You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY #25: "Beauty-Fruity Green Millet for Infants!"

wow, I love millet, but for some reason I thought it's too harsh for a baby! And this is an unusual combination - sweet and savoury together!

for a 6-months-old, should I grind the grain before boiling? Is adding mixing in a lot of stuff right away ok, or should I wait a few months for him to adapt better to food?

Sort:  

Hi @steemitbaby, sorry for the delayed reply! Millet is one of the best kind of grains for first foods, as its easily digestible and the least allergenic grain. If you think the grain is too big for your 6 month old, you can grind it up yes, or you can buy millet flakes, which cook in no time at all. Similar to porridge I guess. With mixing in fruits/veggies, I would recommend only mixing in one or two types to start with, and allow his stomach and digestive system to adapt gradually to different foods. Carrots, avocados, bananas are a good option, as they're not too strong flavours and not harsh on the stomach.

I have found more success in mixing sweet & savoury together than purely savoury, but there's no right or wrong choice, you just judge it as a mother what your baby responds to best. My son's absolute favourite combination is banana, avocado and spinach, pureed and mixed with millet/amaranth/quinoa and maybe some lentils/beans too (you can puree them in with the fruit & veg for a smooth texture). This seems like a pretty balanced meal to me, with fibre, iron, fats, complex carbs, protein and other good nutrients!

thank you, I love your long replies :)
we don't have millet flakes in here... and no spinach as well (we miss a lot of things here, actually)
I'll make it next time with grinding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82