"Aussie Mates" - I'll try to explain what being a "Mate" means to us Aussies! (Goodnight Post)

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

The term Mates is one that is absolutely unbelievable, I've tried to explain it before, but just couldn't put my finger on it, so here I go again with a little story about a bloke named Bruce and his girlfriend Sheila. I truly believe that you will get a real feel for what Aussie mates are and what it means to be a mate in Australia.

Bruce and Sheila were an item, living together, sharing the rent, the bed and all, excellent couple! Then one night Sheila didn't come home til the next morning. When Bruce asked her where she'd been Sheila said she spent the night at a girlfriend's house.

Bruce was a bit suspicious she'd been "rooting around" so he rang her ten best friends, and none of them had seen her.

The following weekend Bruce didn't come home til Monday morning. Sheila asks him where he'd been. So Bruce says he got a bit drunk at a mate's place, had a bit of a rough day the next day with a hangover and all so he thought it was safer not to drive but crash out there.

Sheila was convinced he'd been "rooting around" so she rings his ten best mates.
In true Aussie style - seven of them say he spent the weekend there and three of 'em swear he's still there.

Every night before going to bed, I try and find something to share that can put a smile on all our faces, sometimes when looking through all the material available I don't know if I should cry or laugh!

So, in my good ol' tradition I wish a:

Goodnight to everyone where it is night time, Good morning to everyone where it is morning and G'day to everyone else.

Yours truly

Jack

OUT

PS. All funds raised from the upvotes here go to the two fundraisers I am running here via Steemit.
ref: https://steemit.com/fundraisers/@jackmiller/all-funds-raised-in-my-goodnight-posts-will-from-now-on-go-to-the-two-fundraisers-i-am-running

Sort:  

Aussies are the best community on Steemit!

I swear Jack is still here :] want to talk with him lol.

He just popped out to the local servo to buy a pack of smokes!
I'll tell him to call you as soon as he gets back. Gotta go, bye. (and hangs up)

(quickly calls Jack to fill him in with the details)

;)

Pretty funny m8 I will be sure to read em all mate ship is sorta like brother from another mother :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49