Fungi Friday – Red mushrooms with white spots

in #fungifriday6 years ago

I found some nice looking mushrooms at the campsite yesterday. Just perfect for Fungi Friday posting. I would not eat these they have hallucinogenic properties, if they are the ones that I think they are. There are a few different varieties that look similar to them though. These look a bit more orange than some of the similar looking mushrooms that I have seen.

redMush1.jpg
Top down view on three red mushrooms with white spots – click for viewing full screen

I think these might be fly agaric, or Amanita muscaria but I’m not completely sure. Unless your really sure about a mushroom you should never eat it. There are some varieties that look very close to each other. Here’s a post about how you can safely eat the mushroom:

Eating Santas Shroom

The mushrooms in the post look like they are a deeper red than the ones that I have photographed here. The above post goes into more detail on how to recognize them and boil them for eating. I’m not sure if I’m adventurous enough to try that though.

These mushrooms I photographed might be just an older specimen or they could be some other mushroom like Amanita pantherina. I avoid all Amanita mushrooms - some like the destroying angel are deadly poisonous.

You can really see the height of the white spots in this photo:

redMush2.jpg
Side view of red mushrooms with white spots – click for viewing full screen

Maybe this is why it is called the fly agaric, look at all the tiny flies all over it. I have also heard that the mushroom was used to kill houseflies by leaving bowls of the juice around for the flies to drown in.

redMush3.jpg
Close-up of red mushrooms with white spots showing insects – click for viewing full screen

Here’s an overview of where they were growing. There is a nice lake down through the trees but you can’t really see it. There was a lot of fog this morning but that went away towards the afternoon.

redMush4.jpg
Shows the campsite where they were growing; mushrooms are in right foreground area – click for viewing full screen

Here’s another nice view taken from a moving car while going over the bridge on the way to the campsite. This photo was altered by Google Photos.

redSunset.jpg
A red/orange sunset on the Deception Pass bridge – click for viewing full screen


Posting under #fungifriday by @ewkaw

Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright 10/19/2018 lightsplasher & litesplasher.

Sort:  

Don't eat those!!
Just take photos. They are super photogenic :)

Yup, I don't think they would be good eating but according to the article you can get the poisons out.

Great photos, my friend, and you are right, these mushrooms are called amanita and they are very poisonous. Also, the sunset looks just magical! Thank you @lightsplasher

You showed us beautiful photos @lightsplasher and amazing mushrooms, I can’t say for sure, but probably this is an Amanita!

Sounds like most people think they are Amanita. They do photograph well.

Your mushrooms have very nice color, unlike most that are shades of gray and white. Nice find.... as mushrooms go. :)

I've had an interest in mushrooms for some time - it is fun to see some different looking ones.

red mushroom is very beautiful,really great photography my friend,i like your works friend,@lightsplasher

Thank you. It is fun to see some red color like that in the forest.

Wow Excellent photography . it is really look mudroom. thanks for sharing
Thanks @lightsplasher
Have a great day

I know a few people who've tried it, but mostly they had a pretty bad time. I'll stick to psilocybin mushrooms if I ever want a trip lol

Supposedly baking them under a broiler cooks out the toxins. Or drinking the water they are boiled in. (But don't quote me on that, it's just hearsay and I'm not really an expert on such things, lol)

I think these might be fly agaric, or Amanita muscaria but I’m not completely sure.

They are Amanita muscaria, and commonly called Fly agaric. "Amanita muscaria" is the scientific name. You can hardly mix them up with any other mushroom. ;)

I wouldn't eat it though.

Thanks, yes I'm not planning on trying it but it is interesting that they can be prepared in a way to remove the toxins.

There are only a couple of fungi that I can identify to eat and that is the rat's ear mushroom/fungi and the oyster mushroom. @lightsplasher
Lovely lake out there, you should visit it always.

I like oyster mushrooms a lot. They are in the store frequently around here. Sometimes you can find them growing on logs too. I've never tried any that I found in the woods though, I'm a bit of a chicken when it comes to identifying the wild mushrooms.

The area is one of my favorite places for camping. I like to head up towards the mountains sometimes too.

Wow... Nice post @lightsplasher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94