Some funny🤣 Portuguese - English stuff...

in #fun5 years ago (edited)

I have decided to make a post about some fun stuff I still carry or say whenever I need to have fun with people that do not understand my language...

341c64rhho.png
(original picture modified)

Everyone does it somehow... even if only in your thinking... and that's normal, because your brain is programmed to work like that.

What you mean about funny?

Well, sometimes you may write these down (in your own native language) in a post of a social network or even say it out loud somewhere...

Then someone will try the obvious if they don't understand...

Translate it!

The problem here is that some translators don't understand how to distinguish a metaphor, joke or naive prop from a real strict comment. Let's go for some examples... with context... 😅

(to avoid racism or sexism, please consider all examples as me being the personality, hence a Portuguese boy)

When you see a girl very attractive?!

This is probably a kind of "childish" comment... but I am sure some will identify with. It's basically when you see someone that has everything on it's place, except their smile... Click on the image to get the feeling! 🤣

2raf2296fp.png

The right translation here would be something like... "If it wasn't for that horrible smile, I would make lots of love with you!"

But instead... google does not understand... and translates to something you might think as "boobs"!? LOL

When you could not care more...

This one is when you are just sick of it... and just say you are!

o93o8vqjnm.png

The good translation should be, "I could not care less for this...". Instead it looks like the opposite! LOL That I am somehow having a hard time with it...

When you are hungry...

When you say that you would "eat something"... translated looks like you have already ate something... LOL

v2gpw4y3vb.png

This one is my own (in Portuguese)

This is something I would say when I just want to express something like... "there you go, eat that stuff!" - I believe this is the most well known approximation... but portuguese is tricky here... it can have several other meanings...

8bhgi4d64q.png

When you say to someone, "now you are on your own"

This is a typical comment from the "north" of Portugal I would say... provided by @aleister

qwotmyq2s0.png

It can also mean... "Good luck with all the crap that's coming!"...

When someone is getting smart..ish...

We say this one mostly as a "warning" sign. Like, "don't get too cocky mate, otherwise"... but again, the translation is absurdly hilarious. In some sense it kind of translates from the intention, but I am unsure if all English people would understand. Provided by @pardinus

image.png

There are tons of these...

I just find myself fortunate to be able to have fun with these =) I hope this would bring some sparkly creativity and motivation to some of you. Besides having some fun remembering, this was part of my intend.

If you are Portuguese (or understand) and you wish to try one, let me know. If it's completely wrong, then I am seriously going to put it up. This is a nice way to test Google AI translation, which is learning from your input also. Especially when you translate the other way around as form of validation... that most of the times, don't go very well.

This post is full of #Hope, trying to support the @project.hope!

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
eSteem.app | ‍GitHub | YouTube
Telegram | Discord

Posted with eSteem

by @forykw

Sort:  

Ahahahahahaha! Traduzir expressões portuguesas é um mimo. Agora, a melhor tradução deve ser a de "estás armado em carapau de corrida! " 😂😂😂

Obrigado. Adicionei a tua também.

Ahahah nice! Melhor que racing horse mackerel... só facestick of race! 😂😂😂😂😂

🤣 🤣 🤣

Dear @forykw

Did I ever tell you that my wife is partly portuguese? :) I'm guessing some of your ancestors came all the way to Malaysia and made a babies and they made another basies. And I'm married to one of them :)

Smooth read. Upvote on the way :) Indeed direct translations can be sometimes funny, sometimes just awful. I remember once feeling gently insulted simply because someone used translator and we experiences some miscommunication - resulting with wrong translation which I found a bit offensive. Lol.

ps. Check out my latest post if you have a chance. I would appreciate your feedback.

Have a great weekend ahead buddy
Yours, Piotr

You a lucky guy... that's all I would say.

And yes... lot's of words actually have the same meaning ans sound in other cultures like, Vietnamese, Japanese, etc... recently I saw a post somewhere that showed me this. I think it was on twitter. Simply amazing.

Portuguese had an huge empire by 1500-1600's... And recently I have found that New Zealand first Maori natives came around 1600's... which is sort of cumulative with the fact that the Portuguese/Spanish, where colonizing and exploring the world. Sharing and unveiling new technologies that others started to replicate.

I hated History when I was at school... now I love it. KARMA?

Indeed @forykw. I do consider myself a very lucky guy.

Check out this picture:

I hated History when I was at school... now I love it. KARMA?

Now you love history? You're one hell of an interesting guy :)

Muito bom 😂😂😂😂😂 o google transplante é uma pérola. Com certeza a AI vai fazer milagres nesta área

Quando ouves a tradução ainda é mais giro (as vezes)...

Se tiveres alguma pra colocar, diz... que eu edito o post.

Agora é um ver se te avias... e a tradução: Now is a see if you get 😂😂😂 mas em boa verdade tb não sei como traduzir esta 😁

Basicamente... um sinónimo de... "Boa sorte... prá merda que vem lá...", não?

Ya do tipo, desenrasca-te ou vê se te desenrascas... quem usava esta era a minha avó 😁

@forykw, It's true that no tools can convey our emotions effectively for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

They will get better... I have seen google learning with my translation by recording what I amend.

Hi, @forykw!

You just got a 3.92% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Se o Google fosse tuga estava sempre em baixo(a) 😂

This post had received 39.78% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Our website has lots of news and tutorials you can visit right now at www.steemitportugal.com

Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @forykw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.631 which ranks you at #6108 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 118 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Obrigado por postar! Esse comentário é o novo bot que dará upvote 100% para todos os posts que usam a tag #pt.

Does not sound very right... but just for fun =)

Thanks for posting! This comment is the new bot that will give 100% upvote to all posts using the #pt tag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83