IS LINKEDIN A PLACE TO BE? WHY? SHARE YOUR TOP 3 REASONS WITH ME

in #ftin5 years ago (edited)
111.jpgIn current days we're all overwhelmed with amount of content created out there and social media being used to promote such a content.

Choosing right platform for our daily activity and trying to find out which one of them are worth our time isn't easy at all.

INTRODUCTION

line2.png

Recently I've been focusing my efforts on building strong community and followerbase on Steemit, moving almost completely away from Facebook and Twitter. I'm not very happy with amount of censorship on those platforms and for that particular reason I've been commited fully into Steemit.

LINKEDIN - place to be?

line2.png

However my own brother is encouraging me to build my presence also on Linkedin and he claims that in current days, this is place to be for everyone who dreams to be entrepreneur. And today I would like to hear your view and feedback. I'm also wondering how many Steemians do actually use this B2B platform and what's your experience so far.

My initial worry is the fact, that Linkedin seem to be fully centralized and currently more and more users seem to shift their interests towards decentralized platforms, build on blockchain. We all seem to value our privacy and at the same time (what an irony) we're seeking as much transparency as possible.

Also I'm wondering if Linkedin is selling our data to advertisers? I didn't really see any ads so far and it's becoming hard for me to understand their business model. And I like to understand things :)

SHARE YOUR OPINION AND WIN OVER 25K SP UPVOTE

line2.png

I really hope learning from your experience will help me make wise decision: should I or should I not invest my time into building account on Linkedin. Is this place worth attention or is it another "ghost town" where hardly anyone is being active?

Drop a comment below explaining your 3 biggest reasons why it's worth joining Linkedin.com

Share your feedback with me and others. I read, reply and upvote (with 25K Steem power) all valuable and interesting comments

ps. I've created my own profile and if you're on linkedin and would like to connect, then add me:
https://www.linkedin.com/in/piotr-leib/

Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

Hi Piotr,
good topic indeed.

  1. I think LinkedIn is quite different from those Facebooks and Twitters, because its a "job seeking" social network. From time to time, you search for some kind of job opportunity or you offer it to someone. And for that reason its good.
  2. Surely they are not so perfect, while trying to convince you to give them your email and password "to reach more people" from your email list. This is a sh*tty forcement I really don't like. Your password should stay at your client, thats it. It could be leaked from someone etc.
  3. For headhunters its great, because you simply focus on abilities and qualities, that people have (and fill in their profile). So if someone wants to be caught by a headhunter, one should fill the profile as much as possible.
    PS. 4. Crypto - I think even for crypto people its a good tool. People are having kind of more professional attitude in there, so you can feel "in better company" while talking with the same people. And also photos on the profiles lookes different than in fb (sometimes too much, but it comes with it).

ritxi

Late thank you for your amazing comment @ritxi

LinkedIn is the only centralized platform that I use. While I’d prefer to use a decentralized platform at least LinkedIn is 1) professionally focused (with generally professional behavior); 2) doesn’t appear to censor crypto and 3) is owned by a more mature company. (Microsoft) that has learned its lessons re anti-competitive behavior.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Late thank you for your previous comment @apshamilton

My experience with LinkedIn @crypto.piotr is years old. Long before the Steem blockchain was conceived. My wife is on Facebook. I am not, nor will I likely ever be. From what she shares with me from Facebook, I view LinkedIn as Facebook for professionals. It connects business associates from all over the world.

Once connected, you can then share professional content that you deem may be of interest to your peers. It also allows you to maintain personal contact, if desired, with those whom you may have worked with many years ago (as in my case) and it is nice to see how they are doing.

As far as any downside, I was not too happy when it was sold to Microsoft. As you may know, Microsoft has historically bought up many, many firms to establish itself in new market areas, rather than build their own presence from scratch. At the time of their purchase of LinkedIn, it was the single largest purchase they had ever made - $26.2 billion USD ...

Now a days I feel like its a trend that most of the people wants to have account in every social media platform and LinkedIn in not the exception.

I also have account and I created a long back (exactly not remember when) and I created it because my colleagues had. I visit LinkedIn once in a month or even less. For me it's Place where I have many connections out of which some of them are my colleagues in current company or past company and many people who are connected, I don't even know them m it's just that they sent request and I accept thinking that may be in future they could be helpful. I see people getting job through LinkedIn but in my case No.

I noticed that people in LinkedIn write really nice content saying that they are ready to help people to get the job when and few of them then their response was just opposite so far me it's just social media which i visit even less than Facebook.

Why you should join-

1- Surely a nice place to connect with many like-minded people who have achieved a lot in life and possibility to connect with them and learn.
2- it's better than Facebook because in facebook we see lots of spam and meaningless posts but here this ratio is less.
3- Many big companies are here and they keep on sharing their future plans so you get opportunity to know about it.

why shouldn't join-

1- If you have limited time and can't visit quite frequently then it doesn't server the purpose.

2- don't join if not interested to add one more account of social media (i mean professional 😀) as there are many other with similar purpose.
3- I am sure you would join it to connect with communities and free version would not be much help. Pro might helpful but again it depends upon your requirement.

Thanks @crypto.piotr for nice topic. I think my response is bit long to read but I tried to make as small as possible. Have a great day buddy..

Posted using Partiko Android

[email protected],
Thank you for sharing funny issues.
At first linked in have been used in many countries and every kinds of companies examine candidates there.
Second you can introduce yourself freely. It is up to you.
Third you can find your friends whom you forget and they may help you to be in the right position in your new firm.
Thank you again for this valuable post.

Posted using Partiko Android

I appreciate your feedback @huseyinunozkan16

I was a bit confused while I've read that I'm sharing "funny issues" :)

Upvote on the way :)
Piotr

LinkedIn is quite cool if you're a career person, helps you build your network, meet people, it's not really for entertainment that's why it's not so so popular and fun to youths...
You can develop yourself also with LinkedIn learning and all other stuff they have to offer. It's just building your career and networking...
It's boring to me though, I prefer twitter.....good day

Posted using Partiko Android

I am coming from your memo, I will be sure to check out that post , as for your question, Linkin is an amazing platform

  1. I really enjoy lynda for learning new things (part of their eco system )
  2. I love the idea of a social media for professionals with people sharing useful information and one does not need to filter as much as other social medias to get quality content
  3. I meet a lot of great people and have been slowly growing my network

Going to add you shortly on LinkedIn will also be following you here on steemit

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @crypto.piotr,

Like you, I am also networking on #steem and I am working at building Steem-based groups here in the Philippines, particularly Steem.ph and Humanist.xyz.

The Steem Philippines group is currently on Facebook but the plan is to eventually make it 100% Steem-based, but we are marketing on FB first.

The reason why I am messaging you is that I had a conversation with @guruvaj who said that you have become an online friend of his. I personally didn't know if you were sincere in a message I received from you since I get inundated with bots all the time.

After knowing that, and after our previous interactions in the comment sections of other people's posts.. I see you as someone I would very much like to get to know :)


In regards to LinkedIn.. I kind of use it but all of it for me is posts about success stories, business, tech and things like that. It's okay for some people but I like broader perspectives, or perspectives related particularly towards Steem, philosophy or one where I can have 1-on-1 discussions with people.


One thing that I like about @steemit's transparent policy, is that if I am going to be brainwashed or influenced by someone(s), I would rather it be the whole world with people competing for my attention as opposed to a single sinister group or company like Facebook, the U.S. Government, etc.

Steemit does that for me and I think letting the entire world try to brainwash me will keep me safer than having all of my data kept from everyone except one tiny, narrow entity like Facebook, the U.S. Government, or Google.

It would basically be based on free-market principles than instead of tyranny.

~ @chrisrice

Yes, @crypto.piotr
@chrisrice and me are collaborating on building community here in the Philippines and I have mention you.

Best regards, HF21 cheers!

The title is not a link , can you set the link in the post?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @mrme1984

I was just testing some new tool created by a friend of mine and accidently I posted something on steemit which I didn't intend to. Unfortunatelly we cannot mark posts/resteems as "removed" (so they wouldn't be displayed).

So I had to replace that empty spammy post with draft of my newest publication which I wanted to post soon. What a mess.

Cheers
Piotr

I like the new post I using LinkedIn very often and I have ~28k connections there

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @mrme1984

Sorry for such a late reply. Somehow I've missed your previous reply.

How long have you been on linkedin? 28k is quite an impressive number.

Cheers
Piotr

Hello Pior I hope you are well, I read your article carefully, I was a little far from your publications, but here I am, I remember that I opened my likedin account in the university because according to some professors and university colleagues it was a social network for the job search , which I did not find, even if I updated my profile. But it is your decision if you want to have that account.
Regards @pauli0606

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13