Fruits & Veggies Monday #4 - Roasted Melon Wedges and Seeds


Did you ever try roasting melon?  Like me, it probably never even occurred to you to try it, as we tend to think of melon as something cool and refreshing for summer and to be eaten raw.  But yep, it can be done, and it's really delicious!  Especially if sprinkled with cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, chilli, cayenne pepper... or a combination... yuuummmmmm.  The seeds too can be washed, dried and roasted, just like other edible seeds.  They are a little tougher than something like pumpkin seeds, but roast them well and they make a very pleasant snack indeed.  You can flavour them with spices, or you can even grind them up fine into a flour and use them in baking.


I want to thank @lenasveganliving for hosting this "Fruits and Veggies Monday" contest (all details of how to enter and prizes are in her post).  It's not been running very long but boy do people seem to love it!  I guess it gives everyone the chance to exchange information, recipes, tips about fruits and vegetables... or simply the chance to show each other what kind of plants we like to eat, or grow.  It's a great idea, and it's a beautiful way to celebrate fruits and vegetables that help sustain human life, and give us so much pleasure.  Thank you fruits and veggies, and thank you Lena!


Roasting melon is very easy and doesn't take much time.  You don't really need an explanation, but just in case here goes!  First slice the melon in half and scoop out the seeds.  Here I have both honeydew melon and galia melon.  Different in taste, but equally gorgeous!



Rinse the seeds thoroughly so no melon flesh remains... I find using a sieve/colander is the easiest way to do this.



See how lovely and clean they are...



Pat them dry on a clean tea-towel and then roast under a moderately hot grill for about 15-20 minutes... You don't want it too hot to scorch the seeds before they have roasted through, so just hot enough to brown them slowly.  You will have to keep an eye on them!



Here they are golden and crunchy after being roasted.  I usually store roasted seeds in jars ready as a snack or to sprinkle on salads, or whatever.



Now, back to the melon!  Once you removed the seeds you can slice the melon up into wedges.  Lay the wedges on a roasting tray (and sprinkle with spices if you wish).  Roast in the oven at about 170 degrees Celsius for about 20 minutes.  (This is not exact as it depends on the juiciness of your melon and how thick the wedges.. but keep an eye and it will be fine!)



For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, and the Steemit Culinary Challenge, please follow me!   
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200.



Sort:  

Never tried the seeds! Now I have to find melons. Going to costco on Friday..must have melon. I get most of my fruits and veggies at the Farmer's market but very seldom see melons.. Upvotd and resteemed!

Thanks very much @thethreehugs, I appreciate that! And I hope you find some melons somewhere! :-)

I can find them in grocery stores but not as good a fresh picked. Have tried growing them here without much luck. Probably the altitude. Most everything else grows well here.

great idea. thanks for sharing @woman-onthe-wing.

It's very useful

Ah I'm glad to hear it's useful to you @muhajir... thanks for your comment :-)

okay friends ... your post tonight is really amazing ......

Oh my, what a love lovely surprise my Dear. So happy to see your wonderful entry. Amazing idea, I wouldn't thought of in a milion years, but now it's a must try recipe. Thank you so much @woman-onthe-wing for joining us this week and hope to see you more often. Have a wonderful week 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Thank you! And now I'm thinking of it I see no reason why we couldn't use melon in the same way as applesauce... so many possibilities that way and I will have to do some experimenting! I wish you a great week also Lena :-)

It looks like you've been kissed by a muse my Dear..........you are very welcome 💚

Thank you for this easy recipe! I came across these types of melons at the market, but never thought of roasting them. It is a must try for me!

Fab! I do hope you enjoy it when you give it a try! :-)

Very nice! Looks delicious.

I have never tried it, but, it looks delicious!

Yeah, I was surprised by how tasty it is! Makes a lovely warming snack for chilly afternoons :-)

yummy!! I have had BBQ melon before and that was good. Have you tried boiling the seeds before roasting? I think they turn out better that way.

Ah, no, I had no idea that was even a 'thing' to boil seeds! But what an excellent tip... I guess that will soften them up before roasting and make them even nicer, as you say. I will try it! Thanks so much @mariannewest!

You are so welcome. I read it somewhere and then did a trial - half of the seeds boiled, the other half just roasted. I thought the boiled ones were way better!

Congratulations @woman-onthe-wing! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88