In which my voice of reason wins, and also loses.

in #funny6 years ago

Behold.


relapse1.jpg


Today I shall climb Mt. Elbert.

You can't see Mt. Elbert in this picture because I'm really bad at photography, and I totally missed the whole mountain even though it was basically right there in front of me.

But I'm really good at climbing mountains, so just trust me when I say Mt. Elbert is off to the right outside of the frame.

You really shouldn't be out here, man. Aren't you just recovering from the flu?

Yeah. So?

It could relapse, man! You really want to spend another 4 days cooped up in your apartment with a bad cough and cabin fever?

It won't relapse.


relapse2.jpg


Okay, there's Elbert. Got it that time. It's the one on the left between those two trees. I'll be up there in a jiffy.

Dude, don't go up there. You should be at home resting. Reading a book or something.


relapse3.jpg


I don't know how to read.

Besides, look at this awesome trench some skiers left for me to follow! This is gonna be a breeze.


relapse4.jpg


Well, that trench didn't last long. I guess I'll just have to posthole through this snow all the way up.

No, man. This is it. This is where you should stop and turn around.

But it's such a beautiful day!

It will be way too much work to break trail all the way up! You'll get sick again, man.

Nah. I'm gonna keep climbing. I'm sure the trail will open up.


relapse5.jpg


Wow. Sure wish the trail had opened up. That was way more work than I expected.

But hey, here we are at treeline. And it's only 4pm! I wonder if I should attempt to summit.

Don't even think about it, man!

Why not? It's so pretty. There probably isn't another human on this entire mountain right now.

No dude. Just no.

And based on all the snow getting whipped off the ridge up there, I'd say we're looking at 50mph sustained winds with 70mph gusts. It'll be so much fun!

No! Turn around now. You made it to treeline, that's good enough!


relapse6.jpg


Hmm.

Yeah, maybe you're right.

What?

I said you're right. I'm turning around. No sense overdoing it. Besides, if I keep climbing right now it'll be dark by the time I come down, and I might get lost and die out here.

Wait.

Wait wait WAIT.

You're going to do something responsible??

Yep.

What the FUCK, Brandt.

What do you mean, what the fuck?

This is totally not cool, man! Your adventures never end this way! You turn yourself right around and go climb that goddamn mountain even if it kills you!

Weren't you just telling me I should be careful about the flu relapsing and all that?

I'm just the voice of reason inside your head! It's part of my job description to try and talk some sense into you! If I don't at least do a decent job faking it, I don't get paid!

Oh. Well, you did a good job today. Totally had me fooled.

But I want to go up that mountain! You were supposed to ignore me like you always do! C'mon, man, let's go!

How was I supposed to know you wanted me to keep going?

I don't know! You never listen to me so I didn't think today would be any different!

Nah. I'm wiped out. Time to head back down.

Your flu won't relapse, I swear! You're right, it'll be fun! Let's go!

Maybe I'll get home at a reasonable hour so I can actually have a nice relaxing Sunday evening for once.

GodDAMMIT Brandt!!

You did a good job today, voice of reason.

Thank you.


🏔🏔🏔

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※


Hello from the high Rockies of Colorado. My name is Brandt, pleased to meet you. I’m a marketing copywriter. I live in a little ghost town called Leadville. If you like mountains, snow, jokes, running, hiking, breathing, not working, etc., then you and I have a lot in common. Thanks for stopping by, and have a lovely day!

Sort:  

Stupid brain always trying to say stuff...

I hate that.

One of these days it's really going to get me killed! Or … not. Who knows!

The voice of reason wins out, well done. Everything with moderation though, you wouldn't want to make a habit out of it...

Yeah, next time I will probably listen to some other voice in my head. It's really the only way to climb mountains.

Next time try a third voice. Two voices were fun, three might be even funnier.

Good suggestion. The other voices in my head deserve some attention. I'll see what I can do.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 12 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Congratz, your post has been featured in The Daily Spotlights of 13 February 2018!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71