What is the difference between heat exhaustion and a hangover?

in #funny7 years ago

Yesterday my family and I drove back from our week long vacation on a lake in Wisconsin. (This is also why I was a little less active on steemit the last week. So if I missed your post or comment, I wasn't ignoring you... I just had sporadic internet access).



Typically, my wife and I share the travel related duties. I pack the car and do the driving while she makes sure the kids remember all of their personal belongings, eat and are ready for the trip (by the way "kids" also includes me). Well yesterday approximately two hours into the four and a half hour journey, I had to tag her in. I couldn't drive any more. In fact, if I kept my eyes open for one second longer, I'm pretty sure I would be adding a new task to my vacation duties: upchuck clean up.

I mustered up my last ounce of energy to pull into a Culver's parking lot. I crawled into the back of the van as my wife and kids went in to eat. I promptly fell asleep. That is where I remained for the rest of our journey.



My wife is awesome!


As soon as the van stopped in our driveway, I immediately said good night to my family and headed to bed. As I slept, my wife unloaded the car.

My wife is awesome!


When I finally did wake up, I immediately and profusely apologized to my wife.



Then I began my investigation to see what had caused this complete breakdown of our flawless job sharing system.

Here are the facts:

The previous day, I rented a jet ski. It was sunny and 90 degrees. I spent approximately 3 hours taking my kids on rides around the lake. I spent at least another 90 minutes throwing my kids and their cousins around in the water and another hour hanging out on the beach. I drank iced tea and water. I felt fine all day.

That night, my wife and I played cards with my adult cousins. I had several glasses of wine but switched to water when I began to feel "buzzed". I probably stopped one glass too late.



I swear I only had three glasses!

Because I needed this not to be caused by a hangover, I jumped on the internet to look for evidence that it was my selfless acts of fatherly love (clearly riding the jet ski and playing on the beach was torture for me... it was all about the kids) that was to blame for my inability to carry out my duties rather than the wine.

Which sounds better coming from my children?

"Remember that time dad passed out in the car because he spent all day playing with us on the beach? What a great guy."

Or

"Remember that time dad made mom do everything all by herself because he was too hung over to help her? What a 'great' guy."

I immediately googled "heat stroke". I also checked "heat exhaustion" while I was at it.



Oh. Heat stroke is really serious. I don't think I was actually close to death. I didn't require a trip to the emergency room. So that is good... but still doesn't allow me to keep my title as "Super Dad".

Hmmm and it looks like "Heat exhaustion" is probably what I had the day before.

Maybe I am just a jerk who was hungover from too much wine.

Wait!

A glimmer of hope.



Look at this article...

http://www.thermalhyperformance.com.au/heat-hangover/

Thermal physiologist, Dr Matt Brearley "has introduced the term 'heat hangover' to describe the similar symptoms suffered by those who had not drunk any alcohol but had pushed themselves too hard working in the heat." (I'm sure this was edited from "working too hard in the heat or playing too much with their kids at the beach).

So there you have it: Scientific proof that I am a great dad and not a complete jackass!*

So what is the difference between heat exhaustion and a hangover?

Heat exhaustion elicits pity in your wife's beautiful eyes.

A hangover elicits RAGE in your wife's beautiful eyes.


*I know damn well that my physical condition was caused by a combination of factors with a main one being my stupid decision to drink alcohol after being out in the sun all day. I am a huge jackass. I owe my wife (and her big, beautiful, nonjudgemental eyes) big time! But first I better drink some more water and take another nap.

Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Sort:  

Having fun can get the best of us sometimes! Im going on a trip to Greece in the near future and I can use this advice to my advantage. Thanks for the information, I will upvote and follow!

I went to Greece for my honeymoon. Amazing place to visit! However being an idiot who doesn't use the metric system, the day we went to see the ruins in Athens it was 44 celsius. Seemed like a nice number. Great for walking around outside with no shade. I had 4 liters of water (whatever a liter is lol) and could not figure out why I was so miserable the next day. It was 112 Fahrenheit. I am dumb.

I laughed now when I read this because this is the exact way I feel about the imperial system. The metric system makes totally sense and the imperial system confuses the hell out of me. I teach my kids both the metric and the imperial system but find the metric system so much easier....more logical by the way!

I've been in similar situation my friend. I'm so glad it wasn't more serious. Steem On!

wait for this one...

I think there was

steem on

my head.

Interesting read. I always just assumed anything heat related was heat-stroke lol.. Now I learnt something new about heat exhaustion :)

Thanks for this post. Talk soon.

Yeah I think I was over using that term as well. It is very specific and dangerous.

Loved the story and super helpful info, I work on outdoor music festivals in the summer and heat awareness is a very real issue. Glad you recovered and that the family doesn't think you are a bum ;)

I didn't say they don't think I'm a bum...

LOL! Thanks!

Heat hangover? Hmm, that's a new term - I learnt something from your post!

I am sure your wife is kind enough to let it pass.

She sure is! I'm a lucky man.

Yeah, your wife is pretty cool! And there's such a thing as thermal physiologist, lol, good to know.

Yeah. I'm sure when he was 5 he dreamed of being one.

Sometimes is neither. Probably a combination of symptoms.

I think the main symptom was... idiocy.

Failing at your fatherly duties, egad man. Thank god for the internet, it's got a good enough explanation for anything. Now sell the heat hangover to the good woman and get on with your nap.

Exactly! Thank you internet! The cause of and solution to every argument.

Heat stroke is a nasty thing, topped with a few glasses of wine will make it worse. Hope your feeling better now, at least next time you will know better :)

I'm doing great now... and my wife hasn't killed me so I have that going for me!

Bless her she's a angel :)

lol this article gave me a good laugh.

Obviously, "heat exhaustion" is to blame.

My stupidity is really to blame lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84