ADSactly Fun - The Internet is broken??

in #fun6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-707149233.jpg

I was walking along the road browsing the web on my phone trying not to bump into people. Occasionally I could hear a tut and see a disapproving shake of the head at my seeming internet addiction. Ah, but what did they know? It's the 21st century after all!

The journey home usually took about 30 minutes. I was typing out a message to my wife about ten minutes into my walk when a notification popped up.

Internet is not available.

No+internet.gif

What? What in the blazes? I must be in a dead spot. I walked on a bit further, hmm, still no internet. This was very odd. There wasn't even a weak signal.

I raised my phone up above my head to see if I could get a better reception.

Nothing.

I waved it about a bit.

Still nothing.

Gaar, what was going on? Was the Internet broken? I looked around for obvious signs. There was nothing too obvious. No aeroplanes falling out of the sky, no burst water mains or traffic pile-ups. That was odd? If the internet really was broken that's what you always saw in the movies. Had I been sold a pup?

squeakrs_20180122184325369_20180123202608180_20180124191235935_20180124221155001.jpg

I switched my phone off then on. That was always a winner. However, when the phone rebooted it still showed the same symbol in the notifications bar. This was a disaster. I had a sudden and aching need to have access to the internet. What if right now some wildly important message had just been emailed to me, or sent by WhatsApp? What if the sky was falling down? Surely someone would have to go and tell the King?

chickencgfdd_20180124221644205.jpg

I saw a library to my left. Phew. I quickly dived in, they were bound to have wifi. I could at least reassure myself that there were no immediate emergencies going on in the world that I would have to deal with. Not that I am some kind of superhero you understand. No no, I am just a normal bloke although I do have a pair of Superman pants. I shall venture no further with that story though.

All was quiet in the library. I ran over to the reception desk.

Do you have the internet?

I asked somewhat frantically.

The lady behind the desk sniggered.

We have wifi if that is what you are asking?

Yes, please. Can I have the password?

Are you a member?

I scoffed. A member of the library? What was this, the eighties? Were people still members of libraries?

IMG-PHOTO-ART-709394918.jpg

Eh no, afraid not. I just need the internets.

She bent over and pulled a big looking application form out from under the desk.

Please return this with evidence of your address and we will process your application.

I kinda need the internet just now, I don't have evidence of my address on me.

The kind lady smirked.

Then no internets for you young man.

We faced each other over the counter. I tried to break her will by the sheer force of my gaze but it didn't seem to work. Dammit!

I skulked away huffily like a cat that has mistakenly eaten some Tofu-rkey.

20160911_123944-picsay_20180124223127577.jpg

Eventually, I got home. I was in a high state of anxiety that I had been without the internet for a mammoth 20 odd minutes. Was this how people felt in the 20th century? How did they cope? I mean, you can't sing songs around a piano all the time, can you?

As I entered the house my phone vibrated with the familiar buzz of notifications flooding in. That was a relief, at least the whole internet wasn't broken and it seemed to only be my network provider.

I whipped my phone out and checked the message. Was it my mum? My wife? Someone from the future with dire advice about next week?

It was an email.

Dear Sir, You could be eligible for 600,000 dollars! Don't miss out, CLICK HERE

AAAARRRRRRGH!!

------------------------------------

So tell me. How do you cope when your access to the internet goes down? Are you bothered? Are you like me, your stomach aches as if you have eaten a raw otter? Is it like living in black and white?

Let us know in the comments!

All pictures created by me. Yep, even the GIF.

Authored by: @meesterboom

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

**Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adsactly-witness/adsactly-steemit-witness-proposal
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Well done expression
You must try this adventure with your will ..
Fun recklessness I guess

I loved the chicken little reference on the post! THE SKY IS FALLING!

I'm from Venezuela and i have learned to cope with lack of internet access with sheer willpower, i will suddenly be browsing the internet, steemit or youtube and suddenly puff... The dreaded chrome t-rex appears, sometimes it goes away for a few minutes sometimes for a few hours... sometimes for a few days...

Last December was terrible for me, i had no internet access from December 6th to December 26th, i only had some megabytes thanks to my phone, but it was terrible, my main source of internet was down for 20 days and worse of all, we had to bribe the government workers to fix it... so yeah, its hard down here.

I am so glad you got it, I love that story!

Yeah that sounds rough. I have spoken to people from Venezuela who have said similar things. I feel your pain and hope it improves

Your answer made me really understand how good I have it with internet access. I get furious when I have to walk from the back of my house to the front in order to be closer to the modem so I can watch that funny kitten video. I now feel very spoiled! Thanks so much for the perspective <3

Hola,sorry to here that, hope things are better now

Internet is LIFE

Internet is everything

I feel like that sometimes. I tried not to be a victim of addiction but I guess its already in my genes. I'm hooked up online for many years now. But I try to moderate sometimes by going outside and walk. Its been a struggle and a journey how we get rid of this online addiction. Its hard to maintain the balance in our lives.
I sometimes get irritated immediately when the internet goes bad even in just a second.

I guess we have to try some experiments in ourselves. Offline for a day, then try offline for a week, then for a month and then for a year. And then maybe for life, because someday we will reach that time when we no longer be online, you know what I mean.

Anyways, I love the post pretty much!
Thank you! And more power @meesterboom!

I do know what you mean! I could present a counter argument. If we will all ultimately be offline then why shouldn't we spend as much time online as possible.
. Hehe, don't worry, I don't really believe that. It is all about balance in the end. Although I hope I live to see the day we have chips implanted in it head with access to the internet ;0)

Chip implantation in our heads will happen maybe a century from now lol

I had better start eating more greens ;0)

Yep, eat fruits and vegetables. Don't eat processed or manufactured foods. Lol!

This is a fun story, sometimes the need for Internet is so great that it can cause panic :) I liked the story

Once I had a tense situation at a time when access to the Internet was lost. I was on a difficult exam and accurately photographed the task. I ruled this photo to my friend, who had to solve it and send the decision back to me. For the transfer, I used viber (it may not be familiar to you, but it's popular here, analog WhatsApp ). The exam was intense and so I was worried. Phones were banned, it added complexity to the whole operation :)
After 10 minutes, I began to worry more, because the message from a friend did not come. I took out a phone to check it and found out that I had lost access to the Internet. It surprised me, how ?!
At the right time, the Internet just disappeared. I began to reboot my phone but this did not bring results. Frankly, it was exciting.
The time of the exam expired and decided to break free and solve the problem himself. It turned out "not very good".
But the miracle happened on the last minutes of the exam. The Internet appeared :) and I managed to write everything.
If interested, then I passed the exam perfectly.

Here such there are moments when the Internet can fail you. (but probably not the Internet, but a smartphone or an access point :)
Thank you

I enjoyed your tale and am glad it worked out!

Thanks for reading and commenting!

The pictures fit perfectly in the story. Especially the cat is so cute..really enjoy reading your posts.

I was at work about a week ago I had just placed a trade on binance and then my cell phone died. Because of my job binance is a no go and I was in a panic non stop for the next hour thinking of the trade I made. Lunch came I ran to the car plugged phone into charger and logged into binance only to see the trade never got filled. At this moment I realized I was addicted. So i have made a point to force myself off the internet daily since then to read a self help book that focus on peace of mind. The internet should be a tool to better our life not rule it. We can do things like hug a loved one share a cup of coffee with a significant other or play ball with the kids. Take time to enjoy life the internet will be there.

It is funny that you say that because I have enforced a file in myself to internet less and read more. It is working quite well. When my internet went off here I was also looking at a trade among other things which is what drove me into a panic. Less time on the internet is good

I made a decision a year ago to go easy with the internet.

Now I have to care for my mum since my brother passed away last Thursday (January 18). It's fun cos I get free meals and go to bed early while staying with her.

But I've urged my sister and #2niece to visit her often.

One of side effects of her mental health is a codependency that leads to her big anxiety attack if I mention I want to get out and do my own shit.

So I'm glad for the internet. My future plan with me mum is to get her watching videos on the tablet one day. I mean, there's only so much television programming as it is, given how cable has gone to pot with the crap they broadcast these days.

My goal is to teach her how to troll on the internet. We'll see how that pans out...

Just make sure you also incorporate time to take breaks and enjoy the good things life has to offer as that will also help with the anxiety. I honestly think teaching her to troll the web while being humorous could also increases that stress. All things can be good in moderation my friend.

Sometimes is as if someone just turn off my light years.

Just to add... here we also have the issue of power supply. So what's worse than no internet is a dead phone.

The people in the 80's did survive because they didn't know about the internet but in this age nothing compares to the desire to stay connected.

That is very true, if you haven't had it then you won't miss it. I am grateful that we don't get power outs here so much!

Dropping unsolicited irrelevant links to your own content is spam

Yeah.....i agree

I feel like this isn’t as much an addiction, but the reality we live in. If everyone was off line, you’d be the weird guy for always being online. But since everyone is always online all the time, you have to be the outcast to be offline and unavailable.

A nice twist on the viewpoint yes, I like it!

Oh how aggrevatingly true that is. I Almost wish I was still that weird guy who was still unconnected from it all... Almost being the operative word of course XD

Great stuff @adsactly ! Really enjoyed the story! It is amazing to witness how the internet is fully integrated in our lives... Hope we get to a point of decentralisation in any aspect of our lifes where the blockchain is as ubiquitous as the the internet nowdays is . Cheers mate! Greetings from Spain!

Hola amigo! I hope the same, the blockchain is the future!

Definitely @meesterboom ! It is as disruptive to change the world as the internet itself! Greetings from Spain amigo! Un abrazo! Upvoted & followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36