Shoe Shots No. 15 ~ More Of This Business On Losing A Shoe: "The Double Whammy - How IS This Possible?" ~ Original Photography and Rather Long Story ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

P1270993-2 234kb sh fr.jpg

Has Anyone Seen My Resident Feet?



Errant Shoe In Review

You may remember: In Shoe Shots No. 13, the next-to-last installment of this enthralling series about footwear, we made a rather amazing discovery. An abandoned shoe on the bicycle path of the city in the rain. And we all puzzled at the why and wherefore of how a person might lose a single shoe, and still continue on with their day.

Many theories were put forth to explain this, with someone even suggesting a wacky idea about a Mod, Art Nouveau Superhero in neon pink, losing a shoe in a flash of high speed. I, of course, avoid any of this silliness and speculative gollywhomping during the writing of a serious post. But, while remaining as focused as possible about these shoe events, I am still amazed and confused by this discovery.

Regardless of how this shoe loss came about, someone DID lose a shoe.

~Here are those results in photo review ~

P1260774-1 258kb.jpg

Historic Shoe Shots No. 13. -"Have You Seen My Significant Other?"

Original Pink Shoe Post


Some Major Speculation On The Loss Of One's Shoe

You Do The Best You Can

Lose one shoe on a trip across town? That's understandable. These things happen. A 'single' falls off your foot, and you're not sure where you lost it? You do your very best to hobble back home. The whole walking part may be a bit lopsided in the vertical plane of things with one shoe on, one off, but you'd get by. I know as kids growing up, we often practiced this routine, with the added parental guidance that goes along with these types of activities.

We Just Figured She Needed More Exercise

I remember this as a fairly common occurrence as a short person. Slide off the bed after Mom got one PF Flyer shoved on and finally tied, then run around the house like Secretariat while she chased us around waving the other shoe. Quietly muttering to us one of her tried and true Mother-mantras: "Come here! I'm not done! I'm gonna brain you with this other one. Get back here!!"

We got pretty good at ignoring entire minutes of these discussions, all the while cruising the house with one shoe on, one off. Tight cornering on the sock-side over the shiny linoleum was a bit touchy, but we seemed to manage without much loss in velocity. Sooner or later she would catch up to us, and we eventually went about our normal, two-shoe day.

Good Theory Put Into Practice

Maybe the person who lost this single pink shoe practiced the same Mother/child escape-artist shoe thing when young, and then found themselves thrust into the adult version of this lopsided footwear dilemma, after this loss.

Who could have guessed being a goofy kid would pay off once the adult world descended. Similar practice applied here, only at a much slower, safer, kattywampus walk home in one-half of a shoe pair.

After all, this IS the out of doors, surrounded by the natural elements...with no smooth-sliding linoleum for efficient cornering, or a cushy couch to bounce off of for instant reverse-drive when needed.

We're talking the all natural, shoe-less jungle out there. A person down to one shoe has to keep a sharp eye out for errant tree sticks, glass, and very hard stones on the shoe-less side of things to complete the journey home. No problem. Just 'high-low' hobble on down the street like any normal person would with only one shoe attached.

Not a born hobbler? There's always the option of HOPPING all the way home on one foot. A completely under-rated form of exercise that is bound to become wildly popular, once it catches on in the gyms and fitness clubs across the land.

Whatever the ups and down's may be to losing a single shoe, the getting home part is still quite do-able, whether a born hobble-type, or an adept, one-legged hopper. Just go slow.



P1050887-1139kb takeabreakdiscobar.jpg



P1270993-2 234kb sh fr.jpg

That Was Weeks Ago, This Is Today

Jump ahead a few weeks, and into my normal travel about the city. Minding my own business, going about daily life, and what shows up in another bike lane over in the industrial part of town? Another case of abandoned footwear. But this is the incredible part, there were TWO shoes sitting in the bike lane this time. Not one lost shoe, but TWO! And they matched up, like they were meant to be together. An athletic shoe-version of my Grandparents.

If One Is Good, Two MUST Be Better

So now you've lost both shoes? Let's face it, this is not a 'two-must' sort of thing -- "If one is good, two must be better!" We're talking footwear, not Oreo's, micro brew 16's or immense bowls of Häagen-Dazs on a Saturday night. No, this borders on the ridiculous. You lose BOTH shoes at the same time? And you're not too sure where you lost them? You've got BIG problems getting home.

Maybe the person who lost both of these tennies also used to practice the same, one-shoe thing as we kids and the pink shoe person years ago. Though this is BOTH feet, and outside, in an industrial area. This requires some major adjustments over the in-house system of lost-shoe travel. We're talking a human 'two-footer', in stocking feet. Or worse -- if the person is all gone commando about footwear -- and doesn't even WEAR socks. Those folks are now finding their way home in nothing but their bare feet.

Socks or no socks, navigating the industrial minefield of glass, rocks, sticks and large shards of metal adds a whole new wrinkle to this hobble-home idea. And forget about that new age hopping-for-added-exercise thing.

Let's face it, hopscotching leg to leg and you land on a piece of discarded, torch-cut re bar on a bare or stocking'd foot, and you're not going anywhere without red lights and a loud siren. No, this promises to be an even slower, more painful trip back to the house. Good luck person missing BOTH of your tennie-runners today.

It's All About Perspective

I'm sure there are folks out there right about now spouting: "Maybe they just dropped those shoes from a bike or something, and all this getting home in their stocking feet business is nonsense." Well, I'm going to apply some Deep Science here, and de-bunk this idea.

I suppose a person COULD have dropped both of these shoes off the back of a bicycle as they rode by. But I find it highly un-likely one would lose BOTH shoes in the same place at the same time, when the shoes are not tied together.

Yes, yes, I suppose it's possible someone came along LATER and untied the shoes and tossed them farther apart, just for fun. But I don't really see why that would be all that fun. So I'm leaning away from this theory.

Also, the two shoes are actually quite far apart, and only LOOK close together, due to photo perspective. An amazing illusion, credited to the incredible photographic skills of whoever took these amazing photos.

If the shoes WERE dropped from a bike, which is less than a foot wide at the bike rack, one would expect the shoes to be closer together on the pavement. Look at the photo. They're a good four or five feet apart. No, I'm throwing this theory out with the proverbial bathwater.


The true-to-life, high degree of shoe-separation is evident in this next photo:

P1270986-1 233kb.jpg

"They're Really Far Apart "

-- Aerial View Of The Shoe Pair --

Epilogue

As for this lost pair of shoes, they were gone the next time I wandered by this area. I cannot say with any certainty what led to the original shoe loss, or how the person finally got home without them. But I CAN offer a few ideas about where the shoes disappeared to, though none of these can be fully proven to the Gold Standard of The World of The Sciences either.

My Theories -- Where The Shoes Went And How

(A) They 'Got It' -- Final Resolution Once They Got Home

Whether they initially realized they were missing something or not...once the owner of the lost shoes finally arrived back home after hobbling through the hard, industrial muck, they dug out another pair of shoes, and walked back to pick up their lost articles of footwear. All was well once more.

(B) They 'Got It' -- After They Hit A Few Bumps In The Road. Final Resolution While Still On The Move

(B) The owner wised up a bit after stepping onto the 17th sharp stone in their stocking feet. After exclaiming "something seems amiss here", they looked down, noted the problem, checked around to see if anyone was looking, and hobbled back to tie the shoes back onto where they belong. They then proceeded to walk home once more.

(C) Someone Else Made A Big Score

This happened while the owner was making their way home, whether they realized something was missing or not. Either way, someone ELSE, with similar sized feet happened by, and either picked the shoes up and went home, or took the time to put them on, threw their old shoes in a bush, then proceeded home. Thus leaving our original shoe owner completely shoe-less once they realized what was missing. (I looked around in the bushes in the area, and saw no shoes, so I'm counting this as a somewhat lame theory.)

(D) The Good Old Street Sweeper

The street sweeper came by before the owner OR shoe scofflaw could re-claim the shoes, and gobbled them up with those spinning, wire brush twirlers, and then took them to the dump. A sad thought, but as that one saying goes: "Not everything in life has a happy ending, including a lost shoe." Which doesn't really pertain here, as this was two shoes.

Whatever the final outcome was, I hope SOMETHING nice happened to these shoes. After all, they kept me quite busy for an afternoon, and have provided cranio-fodder for a Steemit post of rare quality.

I do try not to lose sleep over these life-events, but sometimes it is hard.

Thanks for stopping in once again and reading about Photo Phootwear.




-Poste Script-

A Grand Thank You To The Civic Leaders Of Our Fair City

P1270963-3 267 notsh.jpg

I Truly Appreciate The Extra Help In Finding Subjects For My Shoe Shots

I would like to give a shout out to our fair City Leaders, and the follow-up street maintenance and beautification crews for helping me out with my Shoe Shot project. Evidently they are now marking the errant shoe locations for me with a new paint system.

And yes, I realize the big arrow is part of the bike lane markings. I'm talking about the other, newer paint the city added for me on the side of the road.

You can see it, up in the top left corner of the photo. They've sprayed "Loc " in white paint, which no doubt is an abbreviation for "Location". This can only be a quick reference system to locate these types of lost street shoes, useful when I'm passing by in a car at speed.

Thank you, City Representatives, for thinking of me and my project. I appreciate your new-found attention and appreciation for the fine arts created by the citizens of our fair city.

NOTE: I picked up the black glove the crew lost while painting the "Loc " sign on the street, (visible in picture), and followed up in my civic duties once I got back home. I left a telephone message at the front-desk of the city, to report my find. They have not returned my call yet, but I'm quite certain they will. I'll keep the glove handy, so once they do call I can return it to the city worker that lost it...the rightful owner of the glove. (Unlike the shoes).

~ Finto ~





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Sort:  

Great post @ddschteinn, I always wondered where all those over-priced sneakers ultimately end up? I have a system for my old ones whereby they get relegated to more and more yucky uses the older they get, until they finally get the "boot" (haha) and end up in the trash.

And I suggest that you get in touch with the street maintenance and beautification crew and teach them how to spray-paint a nice Steemit logo next to each find 😜

Great idea, I also like to see the Steemit logo there! @cognoscere ;)

Thanks muchly, glad you enjoyed it. Those do look like spendy shoes, hopefully the street zamboni didn't eat them up. I always wondered what to do with my old running shoes. Like your idea of using them for beach shoes, etc, till they get the boot ( :
And I'll see what I can do about your idea of the Steemit logo, but they'd need blue paint, wonder if it's in the art-shoe location budget.

Excellent work dear friend @ ddschteinn although his deduction was not correct, the owner of the shoe played football using the shoe with bow and the glove was the goalkeeper who fell one when retiring to his house
Thank you very much dear friend for another great material
have a beautiful day

Good theory! I like your idea, too! @jlufer ;)

That does make sense. Do you have any phone numbers, so I can call to return them...though too late for the shoes ( :
Thanks for the look and great compliment. Love your photo additions to the posts too. Every time I see Kermit and his TV, I get quite a chuckle. Have a nice night.

You have a lot of insights in this post, that's for sure! I like the comparison of the shoes to the grandparents that were meant to be together. A pair of shoes does tend to look each other, like many older couples, lol. Someone told my parents they look alike, just the other day, for real! I enjoy all your shoe shots. It's an interesting series -- who knows what shoes you will find? : )

Thanks for the view and great comment. That's great about your parents as well. Think after many years together, people do start to look a bit alike. Which is a good thing. If nothing else, you can spot one another more easily in huge mall parking lots when you split up after a nighttime movie for a search, when you can't find where you parked the dumb car...

Or, when you ask someone to help you find your partner, misplaced in a large crowd, you can say, "They look just like me." That helps in the search. ; )

Great post! I enjoyed reading your story with big laugh and wide smile from the beginning till the end. I like every shots/topics that you raised up so I could not choose which one I like most.

I especially love your statements below;
"If one is good, two must be better"
"Not everything in life has happy ending, including a lost shoe."
Good comparison!

I have a lot of fun while following your creative idea!

I like your nice memory about your mother in your old days.

It's really great and I'm much surprised how you can make long story / many series from just only simple shoes that you found along your bicycle way.....

I absolutely agree with those theories about the shoes and the black glove as well. Hopefully, someone call you some day asking for their shoes and glove! ;)

Now, I think you are going to have a good sleep tonight after this excellent story! Great works! And thank you very much for sharing and this will certainly make me feel happy throughout the day! ;D

So glad you enjoyed it, always makes me happy to make you smile. They are fun to write as well. And I have MORE. Another one out tomorrow as part of this. Did you see @jlufer 's idea about the shoe and glove. Very funny. Football leftovers. I will sleep well, and it is about that time. Thanks for all the nice compliments, and have a nice day today.

With my great pleasure! For you, It's fun to write; for me, it's fun to read! :)

Yes, @jlufer's idea is very great! So, I can expect another fun story from you tomorrow! Can't wait until then! :)

Have a nice night, too! See you tomorrow! ;D

They are really very far apart!!

It all makes sense. Deep Science at work...

LOL dude that very funny and intersting ty!

Thank you. I appreciate the view and comment very much. Glad you enjoyed it.

It "Shoe" was an enjoyable article. It had a lot of "sole." Please don't "lace" into me for my horrible puns. I figured it would be a waste of energy to try to "sneak...er".... them by you... of course it's all "tongue" in cheek until we dare to walk in each others shoes... Rock on!

O : Thanks, great reply, love it. And thanks for the look and nice compliment. Stay tuned for more coming out about shoes soon...they seem to be endless.

Awesome post! I had a great time reading. You deserve more attention!

Thanks for the view and great comment/compliment. I really appreciate it Glad you enjoyed the newest shoes.

I sure did :)

Shoes will never be the same after this.

And I'm just getting started...

Your city peeps are super generous to take the time to paint shoe location markers for you. Wow!

I'm related to people that would drop a pair of shoes out of the window of a moving vehicle so that they might experience bullyriffic joy at you going through shoe bereavement caused discomfort.

Seriously though, amazing article. Whenever I come across some abandoned shoes I am going to consider your well thought out scientific abandoned shoe reasoning paradigm. Props to you sir!!!

Too bad your relatives don't live around these parts..I'd have endless shoe shots to photograph. Little do they know, I'd enjoy that...mooohaaaa, said with Frankenberry sort of thing. The shoe things are fun to look for. And there's MORE to come. Tomorrow is a followup. Stay tuned. Thanks for the nice compliment, I appreciate it, and will keep on keepin' on. Have a nice night, and forthcoming things on tap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81