Fruit and Veggies Monday – The agave

Hi, Steemit!!!

  In Fruit and Veggies Monday I want tell you about the agave. This is a very majestic plant! In the Mediterranean and in Israel, agave is cultivated as an ornamental plant. Quite often you can see these plants growing near high-rise buildings. I really like it!

  Agave belongs to the family of Sparzhevs. When the agave blossoms, it forms a flower stem, up to 12 meters high (!!!!) with a large number of flowers. During this period, the plant overtook the lamppost in height. We really wanted to see these flowers, but we could not reach them :)))

  From the core of the agave do tequila and mescal. Only blue agave is used. Somehow I tried to drink tequila: I was not impressed, but my husband liked it :)

  Agave contains calcium, iron and other vitamins and minerals. With a curative purpose, old leaves and fresh agave juice are used. Agave preparations can cause an increase in the peristalsis of the large intestine, so the plant is used as a laxative. It has analgesic, antipyretic, disinfecting, expectorant and anti-inflammatory properties. Agave improves the process of metabolism, facilitates the removal of excess fluid from the body, rapid healing of irritations of various tissues, normalizes the activity of the digestive system, breast, gall bladder. This is a very useful plant, as you can see!

  The juice of the plant, which has a strong sweetness, extracts from the unopened flowers of the blue agave. Agave syrup is added to all types of baking, as an independent component or as a substitute for sugar, honey, maple syrup. Agave syrup does not affect the taste of baking. Agave juice is used in the production of home-made wine and artificial honey. Agave syrup is almost twice as sweet as sugar, so it should be taken into account when preparing dishes. The texture is not very thick. Agave syrup in pure form can be added to a variety of desserts, cocktails. Often it is added to coffee or tea instead of sugar.

photo6005675069923240907.jpg

  However, it is not advised to use it in the diet constantly: it is proved that regular use of this sweetener can suppress the natural ability of GIT systems to correctly and fully absorb insulin. Before introducing this sugar substitute into your diet, carefully read all the pros and cons of its use. We are still thinking about this :)

photo6005675069923240908.jpg

I wish you good health !!!

@tali72

FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving

Sort:  

Thank you for introducing this interesting plant! I just used the syrup every now and then. Great to now these facts now! Tip!

I'm glad you found interesting information for yourself! we have agave syrup is twice cheaper than maple syrup, I still think to use it or not :)

Hi @tali72! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @pusteblume :)

@pusteblume wrote lately about: What To Buy In February ~ Fruitsandveggiesmonday 🍏🍐. Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

What an interesting plant! I've never seen one since now :)

they can just be huge :)

I am aware that they use agave to make alcohol, but not know that it can be made into syrup too. Those are tall flower stalks indeed!

for this use only the blue American agave: for syrup and several kinds of alcoholic beverages

Definitely on Mondays I want to eat everything they publish, what a great post! I'm going to get her! happy day! @tali72

I do not advise you to eat the agave: it is prickly :))))

Oh wow, I didn't realize the blossoms went so high either! Very neat to see.

it was these flowers that prompted us to understand what kind of plant it was :) so we learned about agave

Hey tali72,
thanks for teaching me something new! Had no idea that agave forms flower stems that are up to 12 meters high. This is huge!!
Cu,
Chris aka smallstepschange

my husband wanted to take pictures of flowers but this requires a fire escape :)))))

haha, these are really huge! :D

Fascinating information Dear Tali...............you really covered all aspects of this amazing plant. Lots of vegans are still using agave nectar in their recipes, but I stooped long time ago.

Nevertheless, it is a really majestic plant that has a lot to offer besides being sweetener. For example Tequila, lol.............very popular here in Toronto area by the way. But I do not drink alcohol and I don't think I ever tried Tequila 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

tequila, yes !!!! :) By the way, the first who made an alcoholic drink from the blue agave, were the Aztecs. it is believed that its moderate use is beneficial to the body. I also do not drink it :) a good day, Lena !!!!

Lena may I ask why you don't use agave nectar? I read such conflicting things it's hard to know what's correct and what's not!!!

Интересная штука!

A very interesting and informative post @tali72, thank you! I've just recently been able to buy agave nectar from my local shop and use it in my coffee... delicious. It doesn't have as strong taste as honey so I prefer this :-) Resteemed!

about agave syrup is a lot of controversy on the Internet. so I hesitate to buy it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3749.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66