Ask the Car Guy @socky June 7

in #fun6 years ago

What is your car trouble?

I want to give back to Steemit community and provide some help on something that I know very well. Cars and how to fix them.

Engine.jpg

Please ask me about your car issue. Won't go into gear. Strange sounds. Don't know if you should take your car in to the shop. Just ask.

Grinds gears.png

Send me the make, model, and year along with car symptoms.

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/steemit-rewards-breakdown-a-simplified-explanation-with-illustrations

Sort:  

hello bro ,

i have a question for you , I have a fiat ducato van . This week I went to technical inspection and they gave me a red card .
The problem is the front triangles where the wheels are attached to, the rubbers are tyred out and so I have to change them .

I can do a lot of things myself but this one I wanted to have your opinion on the matter. I don't have a hydraulic lift but I do have adjustable jack supports , so I wanted to ask if you think that I can change both triangles on the road without using a hydraulic lift ?
its just that I want to be sure before starting a job.

And after changing the triangles does the car needs to have the geometric been looked at? Or does this not change something at the geometry of the car .

thanx in advance for your answer or opinion on the matter greets Benjamin

If I read this correctly, the triangles you refer to are the suspension arms. It can be done with a jack if you can jack the tire off the ground. I prefer to use jack stands or extra blocks of wood underneath the vehicle in case the jack fails. There have been too many people that have been killed or seriously hurt by not using extra support while working under a car.

Make sure you have all the tools ready. you will most likely need a ball joint remover tool to separate the joints. Tools are going to be your biggest challenge. Suspensions often have special tools that are needed that are not common.

The alignment (geometry) will need to be checked after the work is performed. You can get the steering set close and you can actually drive to the shop to get the alignment done as long as the law allows it. I wouldn't drive for long period of time as the tires can wear with misalignment.

thanks for your reply , I would use my jack stands anyhow . Like you said it's to dangerous otherwise .
another question that I have, I think I remember that , when placing the new suspension arm is it correct that I have to wait before tightening the bolt and nut of the turning point of the arm, and to tighten the bolt and nut when the car is back lowered to the ground so that the suspension arm is in it's normal position, otherwise I force the rubber ? right ? thanx for the help greets

Yes, That is correct. If a bushing is clamped in place by the bolt, you will want to have the car on the ground when you go to fully tighten the bolt. This will allow the rubber to be in a relaxed state when the vehicle has weight on the suspension and make the rubber last longer.

thank you , for the second opinion and your contribution to the community mate

Any opinion on the recent Tesla accident in which the car suddenly speeded before crashing?

not the first one neither , not so long ago a Tesla had a frontal impact against a parked truck at high speed , the explanation was that the car did not respond as asked ... strange :)

I was looking at a Tesla the other day. Too expensive for my pocket. I have to go read about the Tesla accident and get back to you.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67312.14
ETH 2623.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69