Fruits & Veggies Monday #36: "An Ode To The Un-Boringness of Salads..."


For anyone with a scrap of imagination, salads are one of the least boring meals you can possibly make.


You can put absolutely any veggies and fruits in them you like... totally suited to your tastes.  


You can add all kinds of other things to make them appetising for both your tastebuds and your eyes.


All kinds of colours, flavours, textures, shapes, smells, sensations.


You can have every part of a salad raw...



Or you can have some of it cooked (and either left to cool, or eaten whilst warm for a 'warm salad')...



In a 'sliced' mood or a 'diced' mood?  You decide!...





Go crazy and have diagonal carrots... ooh la-la...



Not a fan of lettuce?  No problem, there are all kinds of different leaves to choose from.  Personally I love baby spinach leaves, roughly chopped, and then I line my salad bowl with them ready for everything else to be arranged on top...



Or you can finely shred some cabbage... savoy is a good choice...



Adding fruit adds excitement!...



Vibrant and sweet...



Juicy and tender...



Tangy, crunchy, bursting in your mouth...



Why not add some beans or peas?  I adore oven-roasted spicy chickpeas in my salads...



Toast some seeds under the grill... pumpkin or sesame are a good choice...



Or throw in a handful of grain (cooked of course)...




Scallions (spring onions) give a lovely subtle flavour... milder than onions if that suits your taste better...



Why not grind up some raw broccoli (or any kind of veg) and sprinkle over for added nutrition...



Fresh herbs can transform a salad from 'good' to 'amazing' if you can match the flavours well!...



Add some foraged berries...



Or foraged daisies to make it pretty and impress your friends...



Or if you're a neglectful gardener like me and keep forgetting to tend to your coriander (oops), then you'll likely end up with some beautiful flowers to add to your salad...



Serve with succulent corn-on-the-cob...



Or some hot roasted sweet potato...



Or why not throw in a few cold falafels... YUM...



Serve with freshly baked bread and a nice wass of gline *hiccup* I mean glass of wine...



Or take the whole lot out doors... they say there's nothing better for the appetite than fresh country air!



Salads are most definitely NOT boring :-)




Many thanks to @lenasveganliving for continuing to host this wonderful weekly contest!  For inspiration and details how to join in, please see Lena's post here.
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.

("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)

Sort:  

Those are some super complex salads. The concept of sweet and spicy is great! Not a lot of people appreciate it, but it's definitely a favorite of mine.

Oh yes, I absolutely love a salad that surprises me with every bite! In my school days salads consisted of limp lettuce, dry cucumber, and squishy tomatoes. If they gave kids 'proper salads' at school surely there'd be a lot less people growing up saying "salads are boring"!!!

Wow! You certainly covered a lot in this post! I agree. With salads, the possibilities are endless! Well done!

I

Thanks very much! Thought if I put lots into it, no-one could possibly counter-argue! :-)

I love this!! What a beautiful ode to salads. :) You are absolutely right, when you take these tips to heart you will never have a boring salad!!

Thank you Katie, you've given me a better title for my post: "An Ode To The Un-Boringness of Salads"! haha. By the way, I've just finished putting together the Steemit Voices post, so your interview will be posted tomorrow... It's excellent, thank you for all the time you put into it! I can't wait to share this good stuff with the good folk of Steemit :-)

Awesome! Great title. ;) And thank you for letting me be a part of your series. I look forward to seeing it!

HELLO FRIEND THE SALAD IS VERY NUTRITIVE I LOVE GREETING

Thanks very much @luis149 :-)

I totally agree Joanna, the possibilities are endless. Your truly put together flavorful meal that is a wonderful example how plant based meals can be prepared and enjoyed, while getting all the nutrients our body needs. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓
1 Collage.jpg

Many thanks Lena :-) I'm happy now the weather is warmer & brighter and I can enjoy a lot more salads! I'm afraid they take a back seat in the winter months!

Always a pleasure Dear Joanna..............I love salads and I eat them everyday. I can't live without them 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
2.png

Can't believe how some people still think salads are boring.. Just like you mentioned there are so many ways to customise them to however you like. I love having some of my salad cooked, one of my fav things to have lately :) Oh and such beautiful pics!

Thanks very much Nina! Yeah, I discovered the joy of warm salads last year by accident, and now I love them! My favourite is chunks of roasted butternut squash... yummy :-)

I was wondering what sort of cute little flowers where in your salad ... 😄 ... coriander! Sweet! Make the best out of every situation!

Indeed we must! Now it will be tempting to let it seed deliberately so that I can make some of these pretty salads again! Love the little white flowers, so delicate :-)

This is a brilliant post. I want to eat more salads and this inspires me to do so.

Ah I'm delighted to hear that @carolynstahl! The more creative you are with them, the more you enjoy them! Thanks very much :-)

Follow me, upvote and reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your post to my 36,500+ followers. https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46