You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fun Facts #2 Coffee!

in #funfacts7 years ago

The Spanish school that I went to in Guatemala grew a little bit of coffee.

20151007_114911_HDR.jpg

The school's coffee was mostly for decoration.

For production, the villagers would lay claim to land on the volcano and take care of the coffee plants. They have a big problem with thieves going up and stealing other people's coffee harvest. My teacher's husband would have to sleep on the volcano to protect his work.

Sort:  

Dang! That's crazy.
Did you happen to try the fruit. I'm really curious if that is just thrown away or if there is a use for it.

I didn't try the fruit.

I think the fruit just gets thrown away. I'm not sure if they actually have to peel the beans, or if it falls off during the drying and roasting processes. This link has a little more information.

What part of Guatemala? I lived in Guate for 2 years.

I was in San Pedro La Laguna for about 3 months.

Awesome. Is that the San Pedro on Atlitlan? That's one of my favorite spots. My friend Steve owns a house over there.

Yeah, that's the place. I really enjoyed my time there. I wrote a post about it last month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66