You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Plea Against Dick Jokes (SFW) - Comedy Open Mic Round 2

in #funny6 years ago

to be clear, I feel the EXACT same way about well intentioned missionaries that knock on my door. This wasn't an argument for dick pics. Just an explanation of them. An explanation for why, when it is so obvious to so many people that dick pics are a terribly bad idea, do so many men continue to send dick pics.

Sort:  

I think it's more to do with men's own mind. That they then can imagine a woman looking at their dick and be happy about it.

But I like your missionary idea. Except that it tries to explain something that remains unimaginable to me.

Yes, I am attempting to provide an explanation for what that thing is in a man's mind that makes it so they imagine a woman looking at their dick and being happy about it.

Let me provide you an example from my real life. There is a really nice old woman who knocks on my door about once every two weeks and talks to me about Jesus. She belongs to some denomination of Christianity that believes in this sort of evangelical proselytization and I honestly cannot remember which one it is. She is not a Mormon. She is a very nice old lady.

Very nice old ladies do not usually send dick pics, but if you can imagine if one did, that your response might be similar to mine. Maybe you would have the balls (!) to tell her the first time, "Nice old lady, quit sending me dick pics. Quit knocking on my door. I do not think your penis is attractive. There is nothing about your God or religion that I find attractive." I should have said this the first time but she was such a nice old lady that I forgave her the dick pic. I even politely nodded while she showed it to me and gave a noncommittal response.

She now comes back every two weeks showing me her penis, because she is sure that if I just let her penis inside me one time, I will be a convert. She is so convinced in the glory of her Penis/God that she cannot imagine that to any one else this God could not be anything but the center of the universe.

Absolutely true. I have experienced the same. Normally I respond to these kind of situations by pushing philosophy into their face, "Did you know that Foucault would think this and this about this" or "This is what Heidegger called the ontological difference" and then they stop.

I guess I have a penis after all. Thanks.

You have a philosophical penis! OMG that is actually pretty amazing! That may be the best kind. I would still be careful about aggressive proselytization though. I would hope the philosopher's role is less to convert to a view that is held sacred, and more about consent to discuss, and disagree, and in fact to argue but respectfully - so more or less, I guess, just obtain consent before shoving your philosophical penis in someone's face and then be open to responding to their wants and concerns whilst making philosophical love.

The more I think about my analogy above the more I am liking it. It speaks to a religion of the self. These men are attempting to convert you to the religion they hold dear, the Religion of their Self. Their penis is a big part of that, their sex life (or lack thereof) is a big part of that, the objectification of sex partners as objects is part and parcel of the universe of the self - if you cannot see outside of the self, everything else can only be represented as an object in your universe with your own self projected on it.

True. I only shove this philosophical penis into peoples' faces when they first shove their own penis/God into mine. When there is no conversation to be had in the first place. It's the shock-effect for them that sometimes opens their eyes enough for some clarity to emerge.
It's the philosopher's role to help people go through the transition from one world to the other -- with world being a specific set of views limited.

And yes, it has everything to do with a philosophy of the Self. Which is why Levinas' response is so great... how ethics only starts with the acknowledgement of the other-as-other (not the other as a market for your dic pics, so to say). Unfortunately Levinas didn't go far enough, also using the Other as a virtual Self in the end, so that's why I like the work of Bracha Ettinger... anyway. this should not become a lecture. But I just wanted to say 'yes' to what you're saying.
That universe you're describing, it's what Foucault called the episteme... and figuring out how those universe work at any given moment at any place, is archaeology. Go read 'The Order of Things'. ;)

This may horrify you but I do not read books nor listen to music in my day to day life and have not for two decades. I am, in fact, an alien.

Aliens are also welcome in my world.
Dic pics are not.
And this does explain a lot. You being alien, I mean ;)

and if someday aliens came and we discovered they too had dicks and big female ones too and traded authentic hashed & time-dimensionally signed dic-pics like...like concern tickets....no wait like rare jewels 💎 ...no like crypto....yup that's it

what new philosophical rants would that inspire i wonder

is that it? ....man you guys were just beginning to make lurking fun again

Hey I thought I saw somebody lurking the shadows! I am glad somebody made it to the end of that comment thread, that was epic!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52