You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSTEM & Utopian.io Meetup in Italy - a window on Florence Nightingale, aka the Lady with the Lamp

Nightingale was the first woman member of the Royal Statistical Society, London.

As you will be in Florence, I hope you will visit the History of Science Museum there ;-) renamed Museo Galileo:
https://www.museogalileo.it/en/

Sort:  

We are actually planning to visit another museum, as shown here, but some of us will have extra time to go there ^^

I see the Natural History Museum; the History of Science one I mentioned is a short walk from the Uffizi gallery. (edited as misread your comment!) Has some important historical experiments from Galileo and Volta. Many years since I visited, and was an old-style mess of a museum, now more didactic and tidy.

Anyway, enjoy the meet-up. Last time I gave a lecture in Italy was in Bologna.... oh... some years ago!!

Am trying to get my school to build Galileo's ramp experiment to show that acceleration is constant... but can't find the space! Is also very funny (for a physicist) that the designers of the new museum laid out the bells on the ramp an equal distance apart - I think enough complained about this that they are now in their correct alignment.

I edited my comment and our answers crossed each other. I was in Florence last week in fact, lecturing at Monash University in Prato (the town next by). This is really a great city and there are so many things to do... Let's see what we will concretely manage to do. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62644.80
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62