HORSES AND HATS

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

Hot Springs, a historical city in Arkansas is where Oaklawn horse racing occurs. I've been to the horse races a few times in the past, but never on Derby Day. This year, I was fortunate enough to be invited to go with family.

The Arkansas Derby, first held in 1936, is the ending day for the season. This is the last chance for a horse to win it's way into the Kentucky Derby and is held 3 weeks beforehand.

Never having gone to Derby Day, I was not aware of what to expect, but soon found out. Thousands of people gather at Oaklawn Park for all the excitement, so getting there is part of the fun! Well, maybe not for the driver, but I wasn't driving!

Several ways are available for watching the races. Rows of outside bleachers, where one can breathe the fresh air, line the front building. Tents are also in the arena's middle section. I'm not sure, if a fee is charged for occupying them or not.


Source

Box seats are available for renting, but they are hard to come by because most are rented by long time enthusiasts. I'm told one needs to be on a waiting list for some time.

Members of the Jockey Club enjoy a restaurant/lounge like atmosphere. TV screens are at each table/sitting area and located all over the interior. An extravagant buffet is set up, wandering musicians for entertainment, servers for every table, and elaborate bars for everyone's pleasure. Even the restrooms are luxurious. As you may guess, this does not come free. A membership every year is required, but if affordable, can be well worth it.

The VIP area is also an option, but I have no idea what that is like. Designated mainly for the owners, it appears to be an exclusive area. I'm sure if you own a horse that's racing, you would have access to this area. Or maybe, you can buy your way in.

Regardless, of where the observations are done on Derby Day, most people like to dress up in their finest, sporting hats reminiscent of days gone by. Men and women both love "styling" and "showing off" hats!

I saw hats of every size, color and description from the most unique to the most conservative. Below are some pictures for your viewing pleasure.

The culmination of the day came when Magnum Moon won the Derby race and now is a perfect four for four. His impressive victory in Saturday's $1 million race has him holding the top position on the Kentucky Derby leaderboard!
Unfortunately, being the rebel that I am, I placed a bet on a long shot, rather than on the favored horse! Well, better luck next time. If you happen to be at the Kentucky Derby, be sure to bet on Magnum Moon!!


Source

Remember,

Keep on the Sunnyside!

Photo. #1 Source
Photos # 3, 4. Property of the author
Photos #5,6,7. Source

Sort:  

Oh goodness. So much I could say but don't want to be long winded.

You must have had a wonderful time. So pretty and formal. And the hats! Wow.

I have been to many sulky races. Our Uncle owned /raced several years. I recall many fun times. With exception of actually being allergic to horses, it was really fun. I was young and it was so exciting to drive 60 miles to Columbus, be up late. Nobody else I knew went to the races. It semed so adult. My sister and I got to pick horses and Dad or Grandpa would place our $2 bet. Funny now.

Hope you are making plans for a Derby Day excursion this year.

Yes, it was a lot of fun! I just went to the Arkansas Derby, don't think I'm gonna make it to the Kentucky Derby although I'd like to at some point! Sounds like you had a good time going also! Thanks for reading and posting!

Now that sounds like a great time right there! Saturday at the race track, sporting a new hat! I bet that was fun! Too bad you lost your bet, I hope you didn't wager too much?

CARRY ON!

Oh well..........easy come.......easy go! Besides, ya can't take it with ya!Thanks for reading and commenting!

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @sunnieside!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Wonderful I must say

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91