Anhedonia

in #fundition-pgpp9zw5z6 years ago (edited)


image credit

I thought about whether I wanted to write about my mental health journey here in the same place as my portfolio. I settled on doing this because I remembered, I get to be picky about who I work with. It's just as important to repel potential clients as it is to attract them. If someone doesn't want to work with me because I am open about my mental health journey, they probably wouldn't be a great fit for me anyway.

an·he·do·ni·a
noun PSYCHIATRY
inability to feel pleasure.
Anhedonia is a word I recently learned. How have I gone so far in life not knowing a word that so perfectly described a chronic condition of mine? It was actually this comic that prompted me to look up the meaning.

https://twitter.com/biancaxunise
source: https://twitter.com/biancaxunise/status/1006981276870430720

I'm feeling OK


I have to remind myself that I don't have to identify with depression. It's something I'll always need to be aware of and manage but I don't live in a state of depression. It's just like the comic, it comes and goes. Today I'm okay. I'm actually more than okay and I'm dealing with some tough circumstances. I felt real shame today when I borrowed money from my kids to buy food. When my depression is at its worst and untreated, days like today would break me.

20180516_002249_0001.png


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://steemfunds.com/nikema/2018/06/17/anhedonia/

Sort:  

Beautiful post Thank you for sharing your story with us. (^_^)

You're welcome. I always appreciate when people are open and authentic. I make a conscious effort to share my truth.

Congratulations @nikema: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

So very grateful when others who dance with depression speak up. That's a new word for me too, but I like it, and I really like the comic. I recently asked people on fb to comment on what helps them shift out of their depression. I wanted to put together a tool kit of sorts. Of course different things work for different people, but it's good to have options. One of the women said it really helped her to remember that depression wasn't who she was but rather a temporary condition. Identifying ourselves as depressed people may not be helpful. So, I found it interesting you also mentioned to not identify yourself with your depression. I think it must be helpful.
Also, I know about borrowing from kids to eat. It sucks, and I feel you. Hope today was a good day too.

Thanks for this. ❤️ Today was a better day and I’m hopeful that things are turning around.

I'm glad to hear that. I feel hopeful too, and that is definitely a good first step.

Thank you for sharing.

When people like you open up a out their conditions. People like me get to understand themselves better.

I’m thankful for your honesty.

Thank you for supporting and commenting. Sometimes it can feel like I’m shouting into the void. It’s nice to know I’m not just talking to myself 😀.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57