Sort:  

Wash your hands afterward. It really is that simple.

A little like handling turtles, which carry salmonella: if you wash your hands after handling them, you won't get it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes sense @crescendoofpeace I just read that most of us are immune to it... but armadillos do carry the disease that causes Hansen's disease (aka Leprosy). Human to human transmission of the disease is not quite understood by science yet, so it might not be as simple as washing one's hands though.

I was speaking specifically to handling armadillos, as I have a number of friends in wildlife rehabilitation, and have some experience in it myself.

As you say, most humans are immune, and most of it comes down to keeping your immune system healthy.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are on target here. Wash up. Good advice for anyone, after handling any wild animal. Just looked it up in Merk Manuals (sorry, I'm a compulsive researcher), if you want some more definitive information.

I can relate, I'm a compulsive researcher myself. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I guess for starters they shouldn't be eaten.

A lot of people do eat them in some areas of the world.... we don't

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89