Fun Friday by A Panama Mama - Tierras Altas, Panama Flower Festival and Parade

in #funfriday7 years ago (edited)

flwoer2.jpg

This is my first Fun Friday post and I’m excited to share with you my plan for Fridays. Each week I would like to tell you about something fun, so basically anything goes! Some weeks I will post about Panama, what my crazy family is up to, favorite family games, our move, or just about anything.

This weekend in our little town, we will get to experience our first flower parade. This is their third time to host it here and people come from all over for three days of fun and flowers. From the videos I’ve seen, it looks like they have floats covered in flowers…think Rose Parade on a much smaller scale!

Anywhere we go here, we really stand out. “Yes, we have 5 kids. Yes, they are all mine. No, there are no twins.” This weekend will be no exception, but we still hope to have a good time with other people in the town.

Here is the flyer about the events:

20800275_10212007709419464_1041138014243757446_n.jpg

I love that we get to experience a new culture here in Panama with our kids. They don’t really speak any Spanish, but they really enjoy getting to see new things like parades and have candy thrown at them. What kid doesn’t love that? Hopefully it will be a fun time and we don’t get tons of rain! Check back next week for pictures from the event!

A short (1 minute) video showing how it went last year:


<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Fun Friday will be brought to you here every Friday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for fun posts about our lives.
If you have something you’d like to hear about, feel free to let me know in the comments.
Thanks for visiting and I hope you have a FUN day!

Sort:  

The flowers are so beautiful, there are so many creative designs. Would love to go there and see the parade in person. By the way, I am following you.

Love this! I'll take any info and posts about your local area. This is great. We have market friday here I think, or something like that. I'm sure you have entries.

Will the kids learn Spanish there at all? It seems like a good opportunity for them.

Good thoughts. We actually have 2 Friday markets here that I plan to post about. And just life in general. We hope the kids will learn Spanish (and my husband). It is a great opportunity but you wouldn't believe the number of people we meet who have lived here 5, 9, 14 years and don't speak good Spanish. It is crazy.

Look like an interesting festival to visit. Also, you are having quality pictures, would like to see more. 📸 😊

I know it would be a little hard with 5 kids but if you are into hiking and seeing nature up close, take the trip to the top of Volcan Baru from the Boquete side. It takes 6 - 7 hours to get to the top (well worth the effort) and you can take a taxi back down the mountain ( to David or Boquete). Im jealous, thats my favorite place to be in Panama...

Yes that is on my husband's list of things he'd like to do. You see, the kids are between 8 and 2. Three of them are 5 and under. ;) I do not plan to do this hike any time soon with all/any of the kids. But maybe something we can do in the future!! Thanks for the suggestion!

Awesome post! It was a festival I hadn't heard of before. Looks really exuberant and fun. Hope you all and the kids had a good time :)

We did and took lots of pics which I plan to post on Friday, so make sure you check back. :)

This looks like amazing fun. I'll keep my fingers crossed and maybe it won't rain on your parade!

I went a couple years ago. As soon as the first band came down the street it started to pour! It was still beautiful and fun though.

The show must go on! I'm figuring they kept going? Yikes. I do not want to do that. My husband is in David today. They said that it will take him a few hours to get from Bugaba up to Volcan today. Yikes. It's raining now, so maybe that is keeping the traffic down...or maybe they are all used to it and I'm the weenie gringa sitting inside in a nice, dry house. ;)

Oh yes, the show goes on rain or shine. I hope your husband made it home without too much trouble, and nobody got too wet

It was pouring at points yesterday. We got home before the major rains started. It was good fun though!

That does look like fun! It makes our Derbyshire 'Well Dressings' look a bit lame ;o)

Congratulation @apanamamama
This post got 100% upvote from @xpilar and becomes Re-steemed, thanks to @fitinfun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57