Laughter is always the best medicine!

in #funny7 years ago

                                                

Image source

A while back, I saw this video about two kids that played with paint and painted themselves. I laughed uncontrollably.  I laughed until it felt like I wanted to cry.  I didn't laugh because of what these kids did, I laughed because of the dad.  This poor man had to keep a straight face while his kids made a total mess of the house and obviously themselves.  

It often happens, that we are in a situation where we are not supposed to laugh, but then something triggers laughter, and we can just not control ourselves. 

When I was a small girl we used to go to church every Sunday.  There were strict rules regarding churchgoing. One of the rules were:  Do not laugh in church.  This was much easier said than done, especially if you sat next to my mom.  Have you ever tried not to do something and suddenly, for no reason at all, the rules are thrown overboard, and you do exactly what you are not supposed to do?

People can laugh at the weirdest times and this is often at the expense of others.  Have you ever heard someone laughing and then you also start laughing?  According to science, laughter is contagious. 

 "It seems that it's absolutely true that 'laugh and the whole world laughs with you," said Sophie Scott, a neuro-scientist at the University College London. "We've known for some time that when we are talking to someone, we often mirror their behavior, copying the words they use and mimicking their gestures. Now we've shown that the same appears to apply to laughter, too- at least at the level of the brain." 

The fact that laughter is indeed contagious ,could play an enormous role in how we interact socially.  

Let us look at the following scenario:  

You are introduced to a new group of people.  You don't know anyone in this group and you might feel a bit uncomfortable.  One person tells a joke.  Everyone laughs and suddenly, everyone feels more comfortable.  The laughter response can make us feel more relaxed and can also make us feel more positive.  The brain responds automatically to laughter and sends a signal to the mouth to either smile or laugh. 

                                                  

Image source

Why do we laugh in serious situations when someone falls?

Laughter is an automatic reaction when we see something funny.  When someone falls, it is not necessarily funny but more of a tragic experience.  Perhaps this is exactly what happened to me in church.  You know you are not supposed to laugh, but then because you know you are not supposed to, you actually do quite the opposite.    

Ultimately laughter is good medicine and can drag you out of dark places.  If you are in a dark place, go and find a funny video to watch.   It will make you laugh, make you feel better and it will make you forget about what is troubling you if only for a short while.  

                                                                       

Image source

Here is the video of the two boys that made me laugh.  I hope this will make you laugh too.  

Video courtesy of youtube

Take note:

Yesterday I sorted out all my followers.  I unfollowed many people as they are completely dead followers and has not upvoted or posted in months. This means that I now have space to follow more people.  

If you are serious about Steemit and motivated through this platform, please follow me and I will follow back.  (Please just leave a message in the comments if you decide to follow me and I will follow back.)

 If you want to check all your dead followers, here is the link.  This useful tool was created by @mynameisbrian    

Sort:  

I just love the younger one - keeps looking at big brother to see what's the correct response!

Shame who can be angry at them if you look them in the eyes? Thanks for the comment.

What a funny little guy's. The dad is lying trough his teeth though, he ought to have no juice. Edit And a time out;)

Hi there! Thanks for the comment!

Laughter is always the best medicine! The title says it all! [actually, together with "be happy"] ;)

One of my favorite videos. No matter how many times I have watched it I still find myself laughing. I love your topics. Thank you again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94