An Obi Wan Kenobi Stand Alone Film? Ewan McGregor Says He Would Reprise His Role as the Hero

in #funny7 years ago

There are very few things from the Star Wars prequels that I want more of (actually maybe just one... Darth Maul). But reading the news today that Ewan McGregor would like to play Obi Wan Kenobi again didn't make me cringe. In fact I kind of like the idea.



For years I have always wondered what the heck George Lucas did to all of the those fine actors (Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor, Natalie Portman, Samuel Jackson, and Jake Lloyd... ok not Jake Lloyd) in the prequel to make them forget how to act entirely. Did he use the Jedi mind trick? "You will forget all of your acting training and experience. You will be terrible."

I actually have another theory. For years, Carrie Fisher had told the story that on the first day of filming Star Wars, George Lucas approached her and told her she could not wear a bra under her dress. When Fisher asked why, Lucas convinced her that "... there's no underwear in space." You can check out her full quote about that story here.

Well I am convinced that on the first day of filming Star Wars Episode I - The Phantom Menace, Lucas approached his cast and said, "There are no emotions in space. Your motivation is a block of wood. Try to be as stiff and wooden as possible." And it worked!!!!



It's not the costume and the makeup. George told me to be this stiff.

Ewan McGregor is a fine actor. I loved him in Trainspotting. I also enjoyed him in movies like Blackhawk Down and Big Fish. He Can act... when Lucas isn't involved.

Obviously, I am all for any Star Wars project this new creative team is willing to produce. I bet a lot of cool things happened to Obi Wan while he was hiding on Tatooine. In fact on this week's episode of Rebels he fought Darth Maul. I'm sure they could write some exciting stories centered around Old Ben secretly protecting Luke Skywalker. I would like to see these stories on the big screen.



The main reason I'd like to see Ewan McGregor reprise the role is that it would be yet another connection to my son. To my 12 year old boy, Ewan McGregor is Obi Wan Kenobi. It would be cool to sit next to Timmy and watch a continuation of this amazing character's adventures.

Oh wait I thought of one more thing connected to the prequels that I would watch...

Jar Jar Binks death scenes for 90 minutes straight!



Image Links 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Jar Jar Binks death scenes for 90 minutes straight!

Damn. You beat me to it...

I was going to make a snide remark about how creative the addition of Jar Jar Binks was and how he truly added depth to the Star Wars universe!
I know he's the thorn in every Star Wars lover's side...So I occasionally like to wiggle that thorn for some giggles.

But unfortunately, that can't happen here today. You got lucky. lol!

come on jar jar is nice :| he's supposed to be comic relief for kids and now you tell me santa isn't real :| why would I watch some teen drama without a wacky scooby doo :) teh star wars were episodes 4,5,6 the lore around that, fuck everything else, it's just noise and filler :D the first clone wars were also strangely inviting, but I know why now, because of the authors.

I may have had to stop being friends with you. Lol

Naaah, c'mon. You chuckled a little bit! Admit it.

Nope. Pure rage!

Kidding. My kids like him so I have to accept him... but I don't want to!

LOL!
Then I would say it is time for the community to get a crowdfunding post together to buy the kiddos some Jar Jar masks off of Amazon! :D

Naaaah, I wouldn't do that to you. You're a good dad!

Lol thanks!!!

I love Ewan, but I agree that they were all flat as hell in that prequel. I've always heard that the actors get their scenes little by little from Lucas, that no one has access to the script...is that true? That can't help matters, not quite knowing where there supposed to be going with it, and maybe just being nervous in general for being a part of something so huge.

That sounds about right for Lucas. I love the guy for creating something so amazing... but I wish he would have accepted more help.

Obi-wan has taught you well...

wooohooo :D payouts :D why are people so easy to read, 9 views 100 votes 200sbd payout for just hitting a nerve :) good one :) I'd also like to see good Star Wars, but I can't trust Disney for anything :) movies are bad :D I hope more actors get together and start making their own movies, anyways star wars is the first space samurai movie :) at least a mainstream one : D

I think we will start to see even more amateur (but very high quality) movies. With today's technology its possible to create quality special effects. I truly enjoy what Disney is doing. I think they are building a bridge between me and my children. Nothing will even be as good as Empire Strikes Back... but I can still be entertained.

yeh I just don't like the whole group writing, they have their policies, lucas was a visionary at least, he wanted HIS thing and gave a lot to see it happen, I watched a documentary on the SW franchise, you can see him growing old with it and getting a goose neck from all the ordering around most likely, he also layed the foundations of 3D in general with ILM at the spearfront practical effects, 3D, everything he really pushed the envelope, games, .. I'd recommend you to check Alejandro Jodorovski, there is a great movie on his DUNE, which we never saw, buuut we have aliens :| anyways that's it from me, there are a lot of fans of the original SW's I've seen many good fan flicks

I hope you give it your best, good luck :)

I agree about Lucas' special effects genius. He changed movies forever.

Jodorovski's Dune is one of my favorite documentaries ever. The HH Giger artwork for it is utterly amazing. And Salvador Dali was supposed to be in it...

I would not be surprised if they did it and I would be there on opening night as usual!

Thanks for putting this in the hopper! And I would buy tickets right now!

I am also totally in favor of such an episode! Was in Disneyland 15 days ago and the park was celebrating SW (with a special parade and fireworks). This is really amazing, especially for kids!

That sounds like a lot of fun! Glad you got to see that.

Although I'm sure he felt a disturbance in the force...someone should inform @lordvader. I wonder what he would think about his former master's being given a stand alone film.

My guess is that it will make him angry... because everything makes him angry. ;)

Awe, I like Jar Jar.

But, yeah, mas Obi!

A proud Jar Jar supporter. I actually respect that! ;)

I hope you don't mind me doing this, but I feel like I'm so often just posting chapters of my book, that some of my friends never get to enjoy a post of mine...this is something different, that you might get a kick out of: https://steemit.com/happywhiskeywednesday/@dreemit/happy-whiskey-wednesday-original-tag-challenge-with-the-future-featuring-teenage-band-obsessions

I think this could potentially be very good as long as George Looks doesn't try to worm his way into it! I know he isn't involved any more but I don't trust him!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48