A #funkyedits #treetuesday Blog

in #funkyedits6 years ago

This is a #funkyedits and #treetuesday post all tied up into one. I took this photo on our walk this past weekend. I was not pleased with the original but I love how funky it turned out when I edited it.

imageedit_1_4019277263.jpg

Edited on LunaPic

003.JPG

The original photo I took.

#funkyedits is by was initiated by @tattoodjay and @krazypoet. #treetuesday is by @old-guy-photos.

I recently had my yearly blood work done and the Dr. wanted to see me so I went back this past week. Both of my parents had type 2 diabetes, that develops in adulthood. I am on the borderline of becoming that myself now and the Dr. wanted to discuss it with me.

We talked about things I can change in my diet and with those changes my Dr. thinks I can avoid going full blown into having type 2 diabetes. We eat too many starchy foods, the biggest offender being potatoes. I also love cereal, pasta and rice.

I'm now re-configuring my diet. I personally love vegetables but the others in our household don't so its been easy for me to just eat what they eat. I went to the store and bought some steam in bag veggies that are also organic.

I have to admit that I have enjoyed having them back in my diet. I'm also looking into substituting rice with cauliflower in recipes. If any of you have anything you can share that might help, especially recipe/food wise, please share it in the comments.

Thankfully, I was already cutting back on carbs and I'm down 5 pounds. It's not much, but I'll take it as a start. :D

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap
debralee_blue.png

Sort:  

I love this edit - looks like a stained glass window....very nice!!!

Re diet for type2 diabetes....I was borderline at one time but not anymore, thank fully. I went to classes - but I basically know how to eat properly, I just wasnt at the time.

Low fat
Low sugar
High fibre

Fill your plate with 1/2 vegees, 1/4 with protein (lean), 1/4 with starch like pasta, rice, potato.

Snack on no more than 2 apples a day.

Eat low fat no sugar yogurts that are high in protein. Eat nuts, natural almond butter, whole grain bread once a day, mix vegees in your pasta or rice or quinoa.

No eating after 7pm unless your doctor says you must..

Rick Gallop put out a book called the GI Diet. It was suggested by the Diabetic clinic I went to. It's easy to follow and gives lots of helps and advise without being too detailed. I highly recommend it.

Thank you so much!! It's good to know I can still have a little starch. :D I've done pretty good but I need to work on more fiber on the days I don't eat pop corn. I air pop it and don't add butter. I snack on it the days I really want the bad stuff. lol

Wow, i really like it!

The trippy tree edit turned out great Deb. You are wise to keep diabetes in check with diet. I don’t have many tips for that but I try to cook from scratch if possible and not use too much sugar and salt.

Thanks. I can already tell the changes are good. I felt better today on less sleep than I usually get. :)

Love your way-out tree. Diet very important. Must eat with your brain, not your eyes.

Thank you and that is very true.

While I love potatoes I could eat brussels sprouts all day long. Are they good for you? Based on anything I enjoy eating never being I can only guess they can’t be. Hehe. I hope you are able to find some great foods that you and everyone else can enjoy eating that is better for you.

I can eat a few Brussels Sprouts but if I eat too many they become harder to get down. lol Thanks!

The digital art is wonderful, Debra. Love it. I have eaten low carb for a while now Although over the last year I have slipped some. For sure, eating low carb and grain/seed is the way to go. After awhile it will become its own reward:)

Thanks. I can already tell a difference just in how tired I was before.

So true ... that afternoon food hangover becomes a thing of the past:)

5 pounds is good. I wish you good luck and health.

I love the #funkyedit! It has a stained glass look that looks awesome!! Sorry to hear about the doctor issues but it sounds like you are making some good changes!! ((hugs))

Thanks Deb! I'm happy with making more changes, I've needed to for awhile now anyhow. :)

I love the photos! I am on the verge of being diagnosed hypoglycemic. I've had a few doctors say they think I am, but I don't think they officially diagnosed it. It is tough when you battle with sugar issues. I am a sugar addict, so I don't know what I would have to do if I had eliminate it from my diet. I do notice that I have had to slow down on eating as many sweets for the most part because too much makes me feel like I crash. I hope it is an easy transition for you to cut back on certain food.

Thanks, so far so good. While I love sweet stuff, starch filled foods is my biggest problem.

I made a stuffed bell pepper soup tonight and used cauliflower rice instead of real rice. It was pretty dang good.

I think moderation will be the key for you and me. :)

Yes, moderation is always best!

What a cool and fun edit this is awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63312.28
ETH 2601.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79