe in a month, it turns into a run or jog. Hey, maybe in 6 months from now I'm on the road to a Mr. Universe body lol The point being...I start my day with something I can ACHIEVE and it feels good to cross it off after it's done.

2. Next up, is working with my customers. This is something I MUST improve on and something I know will help me in the months that follow but I need to do everything I can to work with them. Whether it's through Telegram and Discord in my private groups, or through emails...I'll do my best to provide service and help out.

I treat a customer / follower great today, it has the potential to pay off huge down the road.

3. And finally, write a blog post! I MUST create content daily and that's something I know I can do! It's achievable. My content will help readers get to know me, and it allows me to help build my brand.

Have you noticed something about these small tasks I assign myself every day?

They are stupid simple!

I'm not trying to lose weight and become Mr. Universe in 24 hours. I'm going for a walk...

Also, I'm not trying to build or repair relationships with customers or readers so they start spending millions with me...I'm just talking with them and helping out!

And finally, I'm not trying to become the biggest name on STEEM in a week or less...I'm just writing a blog post every day.

Each of these tasks help me reach my bigger goals and once I start developing this pattern of productive habits, this start to snowball.

Try it out...It's simple!

Just write down 3 things that you can ACHIEVE today and COMPLETE them!

And then do it again tomorrow...And the next day...So on and so on...

You will be blown away at how productive you start to become!

(EDIT: I need to remember to double check my tags before I press publish...As 'funny' as I might try to be, this should not be under the funny tag lol)

steemcreators



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/3-things-a-day-my-secret-productivity-hack/

Sort:  

Love Tom Peters. I remember booking to see him do a talk a while back ££££££! Guess the book is cheaper :) One to add to my list. Cheers for the recommendation

oh man. i bet. yeah this is a great read. jam packed with good stuff

Posted using Partiko iOS

If anyone doubts the power of your '3 things a day' routine, they should read the your posts from the beginning of the year where you talk about your 5-500-5000 goals.

5 comments a day - 500 followers - 5000 SP by the year end

You nailed the first two (well, the first one is on-going until the year ends), and the one both of us thought would be pretty difficult to achieve, 5000 SP is within sight (Steem price going down helped, true).

lol did it ever. i’m just trying to keep on that formula and i should hit it. hopefully lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very good post. But with the walk in the morning is the problem. I prefer to drive. lol

You know you convinced me years ago,

My white board is right here beside me. It has 3 things for today and 5 for long term consideration and action. It has helped me enormously over the years. Like you, I even do it when I'm traveling with a notebook. Enter in the morning, cross off at night.

appreciate the kind words sir. yeah and the best part is that it’s nothing complicated. just a habit of accomplishing small goals every day starts to add up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome stuff, Jon!

thanks man. appreciate that!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The 3 task habit is a good one... many people (including me) have long lists of task to complete. but, the key is break them down to bite size tasks. Having to big of a task can be over whelming! I use to keep a paper task list and it would grow and grow. So now I use Trello so I can keep track. But, my objective for the day is complete bit size tasks. I even have a task to wrap my day by a certain time so I can spend time with Gloria. That is one I sometimes have to work on the most. :) Great article and a great tidbit in making things bit size! P.S. I also realized I was poorly using my Tags as well! Once they are used then you can change it but it is too late. :(

it’s the worst lol but at home i have a big notice on my computer ‘check your tags’ lol thanks for the comments sir. always appreciated.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My pleasure... I need to make a big stick I think as well... LOL

Very true Jon, but you have to remember to make the list in the morning that is the hard part. (lol) there is your funny tag

true. one of the only gripes i have about steem lol it doesn’t let idiots like myself change that primary tag after you press publish. user error but it would be nice to be able to edit it lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

inspiring as always... I just have to get past the "my get-up-and-go just got-up-and-went"... we all start the day with real goals, but too many times other stuff, that we can't avoid, gets in the way...

appreciated. ya i mean that’s why the things i assign to myself everyday are not huge tasks. they are things that challenge me but are never out of reach.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I applied this principle when I was mother to many small children and still do. Some days the 3 most important things got done smoothly and I got to make a newer, possibly more fun list (e.g. phone a friend, bake cookies...) And on bad days, I at least could look at the end of the day at 3 things is did get done. Without a plan, you are just careening from crisis to crisis and at the end of the day possibly zero things really got done.

oh absolutely and for me it gives a sense of accomplishment when i look back on a day and see everything i go through. it helps for sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45