Fruit and Veggies Monday – Wild passion fruit

Hi, Steemit!!!**

   In Fruit and Veggies Monday!!!

I'm sure that you all know how useful passion fruit is, but have you heard of the wild passion fruit? It is not at all like the usual passionflower for us. They remind me more of cherries :)

IMG_20180303_204246_266.jpg

IMG_20180303_204224_314.jpg

  It is called Passiflora foetida. She is also known as wild passion fruit. I was very surprised that "foetida" means "smelly." Nothing similar near the plant we did not smell :))) On the Internet, in some articles, it is written that when damaged or touched, the leaves and stems produce a peculiar smell.

IMG_20180303_204215_776.jpg

IMG_20180303_204227_915.jpg

  These fruits are small: somewhere up to 3 cm, very beautiful, saturated dark red (although, as I learned later, there are varieties and yellow). They must be about 5 times less than the usual passion fruit.

Fruits of wild passion fruit are surrounded by very peculiar bracts. In the usual passionflower, I have not seen anything like it.

IMG_20180303_204232_681.jpg

IMG_20180303_204210_327.jpg

  Passiflora foetida is one of the types of decorative vines, so it's no surprise that we saw it both on the fence and on the stones nearby.

IMG_20180303_204249_541.jpg

IMG_20180303_204222_085.jpg

  The fruits of this kind of passionflowers are edible, but only if they are already ripe. It is better not to eat not the ripe fruit as you can get poisoning. Ripe fruit passion fruit is sweet and fleshy. They can be eaten with pleasure. If you use fruits in drinks or juices, they give them a unique flavor.

IMG_20180303_204252_488.jpg

IMG_20180303_204230_694.jpg

  In its properties, this kind of passionflow is not different from the usual, and is also used in folk medicine. With problems with digestion, nervous disorders, sleeping problems, etc., this plant is very useful: its dried leaves are added to tea.

  I have never seen this kind of passion fruit in shops and markets. But if you have it, buy and eat safely. It is very tasty and healthy!

Have a nice Monday evening !!!!!

@tali72

FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving

Sort:  

Wow, wild passion fruit looks amazing. Never seen it. So beautiful how the little veins wrap the fruit. We are growing regular passionfruit in the garden right now. Plants are still small though but I have heard it can go fast! Great share! Steem on!

Passionflower is very useful. it's wonderful that you have it in your garden. I read that wild passion fruit also grows well at home

We have a wild garden... so should grow here. Never seen a plant like that to take a shoot though :( I'll keep my eyes open for it!

Удивительные фотографии!

Никогда такие плоды не встречала на деревьях!
Очень понравились, спасибо, что показала! @tali72

а вот это фото - замечательно выглядит!
Оттенок листа восхитительный и форма чудесная.

Для нас это тоже было удивительно. Мы потом искали информацию об этом растении. Оно очень необычное даже для нас

Another new one for me! Very neat to see, and I'd be curious to taste a ripe one!

in Israel this kind of passionflower is also rare. we saw him for the first time

Oh, this is such a beautiful, gorgeous fruit! I've never seen it before! Thank you for showing us! 😃

yes, the fruits are very unusual in appearance

in Venezuela the name is cemeruco good fruit follow now

in Israel this kind of passionflower is rare. I hope you can enjoy them more often than we do :)

I am totally amazed @tali72..............not only by the fruit itself, but your photography as well. Well done my Dear and thank you so much for introducing this delicious and beautiful fruit. I hope I will have a chance to taste it someday 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

PS: I reblogged, but I will upvote tomorrow, because I am really running low today.

I'm glad, Lena, that I can share something interesting for you. Do not worry about it, it's not so important to me. Have a nice day, dear !!!!

It's done now, although my vote is still really low, lol.....I like to keep my promises Dear Tali 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ALL ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
2.png

thank you very much!!!!! a very unexpected prize for me

This family of plants has so many fascinating characteristics.

that's for sure! I admire every time I learn something new for myself

Wow @tali72, I'm so impressed!! I've never heard of wild passion fruit before. Thank you so much for sharing with us. I hope I can find it somewhere and taste it sometime :)

I also did not know about this plant before

amazing fruit. i would like you to try markizza passion fruit juice that i found on amazon. the taste is just perfect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03