Irish Music for All!

in #fundraiser6 years ago (edited)

20180324_005111.jpg

For years and years I wanted to learn how to play Irish music. I was able to teach myself some tunes, and lucky enough to come across some good teachers here and there. However, it wasn't until I was able to join BRIMS, the Blue Ridge Irish Music School, that my learning really took off. This amazing school is a nonprofit that seeks to teach traditional Irish music and dance and to create a community of musicians, dancers, and Irish music lovers. From being a part of BRIMS I have learned how to dance jig steps and reel steps, I've learned dozens of songs from amazing singers, and expanded my tune repertoire exponentially.

Some of you may know that I'm doing an initiative in March to raise money. All of the payouts from every post I share in March will be donated to BRIMS (read about it in my earlier post).


If you care for a sample of what Trad (the performing arm of BRIMS) sounds like, then tune in to the live stream of a local radio station tomorrow at 10:30am EST (2:30pm UTC). We are promoting our annual fundraiser event which is tomorrow evening.

Listen Here - Live Stream!

Screen Shot 2018-03-11 at 8.40.55 PM.png

This is a fundraiser for a great non-profit, so please spare an upvote if you have one, and should you be blessed with an abundance of FIAT and be moved to do so, you can donate directly to the school here.

A special thanks to @clayboyn who has donated 33 SBD to this cause! (I promised to sing a song in return, so keep an eye out for that recording coming soon...)

(You too can be like @clayboyn! If you have SBD to spare, then feel free to share!)

Go raibh maith agat (that's thank you in Irish)!

All payouts from this post and all of my March posts will be donated to the Blue Ridge Irish Music School
Sort:  

Nice to see there are some other Irish musicians on this site ! I'm based in Dublin Ireland and I play the tin whistle :)

Hey @kevinmeehanmusic! Welcome to Steemit! Have you discovered all the communities and things yet? There's a huge music community here, but not too much Irish stuff...yet!! Would be fun to maybe do some collaboration sometime, as I've started working on some of that kind of thing lately myself. I'm in Virginia, in the states, but I go to Ireland as often as I can. Do you also sing? I need to go check out your blog...

I love Ireland and Irish music.
I’ve toured my own music over in Ireland many times. They love music and are very supportive of musicians that go there to tour.
Their trad nights are just wonderful! Like stepping back in time!
I learnt a lot about blending storytelling into music over there (something I wrote about in my Lucky Man Story post).
Which Irish instrument are you learning?
I love the bodrhain and the Irish bazouki.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86